We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
$177
$177
Fully refundable before Sun, 2 Jun
Priceline
Go to your Happy Price
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
DurhamEvvo
Crook, United Kingdom

Very good

4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 29 Jun 2020
Clean and tidy apartment.
Everything you need for a short stay.
Very friendly lady on reception.
Whilst close to the road this did not intrude on our sleep quality.
Got dvd,s from reception to while away a rainy evening which was a shame as would have liked to pop down to the pubs!!!
Date of stay: February 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
$149
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
  • Hotels.com
    $136
  • Expedia.com
    $142
0.3 km from Methven Motels & Apartments
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$314
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
0.1 km from Methven Motels & Apartments
Free Wifi
Free parking
Pool Side
Booking.com
$155
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
0.2 km from Methven Motels & Apartments
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$270
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
  • Expedia.com
    $243
  • Hotels.com
    $270
0.8 km from Methven Motels & Apartments
Free parking
Spa
Booking.com
$109
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    $92
  • Expedia.com
    $98
0.4 km from Methven Motels & Apartments
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$110
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
  • Expedia.com
    $106
  • ZenHotels.com
0.6 km from Methven Motels & Apartments
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$109
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    $90
  • Expedia.com
    $109
0.4 km from Methven Motels & Apartments
Free parking
Restaurant
Booking.com
$165
  • Priceline
  • Expedia.com
    $165
  • Hotels.com
    $165
1.0 km from Methven Motels & Apartments
Free parking
Bar/Lounge
Priceline
Go to your Happy Price
  • Trip.com
  • ZenHotels.com
  • Vio.com
0.3 km from Methven Motels & Apartments
Free parking
Restaurant
Vio.com
  • eDreams
  • Lol.travel
1.0 km from Methven Motels & Apartments
Free parking
View more hotels in Methven
Reviews (56)
Filter reviews
56 results
Traveller rating
25
22
3
4
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
25
22
3
4
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews dining table and chairs spacious room could not have been more would definitely stay here again unit bath warren kitchen town fridge
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 56 reviews
Reviewed 3 September 2019 via mobile

The apartments in this motel are a decent size and are modern. I couldn't hear any of my neighbors through the walls, but there is no privacy when they walk past your apartment glass doors (unless you close your curtains).
There is everything that you need but the TV is tiny (even smaller than on our last cruise). The motel is only a five minute walk from town.
Be aware, that if you planned to cook that there is no dishwasher in the unit. There is also no (or very very slow) wifi in the room.

Date of stay: September 2019
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank guy d
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 20 August 2019

We were made to feel very welcome upon arrival and were most grateful for being allowed to check in early. Thank you.

We had two nights here and would be happy to go back and stay.

Located a very short walk from the shops the Methven Motel is in a good location. Has a lovely view of the mountains too from the upper rooms.

We had one room and was very spacious and comfortable.

Had a good bed, arm chairs, tv, dining table and chairs, kitchenette with gas burners, good sized fridge, tea and coffee making facilities and enough room to spare to put our bags and a baby’s travel cot. The bathroom was very decent in size and had great heaters, fans and a spa bath!

The room temperature was always perfect and cozy.

We were offered servicing whilst staying there which was very kind.

No room for improvement, was very happy with the set up and the stay thank you.

Date of stay: August 2019
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank SD2606
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 8 June 2019

Spent three nights in a large pet friendly motel. Huge rooms even had a bath and a full kitchen. Great friendly accommodating staff, great library of dvds great for the snowy afternoon. First time we have stayed in a pet friendly motel with our dog and it was totally non hassle. Great location to walk anywhere in Methven, an easy walk to the walkway for dog walks. Would stay here again.

Date of stay: June 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank DJandR
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 17 March 2019

If the owner of this lodging had spoken to me with a civil tongue, the rating would be higher, because nothing insults a paying guest as much or as quickly as being yelled at the moment they walk in the door.

Our family of five had been near Cape Palliser (North Island) that morning hiking in the Putangirua Pinnacles National Park, then in Wellington for the rest of the day before taking an evening flight to Christchurch, renting a car, and driving to Methven. We had been on the go since sunrise and were very hungry. So we stopped at a pleasant restaurant in Methven for a quick bite to eat before heading to the motel. It was 10:30 pm when we arrived at our lodging. The door was locked, so I gently knocked on it. A woman soon appeared, coming down the stairs. I smiled at her through the glass door, and she met the smile with a scowl.

She opened the door and began screaming at me. "You're LATE!" she screeched. "We close at 8:30!" By this time, a man had joined her, but he was politely silent, letting her do the scolding like an angry parent to a child. I explained to her that we had taken a delayed flight from Wellington that evening, but she continued to berate me for not contacting her that we would be "so late." She continued by telling me that she emailed me about their office hours, so I should have known. Shocked that I'd missed an email, I asked when she sent it, and she said it was in the email confirmation when I had made the reservation weeks before.

At that point I realized that nothing I said or did would appease this woman, so I said nothing else except to thank her as I left the office to go to our room. We were up and gone before their lights were on the next morning, so we left the key in the room.

Insulting customer service aside, how was the lodging? It was acceptable. We were in the first downstairs suite directly across from the office, I forget the number. It was large enough for the five of us, and reasonably clean. There was a dead fly in a corner on the floor in one bedroom, but otherwise it looked, smelled, and felt clean. There were sufficient towels, blankets, and kitchen equipment for five people. We didn't cook except to boil water for coffee, but it looked like there were enough kitchen items that guests could do light cooking if they desired. There were only two physical things about the suite that we didn't like.

1. The bedroom with one large bed is inconvenient and treacherous. There was nowhere to plug in one smartphone (let alone two) to charge it except behind the bed, which we couldn't move. If two people are in that bed, one of them has no switch to turn on a bedside light if they need to get up during the night. They must either wake the other person or stumble about in the dark. Unable to see, accidents could easily happen because the room has very little room to walk around (the bed nearly fills the room), especially if suitcases are not stored in the small closet. To add to the risk, there is a portable heater or air conditioner on the floor along a wall without an outlet, so the cord for it lies on the carpet and under the bed with a small area rug covering it. This makes a bump on the floor at the foot of the bed. Limited night lighting, a very tight room, and a bump on the floor add up to an accident waiting to happen. With no flashlight, we had to leave the light in the small hallway on all night so that nobody would fall if they got up.

2. The television in that room needs attention. Sometime late during the night, we were awakened by the sound of people talking in a language we did not comprehend. Alarmed for our safety, we rose to investigate what was going on. The television in the living room had turned on and was showing a program in Maori. We could not figure out how on Earth that happened, since we had not touched the device once.

Bottom line: If you arrive before her witching hour of 8:30 pm, you'll probably be fine. The room was acceptable aside from those two problems. Everyone in our group slept reasonably well except for the demonic television that woke us during the night. The bathroom was clean; the water was hot and plentiful. The kitchen was well-stocked. Parking was a breeze. However, if problems, schedule delays, or hunger mean you might arrive after she turns off her cauldron, you'd better let her know by 8:30pm or she'll slash you with her acidic tongue. I pity her husband.

Date of stay: February 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WeDreamOfTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 6 January 2019

We had a couple of nights here with our two dogs. Very helpful staff, super clean room and good cooking equipment (gas hob). Internet is a little slow and quantity limited to 100MB per room per 24h stay. Quiet and good location. We would stay again.

Date of stay: January 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank CharlieOscarPapa
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews