We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Hotels.comUS$113
Booking.comUS$118
PricelineUS$118
CheapTicketsUS$113
eDreamsUS$118
TravelocityUS$113
View all 13 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (24)
Filter reviews
24 results
Traveller rating
13
9
1
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
13
9
1
0
1
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 24 reviews
Reviewed 31 July 2019

I spent 2 nights here while on a work trip. Friendly hosts, modern and comfortable. Lovely clean white towels and good bedding. Well equipped. Only one small negative was the bread supplied for breakfast was soggy.

Date of stay: July 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank traceyz22
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaiapoi_Williams, Owner at Kaiapoi on Williams Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2019

Sorry your bread was soggy Tracey. To make breakfasts viable we have to freeze the bread and if it is stored in the fridge after thawing it does tend to go soggy. Sorry again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2019 via mobile

When the ONLY positive aspect of a 3 day lodging is they supplied lots of clean towels...you know it's all downhill from there.
Used booking.com for the first and last time for a motel room on short notice in New Zealand and stumbled upon Kaiapoi on Williams Motel near Christchurch.
Looked like I was booking a room but accidentally (?) got booked into a house 2 doors down the motel owner let's out.
Pictures on line made it look retro cool when in fact it was just old, broken down, shabby and sad. House looked to be built in 1950 and was last updated in 1951.
Welcomed to a bowl of moldy food, dirty dishes and a half consumed community water bottle left by previous guests.
Owner (Alan) came by soon after my evening arrival with the next mornings plate of breakfast food (picture a kindergarten sized faux juice box, container of milk and cereal along with 2 slices of bread in a Ziploc bag he took from his own kitchen. Total discount store value of $1.25 for which he charges $11 per person!).
I showed Alan the disgusting conditions and of course he blamed his cleaning crew. He took zero responsibly as owner then got offended because I wasn't happy. Nice, huh?
Anyway...this guy is a scammer. Claimed WiFi available and it is when the wind blows the right direction, maybe, sometimes. Tiny a/c unit in living room completely useless in the bedrooms. Not even a $10 box fan to help circulate the air. Open the windows? Some did open some did not. No screens so when you turned on a light every species of flying insect known to NZ invades!
Final insult came when I wanted a receipt that he claimed he couldn't provide as he's waiting for booking.com to pay him!!
All in all AVOID THIS PLACE!!!!
Owner is a shyster and could care less about his guests.
You've been warned!

Date of stay: February 2019
Trip type: Travelled on business
1  Thank 973craign
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaiapoi_Williams, Owner at Kaiapoi on Williams Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2019

Wow, sorry you didn't enjoy your stay.
You booked our 2 bedroom holiday online, it is clearly stated as such. Given that you had also walked away from other accommodation that you had also booked online and weren't happy with it would seem you need to take a bit more care that you are actually booking what you think you are.
I apologise for the two pieces of fruit found in the fridge - your last minute booking and request for early check in, with arrival 10 minutes later meant the last of the cleaning was rushed - hindsight is a wonderful thing, and we should have made you wait until it was thoroughly inspected.
We use refillable glass water bottles to do our share towards cutting plastic useage. The alternative is to not provide cold water for guests on arrival.
Breakfast was a standard pre packaged motel type continental breakfast, I wonder if you would have rather had the bread for the toast uncovered on a plate, rather than in snap lock bags to keep it fresh? All motel breakfast food is kept in a separate area to our own kitchen.
Your nasty verbal attack on my husband left him visibly shaken, hence him not really responding to you. We do take complaints seriously and when approached reasonable will usually respond appropriately, however in this case I don't think anything could have helped.
We hope you enjoyed your visit to Christchurch and the rest of your New Zealand stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2019 via mobile

Stayed here for one night. Does not look much from outside but the rooms are spacious and very clean with everything that you need for a good stay. Good cooking facilities and great bed. Also on main road so near supermarkets or lots of eating out options.

Date of stay: December 2018
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank owlesey
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 13 November 2018 via mobile

We stayed here while our home was having repairs done. So clean and tidy, had everything we needed and was super handy for us. Not many motels around so this was just great home away from home. Hosts very pleasant.

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank tonid688
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 24 October 2018 via mobile

Lovely layout and best quality we've stayed in so far. Not many Motels in Kaiapoi so we were lucky they had room for us. Not far from the town centre. Only negative was motorbikes leaving early from the scout camp nearby but that's the way it is sometimes.

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank CarolB3692
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews