We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,316)
Filter reviews
2,316 results
Traveller rating
742
843
478
168
85
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
742
843
478
168
85
Show reviews that mention
All reviews panorama restaurant premium room panorama room buffet dinner new zealand mount cook a la carte the main hotel aoraki wing top floor wakefield wing public areas sir edmund hillary glacier explorers hotel room amazing views gift shop
Filter
Updating list...
987 - 992 of 2,316 reviews
Reviewed 19 March 2015

Recently stayed at The Hermitage for 2 nights to celebrate a birthday. Beautiful setting, unfortunately Mt Cook did have some cloud cover, but was still visible. Room very warm and clean, and offered lovely views. Alpine Restaurant offering plenty of great choices for the breakfast and dinner options we chose. Staff all very helpful and friendly.
Overall, an amazing place to stay for a special celebration. Would love to return again.

  • Stayed: March 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RodneyInvercargill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rodney Y, Manager at The Hermitage Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2015

Dear RodneyInvercargill.
Happy belated birthday from RodneyDunedin, thanking you for choosing the Hermitage Hotel, Aoraki Mt Cook to celebrate . We are happy that you found everything was up your expectations and the staff were helpful and friendly.
Thank you again and hope to host you again it the future ( with a little less cloud, fingers crossed )
Rodney Young
Executive Assistant Manager
The Hermitage Hotel
Aoraki Mt Cook

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2015

We stayed on the top floor of the hotel facing Mount Cook and very much enjoyed the absolutely breathtaking view of Mount Cook. Binoculars were provided in our room to sit and marvel at Mount Cook & that's exactly what we did until the sun went down.

  • Stayed: February 2015, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Susan0824
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rodney Y, Manager at The Hermitage Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2015

Dear Susan0824.

Thank you for your valuable feedback. We are delighted to hear that you have enjoyed your stay and were able to utilize rooms binoculars to get a close up of the mountains and landscapes. Again thank you for the positive feedback and hope you had a overall great trip.
Rodney Young
Executive Assistant Manager
The Hermitage Hotel
Aoraki Mt Cook

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2015

This really ought to be one of the finest hotels in New Zealand. Sadly, if not for the location and attendant views, it would rate poorly in comparison to any Novotel at half the cost.
Indeed, the best thing that could happen to this hotel would be for a group like Accor to buy it and turn it into a Sofitel. I have stayed here a number of times (there is really very little choice in the area due to overly restrictive development policies) and it seems to get more like Fawlty Towers each time.
On check in (we had two motel units) we were given a unit that had yet to be cleaned after the previous occupants - unmade beds, wet towels on the floor and so on. Our party then had to be split up as the only available unit was in another block. The motel units have an odd musty smell. They lack plunger coffee and mugs (cups only) and the general feel is rather dated. The curtains and blinds are nowhere near blackout standard, so if a full moon or early sun disturbs your sleep you will need a sleep mask.
We rang on four separate occasions for the free shuttle to take us up to the hotel for meals and activities but with no success. The phone was left to ring for over 5 minutes on each occasion without ever being answered. I raised this poor service level with the duty manager on the front desk who dismissed it on the grounds that ‘sometimes we are busy’...! I suggested that what they needed was a telephonist whose job consisted of answering the guest calls - or more staff on reception.
The hotel is frequented by large coach parties, often of Chinese or Japanese tourists, which can lead it to feel very ‘un New Zealand’. It also means that breakfast (a buffet affair) is tremendously busy sometimes, barely with room for you to move at the buffet stations. Breakfast is adequate but certainly not as good as it ought to be in an hotel charging this much (rooms can cost upwards of NZ$650/night). My friends (not from NZ) were somewhat surprised by the sunset bar being closed at sunset, with staff tidying up around them as they finished their drinks in a none too subtle hint that they may want to leave soon..!
All in all, expensive and impersonal, in need of refurbishment and service training, redeemed only by outstanding views.

  • Stayed: March 2015, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AA_Gull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rodney Y, Manager at The Hermitage Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2015

Dear AA Gulf.
Thank you for your loyalty in returning to the Hermitage hotel on a number of occasions. However I would like to apologize after learning that you faced several challenges during your stay, certainly not what we aim to achieve, I have discussed with our team on your issue and we will look to use to improve our services.
The hotel is located in a national park and as you mentioned required to conform with government policies, in addition we face huge costs to operate a very large complex (with activities) in such a isolated area, concession charges, freight, staff accommodations and welfare to start the list. Your suggestion that the hotel is taken over by a chain hotel group is understood but please bear in mind they would have to also incur the same costs and with a the Sofitel brand the costs would be even higher.
Thank you again and sorry for your unfavourable experience.

Rodney Young
Executive Assistant Manager
The Hermitage Hotel
Aoraki Mt Cook

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2015

We were really looking forward to our stay here. It was misting rain when we arrived and we were looking forward to a nice room with a view of the area. Not what we got. I never understand why some hotels put an international traveler, who will only pass this way once, in a less than desirable room. Our room was low to the ground with a view to the left of the side of a building and the rest of the view obscured by high over grown bushes. The room was OK but nothing to write home about.

Stayed: November 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank 990BobN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rodney Y, Manager at The Hermitage Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2015

Dear Bob N.
Thank you for your time to share with us your review from your recent stay. We are deeply sorry that the room allocated to you did not have the best view of the mountains, are cant investigate why as I don’t have a clear date of your stay. I do hope the rest of your stay was great and your managed to experience our food and beverage outlets and participate in some of the many activities that we offer.
Thank you again for your thoughts.
Rodney Young
Executive Assistant Manager
The Hermitage Hotel
Aoraki Mt Cook

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2015

Fantastic views from the bedroom, bar and restaurant . Buffet dinner and breakfast was of high standard with plenty of choices .
Whilst the bathroom needed updating and having to pay for wifi disappointing this did not spoil the overall experience .

  • Stayed: March 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rodney Y, Manager at The Hermitage Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2015

Dear John S.
The hotel has been designed to get great views of the mountains and landscapes from all food and beverage outlets and most rooms ( we have lots of big windows), as we like the views to add to the guests overall experiences. Wonderful to know that you enjoyed the buffet breakfast in the Alpine restaurant, a great way to start the day.
Thank you for posting on Tripadvisor.com and for fair comments .
Rodney Young
Executive Assistant Manager
The Hermitage Hotel
Aoraki Mt Cook

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews