We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breakfast”

Geraldine Orchard Farmshop and Cafe
Ranked #4 of 8 Quick Bites in Geraldine
Price range: $4 - $19
Restaurant details
Reviewed 27 December 2022

Nice friendly staff,great coffee.GF eggs benedict was very good.Big brekkie was ok but a shame the sausages were low quality and its a bit pricey.

Date of visit: December 2022
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank emmaskizz
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (177)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 11 of 177 reviews

Reviewed 7 December 2022 via mobile

We had lunch in this place which is both a restaurant and a shop. We had a hamburger and a salmon bagel. The bagel was quite hard and should have been a bit softer. The hamburger was fine. We took the opportunity to shop at the store which offers nice souvenirs from New Zealand.

Date of visit: December 2022
Thank Petrus61
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 5 December 2022 via mobile

Wide variety of food choices both in the cabinet & on the menu. Appreciated being able to have our dog outside! Milkshakes with icecream were not good - not thick at all & not much flavor! Service took AGES but they were busy, food came out quickly though. Love the outside play entertainment for young & old!

Date of visit: December 2022
Thank MummaandCo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 14 February 2022

Good coffee and decent food, shame about the golliwogs you can only see once you are seated and awaiting your food. Will be inspecting all cafes thoroughly now before choosing to spend my money there.

Date of visit: February 2022
Thank 439chinag
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 20 December 2021

We’re from Timaru. Visited this place for breakfast this morning for the first time, the Farm Shop Cafe. Absolute terrible experience. We ignored the warning signs when we came in: waitresses not greeting and not being friendly, the place generally not clean. Most of the noise came from the staff having a yarn behind the counter. Dead fly on our table. Spilled salt/sugar from previous customers on our table. Rude and unfriendly staff with an attitude: we don’t need your service. Food: presentation poor; I can come up with something much better in my kitchen and I’m not a chef. The coffee was great, but spilled marks on cup and saucer - we’re not sure if it is from previously used cups and saucers. Disgusting experience in general. The attitude of what looks like she’s in charge there is typical South African, we cannot be sure from the accent. We’re South Africans of colour. Disgusting service and food and I’m sorry I cannot recommend you to my wide circle of influence. To add fuel to the fire; we were not ask for our vaccine passports, something that I reported to the authorities. I complaint on their Facebook account; no response. I used their email and I got a nasty reply from the owners, Lyn & Peter McColl absolutely defending his staff and accusing me of racism. He only said that the vaccine issue has been addressed (fearing a fine from the authorities), but had only praise for his staff. Dine at this place at your own peril.

Date of visit: December 2021
1  Thank ChristoJoosteNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed Geraldine Orchard Farmshop and Cafe also viewed

Geraldine, Canterbury Region
Geraldine, Canterbury Region
 
Geraldine, Canterbury Region
Geraldine, Canterbury Region
 

Been to Geraldine Orchard Farmshop and Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in New Zealand. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.