We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Booking.com
Priceline
Go to your Happy Price
Agoda.com
No fees just great deals
Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
fairlie100
Christchurch, New Zealand

Cosy, clean, friendly, great location - spot on!

4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 11 Sept 2019
We shared a twin ensuite room which was immaculately clean! Jo is a friendly helpful host and we arrived to a warm room because she had put the heater on before we arrived! The continental breakfast is included in the price and is wonderful - a real bonus. The lodge is warm with two pellet fires, it's clean, tidy and has good facilities. Some parts have been renovated and we stayed in one of those rooms. We took takeaways to the lodge for dinner and were offered plates, cutlery, etc. We were really taken care of - it was like staying in a home! And the view of the mountain is incredible.
Date of stay: September 2019
Room Tip: Can recommend the renovated rooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
0.1 km from Southern X Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Studio Queen
Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
  • Trip.com
0.5 km from Southern X Lodge
Free parking
Restaurant
Lol.travel
  • Vio.com
0.5 km from Southern X Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
0.2 km from Southern X Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
outside view
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $177
  • Hotels.com
0.2 km from Southern X Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
1.0 km from Southern X Lodge
Free parking
Spa
Close to the golf course
eDreams
  • Vio.com
  • Lol.travel
1.1 km from Southern X Lodge
Free parking
eDreams
  • Vio.com
  • ZenHotels.com
  • Lol.travel
0.7 km from Southern X Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $97
  • Hotels.com
0.6 km from Southern X Lodge
Free parking
Restaurant
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $165
  • Booking.com
1.2 km from Southern X Lodge
Free parking
Bar/Lounge
View more hotels in Methven
Reviews (25)
Filter reviews
25 results
Traveller rating
15
5
2
1
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
15
5
2
1
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews friendly and helpful hosts pool table great place to stay fireplace lodge beds facilities owner
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 25 reviews
Reviewed 29 July 2019

Staying in Methven? Definitely come and stay here. Jo and the team are absolutely lovely and looked after us so well. The room is nice and cozy, super warm and just enough space for two of us crashing after a long day on the mountain. The improved bathrooms are nice and the shower was great (definitely improved under new management so ignore older comments). The best part of our stay was waking up every morning to the most beautiful view in the town, walking ten steps to the bus and heading straight up the mountain. Southern X is the last stop to be picked up and the first to be dropped off on the bus route so you waste no time at all.
We’ll definitely be back.

Date of stay: July 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Seasandsummits
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 16 July 2019 via mobile

We stayed for three nights. Great place to stay. Very friendly welcome. Room was very warm, clean and spacious. Plenty of hot water and thick towels. Delicious breakfast. Great area to sit and relax by the fire while waiting for the Mountain to clear. Easy walking distance to all pubs and venues. Definitely stay here again.

Date of stay: July 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Anita S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 11 July 2019 via mobile

Our family stayed at the Southern X Lodge for three nights. The hospitality of Dave, Jo and Tee was amazing. They could not do enough to make sure our stay was very enjoyable and comfortable. Our room was lovely and quite spacious and newly renovated. The beds were warm with plenty of blankets. The view of Mt Hutt from our room was awesome.
Our two sons loved the free table tennis and pool table. All of the shared space rooms downstairs (lounge, dinning and children’s rooms) were large, warm and very nice.
The ski bus picks you up from right out the front where again the views of Mt Hutt are incredible. It’s a two minute drive into town where you have everything you would ever need. Supermarket, pubs, cafes and restaurants.
We will definitely be back.

Date of stay: July 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Pinpoint-Paul
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 17 October 2018

Budget motel under new management. When we arrived 100 guests had just left and we ended up having the entire premises to ourselves. Basic rooms some of which had been updated and ours which had not but was stil clean and tidy. I imagine it will be a great spot for people intent on skiing Mt Hutt and at the price they would be pleased. We went on recommendation to the Brown Pub for Fish and Chips and it didn't fail in hitting the mark ~ delicious.

Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Susan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 17 June 2018 via mobile

I’m not sure why there’s so many low reviews here - I just had a couple of night stay on ski open on weekend and could not have picked anywhere better for price / location / service.

Arrived early in the morning, with plans to leave our hire car and head up to the mountain for the day and check in when we got back. Unfortunately I was sick, and they allowed me to check in early (& deal with payment etc later) which was awesome. The owners were super helpful with anything to do with Methven or Mt Hutt (including calling the bus co when we thought they’d missed our pick up). They’re currently renovating (which we didn’t even hear a peep of until 10am the day we were checking out), so provide a help yourself basic breakfast which is a nice touch.
It’s not the ritz, and is a little dated but hey, that’s what the renovations are for.
Heating in the room was perfect, shower pressure not amazing but temperature was spot on (& could be boiling hot if that’s what you wanted!).
Location for Mt Hutt shuttle is perfect. Last to be picked up / First to be dropped off - some other pick ups would have you in the bus for an extra 30 odd minutes. Easy walk into town (less than a km).
If I went back I’d definitely stay again.

Date of stay: June 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank LCarts_79
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews