We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,275)
Filter reviews
2,275 results
Traveller rating
730
828
471
167
79
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
730
828
471
167
79
Show reviews that mention
All reviews panorama restaurant premium room panorama room buffet dinner new zealand mount cook a la carte the main hotel aoraki wing top floor wakefield wing public areas glacier explorers hotel room sir edmund hillary amazing views gift shop
Filter
Updating list...
59 - 64 of 2,275 reviews
Reviewed 20 June 2018

We were fortunate that our cosy and comfortable superior room with fast speed wifi on a higher level faced the stunning picturesque valleys and mountain ranges of the Southern Alps. If you can afford go for the Premium room where you will definitely get fantastic views.
The hotel staff was very polite, friendly and accommodating which compensated for the inconvenience of having to drive a bit further to the Chamois for our meals. As the hotel restaurants were under renovation, shuttle bus was available to the The Chamois Bar & Grill in the Village. The Chamois was really crowded and noisy as it was the only available eatery in the Aoraki Mt Cook village that was operating. Do take note that eateries are very limited in the Village. If you are used to having supper stock yourself before going up to Aoraki Mt Cook Village.
Nonetheless,we had a very pleasant relaxing stay at the Hermitage. We also enjoyed the morning beautiful walk to the nearby Hooker Valley and a climb to the Tasman Glacier View.

Room Tip: Go for superior or premium room and higher floor for better views
  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank BoonBNE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2018

We have just had week here and unfortunately it has been renovated at the same time so we were limited in where to go for dinner etc, but they had a shuttle service that they would take us down to the lodge whenever we wanted and pick us up also.
They did upgrade us to the 10th floor and the view was stunning, so we were thrilled, the staff there are all so so lovely and friendly.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank claudial5096
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2018

Visited just at the onset of winter with snow having recently fallen at the Hermitage. The room was small but pleasant with a balcony providing amazing views of the mountains. Only issue was shower cubicle being perhaps a touch on the small side. The access to the local walks was fantastic, with the one we did for a trail run on arrival starting at the front door. The a la carte dining had a small selection but was superb. Overall a brilliant overnight stop.

Room Tip: Definitely worth getting a mountain view room
  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jonathan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2018

We were fortunate in getting an upgrade to the 9th floor. Our friends from the US blown away with the view. The rooms were spacious and comfortable WiFi fast and unlimited.
Check in and out was courteous and efficient. The three course matching wine with food deal was expensive but very good.

Room Tip: cant complain about views from the 9th floor
  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Kiwi030
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2018 via mobile

Prepare yourself for the most picturesque journey of your life! Everything about this small village is unbelievably scenic, and this hotel offers the best accommodation for you to enjoy all the beauty around in great comfort! It's definitely worth the investment choosing it for the comfortable bed, heated rooms, great shower and shuttle service to a nice restaurant in the village. All this after a 4, 5 hour track exploring this epic place, it was a great choice to upgrade the experience in Mount Cook Village!

Stayed: June 2018, travelled solo
2  Thank grlima
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews