We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Review Highlights
Had another great time with BDS

It was so good last year, I had to come back for another shot in 2017 with Black Diamond Safaris... read more

Reviewed 29 August 2017
Alan S
,
Tauranga, New Zealand
Highly recommend skiing with BDS

Went out for the day with Brett at the Broken River club field. It had rained the day before and... read more

Reviewed 10 August 2017
nguoi_du_lich
,
New York City, New York
via mobile
Read all 8 reviews
  
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
Reviews (8)
Filter reviews
8 results
Traveller rating
7
1
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
7
1
0
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 8 reviews
Reviewed 29 August 2017

It was so good last year, I had to come back for another shot in 2017 with Black Diamond Safaris. This time I spent a few days with Sloppy and he is the mantis!

Showed me where to go to get the goods, hiked some nice steep parts of the mountain and got rewarded for it. Sloppy is a Sherpa, excellent laid back style, quality service and great sense of humour. Really enjoyed myself. Thanks!

Great Adventure!

Date of experience: August 2017
Thank Alan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 11 August 2017 via mobile

Went out for the day with Brett at the Broken River club field. It had rained the day before and then froze overnight making for rough conditions at all the fields near Methven. That said, Broken River probably had the best conditions for the day and it was great to get up to one of the clubbies after spending a few days at the Remarks, Cadrona, and TC. The club fields - and associated rope tows/aka nut crackers - can be tough to navigate even as an experienced skier. It's very much a do it yourself experience with little to no resort staff around to help out. So as I was skiing on my own, was grateful to have BDS showing me the ropes so to speak! Everyone at the fields was super friendly, there's a communal BBQ on the deck that everyone shares, and you'll probably find NZs most hard core skiers! Would have been much more challenging to get up to the field (probably would've needed chains for the road) without Black Diamond. Highly recommend them and good value for the day!

Date of experience: August 2017
Thank nguoi_du_lich
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 2 September 2016

Recently, Spent 3 days with a mate and Brett on the club fields, did a day each at Mt Olympus, Craigieburn Valley & Broken River. Great service and advice. Brilliant way to experience the club fields, find the secret stashes of snow and where to head to get the best terrain. Genuine Kiwi bloke who provides an excellent, low key and professional yet relaxed service. Good sense of humour, excellent knowledge and equipment. Would highly recommend, Thanks!

Date of experience: August 2016
Thank Alan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 3 June 2016 via mobile

Brett and Duane are two of the hardest working guides I've skied with. Picked us up each day from our hotel and showed us terrain we would have never found let alone look for. Both guys grew up skiing the club fields and all the back country around them. Some of the best skiing you will find in NZ. Highly recommended for those that want to avoid the lift lines

Date of experience: June 2016
Thank Barrysbeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 14 September 2012

I did two day trips with Brett this season, one to Broken River and then up to Mt Olympus. Having never skied at a "clubby" before, nor having ever used a rope tow, it was a pretty exciting experience to get away from the commercial ski fields. Brett picked us up from our hotel in his monster 4WD - which was fully kitted out. The drive up was pretty spectacular and heaps of fun too as Brett wasn't afraid to put show off his 4WDing ability with some gnarly river crossings and a bit of bush bashing en-route. Brett supplied us with nutcrackers (for the rope tows), av beacons (just in case) and guided us around the ungroomed, uncrowded powder paradises. The Clubbies are awesome fun and soooooo different to regular resorts, and its really easy to do with the Black Diamond Crew.

Date of experience: August 2012
1  Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews