We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Fitch2014
Melbourne, Australia

Awesome views

4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 11 May 2024via mobile
Stunning views, excellent buffet dining comfortable room but was a bit smelly upon arrival. Cafe isn’t much chop but the area is awesome place if you live mountainous terrain. We’re there in May so saw some snow which gave great contrast to the outlook
Date of stay: May 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
飯店外觀
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
  • Vio.com
0.6 km from Hermitage Hotel, Aoraki/mount Cook
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
0.6 km from Hermitage Hotel, Aoraki/mount Cook
Free parking
Restaurant
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
  • Vio.com
0.8 km from Hermitage Hotel, Aoraki/mount Cook
$158
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
20.0 km from Hermitage Hotel, Aoraki/mount Cook
Free parking
Earn Trip Coins after your stay
  • ZenHotels.com
0.8 km from Hermitage Hotel, Aoraki/mount Cook
The Snowline Bar.
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    $467
  • Priceline
0.0 km from Hermitage Hotel, Aoraki/mount Cook
Free parking
Restaurant
$114
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
30.2 km from Hermitage Hotel, Aoraki/mount Cook
Free Wifi
Free parking
Lodge
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $168
  • Priceline
30.3 km from Hermitage Hotel, Aoraki/mount Cook
Free Wifi
Free parking
$206
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    $206
30.3 km from Hermitage Hotel, Aoraki/mount Cook
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Mt. Cook Village
Reviews (3,019)
Filter reviews
3,019 results
Traveller rating
1,052
1,032
588
220
127
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
1,052
1,032
588
220
127
Show reviews that mention
All reviews premium room a la carte alpine restaurant mount cook buffet dinner new zealand aoraki wing wakefield wing top floor buffet style the main hotel sir edmund hillary hotel room glacier explorers amazing views gift shop stargazing tour
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 3,019 reviews
Reviewed 6 May 2024

This is my 3rd visit over the past decade. I've been coming back here for the amazing views, the valley, the hikes, and the spirit of mountaineering (legacy of Ed Hillary), which is strong all across the valley.
The biggest asset the hotel is its view, and they are not looking after it particularly well. Windows were absolutely filthy in both, the restaurant, halls and our very expensive room. You can see where the poor cleaners were able to reach and all the streak marks. I find this very disappointing that for the price they charge they don't meet basic standards.
Room is ok, quite bare, the pillow selection could have been better, and the design and features could be improved a bit.
The Alpine a la carte restaurant is fantastic, the staff is professional, courteous, and efficient. Buffet is good too.
I would not mind coming back, because I love the valley, and there is no other hotel with the views like that. But I would need to see the standards improved.

Date of stay: March 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katiarobb
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 5 May 2024 via mobile

Before I start, it should be noted that regrettably we were not staying at The Hermitage, but another motel in the area. The 3 nights that we were in Aoraki we ate at The Alpine for two of those nights. The staff sat us at the very front of the restaurant on both of those nights (with the best views), knowing that we were not staying at The Hermitage - but we were treated as one of their guests, which was really professional. The wait staff were fantastic, very professional and were fantastic interacting with us, and got our quirky sense of humour. On one particular day we were stuck inside due to weather, so we went to the Sir Edmund Hillary museum, whuch was well worth the visit, and then had a snack at the Cafe upstairs, then we went to the gift store and saw that there was a mini store, and all of this in The Hermitage - all under one roof. We wish we were staying, and next time we certainly will. We'll done to everyone!

Date of stay: April 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank ReneeHoliday
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 1 May 2024

Really enjoyed our stay at this hotel which is in such a beautiful location. Our room had a spectacular view looking directly over at Mount Cook, we could even lie on our bed relaxing looking across at the view. It was a superior room. We dined in the Panorama restaurant and enjoyed the food very much, service was good, lovely staff. Breakfast was in the next door buffet restaurant, plenty selection and again we really enjoyed it. We did a few walks which was spoilt a bit by some bus parties walking the paths and not moving much to let us pass, bad manners really, but that’s nothing to do with the hotel.

Date of stay: November 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scottishbluebell_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 28 April 2024

One of the worst dinner buffet we ever had on our entire trip in South Island, New Zealand. We were apalled that this was the dinning standard set for a 4.2 star hotel. The food quality and its selection was mediocre at best, which could be overlooked given the remote location of the hotel. What tipped the scale for us was the service rendered by the waitering staff. To be fair, most of the staff was polite except for one particular individual ( An African lady with braided hair). Just for context, all five of us was seated at a table meant for 4, which does not allow much space for dining. The restaurant was relatively empty with only about 10 groups of diners. When our table was filled with empty plates, she delibrately ignored and simply walked past us like we were invisible. When we requested for water to be refilled for us, she seems annoyed and was reluctant to service us. It was definetly racism which we have experience from her, as she was engaging in small talks and smilling with other diners of white ethnicity. She did not embody professionalism and absolutely do not have what it takes to be a service staff, especially when there is a large presence of tourists from Asia and China. With service level this poor, it will not come as a surprise if this hotel drops to 3 star in a few months time.

Room tip: The hotel have poor sound insulation with a rather old interior finishing. Lots of wear and tear with musky smell in the hallway.
Date of stay: April 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Departure45096723520
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The Hermitage Hotel, Guest Services / Front Office at Hermitage Hotel, Aoraki/mount Cook, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2024

Hi there, thank you for taking the time to pass on your feedback. We take your comments very seriously and can assure you that we do not tolerate any racism. We are very proud to have a multi-cultural team with people from all over the world working at the hotel. The team member you mentioned gets singled out regularly by our guests for the great service she provides. Our staff are allocated tables and sections to manage during service and it is likely you were not on one of her tables. We do apologise that you felt we let you down, we will discuss your comments with the team to ensure this doesn't happen again. Many thanks,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2024

Reviews are based on personal experiences, what I found an annoyance may be exactly what someone else is looking for, In fact I would not have even been moved to share my experiences if it wasn't for my stay in Invercargill the very next night.

The view of the mountains and glaciers was absolutly stunning in the afternoon light and later by the light of the full moon. You are paying for this view and the experience in the alpine areas - I now wont have to visit the Swiss Alps!

The bed in this room is set as a feature to make the most of the view, unfortunately there was not a provision of a table or shelf alongside the bed, just an inconvenient shelf behind the bed. To me this bed is oversoft, too high and prone to collapsing when sitting on the edge.

There were two lounge chairs provided to sit and admire the view, again, to me they were too small in the seat base to be able to use for an extended time.

My visit was based o the recommendation of a collegue to sample the Panorama restaurant. While the meals were exceptionally well presented they were just a little uninspiring, you are operating in a wilderness aream perhaps some of your guests may have spent the day exploring the area and want a hearty meal, yes the beffet is an option, but anyway...

As I started this review with, its simply my observations, but based solely on the high pricing level of this hotel I was expecting better.

Oh, the sensor nightlight for the bathroom was truly inspirational.

Date of stay: April 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews