We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
$358
Fully refundable before Wed, 24 Apr
Expedia.com
$352
Fully refundable before Thu, 25 Apr
Get rewarded with One Key
Hotels.com
$352
Fully refundable before Thu, 25 Apr
Get rewarded with One Key
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (71)
Filter reviews
71 results
Traveller rating
70
1
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
70
1
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sitting room complimentary bottle of wine complimentary port fabulous place to stay little touches nespresso machine south island road trip barker family spacious room one night next morning barkers renovation foodstore luxury comfort lotion
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 71 reviews
Reviewed 31 January 2024

Old vicarage was renovated to perfection. High ceilings, comfortable bed and surroundings. A nice touch have a sitting room and share a glass of port. Lock box access well done, even for senior citizens. Handy washer & dryer were great. Barker bakery and confectionary conveniently behind. Another nice touch was the Sauvignon blanc offered to guests booking directly, thanks Michael & Brigitte

Room tip: Book direct to get a free bottle of wine.
Date of stay: December 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank 400glennl
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Michael Barker, Owner at The Vicarage Geraldine, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2024

Hi Glenn! Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us such a wonderful review! We really do appreciate this small gesture.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2024 via mobile

We booked last minute as our plans had changed that day. So glad we did. After a very long drive, we were delighted to let ourselves into a beautiful bedroom and bathroom, lovely and cool from the air conditioning. Really comfy bed and nice touches like a free bottle of wine and a voucher for a free jar of preserve or chutney from the fabulous bakery/eatery at the back of the property (well worth a visit. We had a really nice breakfast there). You are given a code to a lockbox outside the front door that corresponds to your room number, so you don’t meet your hosts, but their presence was felt in all the thoughtful touches around the property. There are 2 lounges that guests can use in addition to their own bedrooms. Plenty of parking in the car park in front of the building.

We had a really lovely overnight stay. Would highly recommend.

Date of stay: January 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank kazpalms
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Michael Barker, Owner at The Vicarage Geraldine, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2024

I couldn't have said it better myself! Thank-you for putting pen to paper and sharing so much detail which will help prospective guests to make an informed decision about where to stay.
Hope it's not too cold back in Yorkshire!
Regards, Michael Barker

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2024 via mobile

We booked before we read the reviews so were wonderfully surprised by this treasure. Beautifully decorated and furnished with a thoughtful eye for detail and comfort. The bed was incredibly comfortable and the toiletires were so good I am trying to buy sone! You MUST go to the eatery & deli next door for breakfast - absolutely fabulous

Date of stay: January 2024
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Tracey R
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Michael Barker, Owner at The Vicarage Geraldine, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2024

Thankyou Tracey. You probably won't find Linden Leaves in the UK but no harm in asking!
We get great satisfaction from reading such lovely reviews...makes all the hard work worthwhile!
Regards, Michael Barker

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2023 via mobile

Our room (Room 5) at the Vicarage was the epitome of luxury. No expense had been spared to provide guests with the very best of everything. The king bed, the bedding, the kitchenware and the bathroom facilities were all of the highest quality.
The room was stylishly decorated and furnished and felt very homely and comfortable. I just couldn’t recommend the Vicarage more highly for those guests with discerning taste who are prepared to pay a bit more to experience the very best.

Date of stay: November 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Road67337444420
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Michael Barker, Owner at The Vicarage Geraldine, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2024

We very much appreciate your thoughtful comments. We certainly set out to create exactly what you have described... stylishly decorated and furnished but still homely and comfortable! Its lovely to receive such fulsome praise! Regards Michael Barker.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2023

Immaculate , beautifully designed room. Well thought out amenities and everything designed with an eye for details. Washer drier was an added bonus. Small touches like the complimentary
bottle of wine made us feel welcome. Perfect night stop on our way to Wānaka.

Date of stay: September 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Viji R
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Michael Barker, Owner at The Vicarage Geraldine, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2024

Thankyou guys for your kind review. An interesting point to note...we only offer a complimentary bottle of wine to those guests who book directly with us via our website or by contacting us directly. Its our way of saying a big thankyou. So glad you enjoyed the accommodation. Regards, Michael Barker

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews