We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
$219
Fully refundable before Thu, 2 May
Priceline
$219
Fully refundable before Thu, 2 May
No prepayment needed
Go to your Happy Price
Expedia.com
$219
Fully refundable before Sat, 4 May
No prepayment needed
Get rewarded with One Key
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Suzanne O
Gold Coast, Australia
Super comfy - but no views
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 2 Nov 2023via mobile
This modern, spacious, comfortable studio was just what we were looking for, but we also wanted to enjoy “semi-rural” views from the front porch on arrival. Unfortunately there are no views. We were in B (the best location of the 4 cabins) which at least looked out on a small sheltered garden strip.
It was disappointing for us as Geraldine is such a pretty place, but if it’s just for a good overnight sleep you’ll be more than happy at Black on Grey.
Date of stay: October 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
$102
  • Priceline
    $102
  • Expedia.com
    $102
  • Hotels.com
    $102
2.0 km from Black on Grey Motel
Free parking
parking
Booking.com
$150
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    $150
  • Expedia.com
    $151
  • Hotels.com
    $153
2.0 km from Black on Grey Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
HOTEL GERALDINE
Booking.com
$106
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    $125
  • Vio.com
    $125
  • eDreams
    $106
2.4 km from Black on Grey Motel
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Scenic Route Motor Lodge Exterior
Booking.com
$166
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    $166
  • Official Site
    $146
  • Hotels.com
    $175
2.7 km from Black on Grey Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$172
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    $172
  • Agoda.com
    $139
  • Expedia.com
    $160
3.1 km from Black on Grey Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Stand out home!
Booking.com
$195
Fully refundable
  • ZenHotels.com
  • Lol.travel
  • Agoda.com
2.7 km from Black on Grey Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$189
Fully refundable
  • Agoda.com
2.2 km from Black on Grey Motel
The Vicarage Geraldine has been stunningly restored inside and out.
Booking.com
$358
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    $352
  • Hotels.com
    $352
  • Trip.com
    $357
2.3 km from Black on Grey Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$325
  • ZenHotels.com
  • Agoda.com
  • Vio.com
3.7 km from Black on Grey Motel
Booking.com
$425
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    $425
  • Agoda.com
3.8 km from Black on Grey Motel
View more hotels in Geraldine
Reviews (52)
Filter reviews
52 results
Traveller rating
45
6
0
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
45
6
0
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews individual units private outdoor area accessible unit road noise week trip little touches enjoyable stay a great place to stay comfortable bed netflix tv host facilities fridge motel angelika pillows
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 52 reviews
Reviewed 26 August 2023 via mobile

We really enjoyed this stay. Had all the modern amenities and a perfect size for us family travelling. Beds and linen were super comfy and a great night sleep was had.

The locations is only a few mins drive from the Main Street with everything you need.

The icing on the cake was the residents cat that we befriended and she stayed with us in through the night seeking warmth!

Date of stay: August 2023
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Danny94H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Black on Grey Motel, Owner at Black on Grey Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2023

Hi,

Thank you for taking the time to share this lovely review On TripAdvisor-Yes that cat was semi wild a few months ago, one wouldn't know it haha

We hope to host you again sometime

Kind regards,

Ange & Paul

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2023

A special find! The two-bedroom accessible unit had a green and private outlook meaning you felt like you were in a retreat!
The hosts were so welcoming, helpful and went the extra mile during our stay. The shower (who mentions a shower); well, it was the best and others felt so too! Everything you need to a stop over or a longer stay. We shally be heading there again.

Room tip: On the way to lots of places
Date of stay: June 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Murray F
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Black on Grey Motel, Owner at Black on Grey Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2023

Hi Carol & Murray,

It was such a pleasure hosting you & warm fuzzies with the lovely review you took the time to share with others.

Kind regards from The Team @ Black On Grey :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2023 via mobile

We stayed here for two nights to explore the area. It’s squeaky clean and comfortable with a fully stocked kitchen, comfy bed and lounge chairs.

Even though we had one of the units by the road, the sound proofing and insulation is good and we weren’t bothered by road noise at all.

It was cool the few days we were here, but we didn’t need to worry. There’s a nice, quiet wall heater instead of an annoying heat pump, an extra blanket and even an electric bed warmer.

Black on Gray is now our favourite place to stay when we’re in the lovely town of Geraldine

Room tip: Call before booking to discuss room options.
Date of stay: March 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank pcarlaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Black on Grey Motel, Owner at Black on Grey Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2023

Hi Peggy,

My apologies for not responding to your lovely review before now.
Thank you so much for taking time out of your busy schedule to write your "Positive Stay" words.

Much Appreciated from Ange, Paul & The Team @ Black On Grey :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2023

We just spent one night, and the unit (one of four individual units) was clean and equipped as advertised. However, the bathroom sink was crazy small (smaller than most public toilet sinks) and made it impossible to wash your face without getting water all over the floor. The bathroom mirror was also oddly placed in a tiny space between the sink and the shower (they'd placed a window above the sink), so my husband couldn't see what he was doing while shaving. We found mattress-covering heating pads in a few other places over our four-week trip, but most had a cover over the top. On this one I could feel the coils poking through the sheet, which wasn't great. Friendly host, though.

Date of stay: February 2023
Thank SantaFean-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Black on Grey Motel, Owner at Black on Grey Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2023

Hi there,
Just saw this post so apologies for late response. We actually have 5 Standalone Units-there is a 2 Bedroom one beyond the back hedge- more private.
We took over in Dec 2022 so the business was well established. Yes when we use to stay here we thought the same about the sinks but hey you utilise the best you can, with a bathmat on the floor :)
We are getting the little basin challenge fixed as I type & also will move mirrors slightly as we go - as you know it all costs $$
The Electric Blanket coils are pretty much on the edge of each side of the King/Queen beds, will double check next time I am making to rectify that. Thank you for the positive parts of your review & we hope to host you again sometime. Stay Warm!
Regards,
Angeline & Paul

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2023

Wonderful Experience! The unit was perfect in every way, cleanliness, comfort especially the bed, cooking facilities were great and we had a treat on our pillow (by the way the pillows were fabulous too). Angelina was extremely hospitable and very accommodating.
Would defiantly recommend this and the sweet location of Geraldine.
C&B

Date of stay: February 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Ciara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Black on Grey Motel, Owner at Black on Grey Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2023

Hi C&B, apologies it has taken this long for our response. Thank you very much for your positive review & we are stoked that you enjoyed your stay. Come Back anytime, only a phonecall-& possible Free Upgrade Away :-)

Regards,
Angeline & Paul

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews