We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Departure45096723520

RACISIM?! @ The Alpine Restaurant!!

1.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 28 Apr 2024
One of the worst dinner buffet we ever had on our entire trip in South Island, New Zealand. We were apalled that this was the dinning standard set for a 4.2 star hotel. The food quality and its selection was mediocre at best, which could be overlooked given the remote location of the hotel. What tipped the scale for us was the service rendered by the waitering staff. To be fair, most of the staff was polite except for one particular individual ( An African lady with braided hair). Just for context, all five of us was seated at a table meant for 4, which does not allow much space for dining. The restaurant was relatively empty with only about 10 groups of diners. When our table was filled with empty plates, she delibrately ignored and simply walked past us like we were invisible. When we requested for water to be refilled for us, she seems annoyed and was reluctant to service us. It was definetly racism which we have experience from her, as she was engaging in small talks and smilling with other diners of white ethnicity. She did not embody professionalism and absolutely do not have what it takes to be a service staff, especially when there is a large presence of tourists from Asia and China. With service level this poor, it will not come as a surprise if this hotel drops to 3 star in a few months time.
Date of stay: April 2024
Room Tip: The hotel have poor sound insulation with a rather old interior finishing. Lots of wear and tear...
Trip type: Travelled with family
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
1.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
1.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The Hermitage Hotel, Guest Services / Front Office at Hermitage Hotel, Aoraki/mount Cook, responded to this review
Responded 19 May 2024
Hi there, thank you for taking the time to pass on your feedback. We take your comments very seriously and can assure you that we do not tolerate any racism. We are very proud to have a multi-cultural team with people from all over the world working at the hotel. The team member you mentioned gets singled out regularly by our guests for the great service she provides. Our staff are allocated tables and sections to manage during service and it is likely you were not on one of her tables. We do apologise that you felt we let you down, we will discuss your comments with the team to ensure this doesn't happen again. Many thanks,
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
飯店外觀
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    $335
  • Agoda.com
    $270
  • Priceline
    $299
0.6 km from Hermitage Hotel, Aoraki/mount Cook
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Vio.com
    $655
  • Agoda.com
    $725
  • Booking.com
0.7 km from Hermitage Hotel, Aoraki/mount Cook
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Priceline
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
0.6 km from Hermitage Hotel, Aoraki/mount Cook
Free parking
Restaurant
$308
  • Priceline
    $308
  • Agoda.com
    $317
  • Vio.com
0.8 km from Hermitage Hotel, Aoraki/mount Cook
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    $160
  • Hotels.com
    $153
  • Priceline
    $160
20.0 km from Hermitage Hotel, Aoraki/mount Cook
Free parking
$308
Fully refundable
Earn Trip Coins after your stay
  • StayForLong
  • ZenHotels.com
0.8 km from Hermitage Hotel, Aoraki/mount Cook
The Snowline Bar.
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    $467
  • Hotels.com
    $467
  • Priceline
    $467
0.0 km from Hermitage Hotel, Aoraki/mount Cook
Free parking
Restaurant
$108
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    $108
  • Agoda.com
    $100
  • Priceline
    $108
30.2 km from Hermitage Hotel, Aoraki/mount Cook
Free Wifi
Free parking
Lodge
$180
  • Expedia.com
    $180
  • ZenHotels.com
    $178
  • Priceline
    $180
30.3 km from Hermitage Hotel, Aoraki/mount Cook
Free Wifi
Free parking
$125
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    $122
  • Vio.com
    $115
  • Priceline
    $125
30.3 km from Hermitage Hotel, Aoraki/mount Cook
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Mt. Cook Village
Reviews (3,025)
Filter reviews
3,025 results
Traveller rating
1,056
1,033
589
220
127
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
1,056
1,033
589
220
127
Show reviews that mention
All reviews premium room a la carte alpine restaurant mount cook buffet dinner new zealand aoraki wing wakefield wing top floor buffet style the main hotel sir edmund hillary hotel room glacier explorers amazing views gift shop stargazing tour
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
17 - 22 of 3,025 reviews
Reviewed 25 April 2024

Reviews are based on personal experiences, what I found an annoyance may be exactly what someone else is looking for, In fact I would not have even been moved to share my experiences if it wasn't for my stay in Invercargill the very next night.

The view of the mountains and glaciers was absolutly stunning in the afternoon light and later by the light of the full moon. You are paying for this view and the experience in the alpine areas - I now wont have to visit the Swiss Alps!

The bed in this room is set as a feature to make the most of the view, unfortunately there was not a provision of a table or shelf alongside the bed, just an inconvenient shelf behind the bed. To me this bed is oversoft, too high and prone to collapsing when sitting on the edge.

There were two lounge chairs provided to sit and admire the view, again, to me they were too small in the seat base to be able to use for an extended time.

My visit was based o the recommendation of a collegue to sample the Panorama restaurant. While the meals were exceptionally well presented they were just a little uninspiring, you are operating in a wilderness aream perhaps some of your guests may have spent the day exploring the area and want a hearty meal, yes the beffet is an option, but anyway...

As I started this review with, its simply my observations, but based solely on the high pricing level of this hotel I was expecting better.

Oh, the sensor nightlight for the bathroom was truly inspirational.

Date of stay: April 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 24 April 2024 via mobile

A magnificent hotel situated in a beautiful place with stunning views of the mountains. Our room was clean, luxurious & very comfortable with a huge window showcasing the view. The bar, cafe & restaurants catered for all needs with plentiful, delicious food & warm helpful staff.

Room tip: Plenty of parking. An arbitrary charge of $50 quoted to charge our hybrid car seemed excessive.
Date of stay: April 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank jbparker2
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 22 April 2024

We stayed here for just 1 night and wished it had been 2 nights! We arrived at 2pm and were able to check in to our room before joining the Glacier Explorers trip from the hotel at 3pm (recommended - it was great to get out on glacial Lake Tasman and see icebergs and the face of the Tasman glacier). Very lucky with the weather that afternoon as blue skies and stunning views of the mountain peaks from our room - very different next morning when we woke up to find no view at all!
Our room 104 was situated in the higher building back behind the reception/restaurant main block, but with a clear view over the top of those. There's an internal walkway for easy access between the two buildings which is useful when it rains! Guest parking is around the back. The room was very comfortable but we hardly spent any time in it at all. When we got back from the trip we did enjoy a glass of wine sitting on the bench outside our room on the terrace, looking at the view, before the mountains put us in the shade and then it became too chilly.
The Alpine buffet restaurant was fantastic - and I don't say that lightly - we aren't a fan of hotel buffets for the masses. Really impressed by the range and quality of dishes on offer, from starters and fresh seafood including crevettes, to an array of meats including a tasty goat curry and a big selection of desserts too. Particularly surprising given the remote location too.
We had pre-booked our table weeks before, but it was incredibly busy with a queue at the doorway to the restaurant and no tables free at our booked time, so we were invited to get a drink and wait in the very nice bar area which we did quite happily, as it had the same lovely view from there.
Breakfast had the same issue - a queue awaiting tables becoming free. In the end they opened up some tables in the bar area so guests could have breakfast in there, which was fine but it was then quite a distance to go to and from the buffet. Another great spread of options to choose from though. Do bear likely queues in mind though, if you're in a rush to get off and out in the morning.
One other issue was that they only had one self service coffee machine in operation at dinner and breakfast, with the other broken. This meant there was a separate long queue for hot drinks at both meals. Given the size of the hotel and high number of guests, even 2 machines isn't really sufficient, and with one out of action they really should have had a back up plan and offered table service of tea and coffee to mitigate the situation, as it was frustrating. They presumably had the facilities to make hot drinks in the bar and there were a lot of staff clearing tables etc in the restaurant who could have assisted with this back up service.
Overall a lovely stay, and we would highly recommend a stay in such a special location with very good food. Not sure what we paid for the hotel as it was part of a tour package but we were very happy that we included it in our plans.

Date of stay: March 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roundy
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 17 April 2024

View is worth a million dollars - and we knew we would have to pay for that - but surprised the room did not include fresh milk or even a small bottle of water - was really happy with stay - room clean and warm - dinner bed and breakfast is the package to select - fabulous food served in the panorama restaurant.

Room tip: Rooms on top floors have best view
Date of stay: April 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brynkoru
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 16 April 2024 via mobile

Incredible location and clean and comfortable rooms. Very family friendly. We didn’t have the evening buffet but the breakfast buffet was delicious.

The bar area with view would have been outstanding if the mountain hadn’t been covered in cloud! Still a nice location for a glass of wine in the evening (would have been even nicer if they had lit the fire). I had a strange moment when ordering a glass of wine when I saw the barman drink from the tap with his hands in the nearby kitchen and then not wash his hands before coming to serve me. I asked them to wash them which he did…

Our room was great with two double beds and a view of the mountain area.

We ate at the nearby Chamois restaurant which is located by the hotel’s motel area and it wasn’t great. I don’t recommend eating there.

Date of stay: April 2024
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank city_girl2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews