We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Mary G
Paraparaumu, New Zealand

GREAT ACCOMMODATION

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 5 Apr 2021
This motel has several luxury cabins with everything you could possibly want. It was very clean and confortable and Tee (the hostess) was delightful with nothing being too much trouble. We had a large studio unit with a superking bed and two comfy leather chairs. When travelling, we like top accommodation and this place ticked all the boxes.
Date of stay: March 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Angeline Welch, Owner at Black on Grey Motel, responded to this review
Responded 21 Mar 2022
Hi Mary,
Apologies for taking so long to reply, but since Tee was here ( we didnt have the pleasure of meeting her) my partner & I took over on the 1st Dec 2022. Just wanted to say Thank you for the lovely compliments & hopefully we can meet you one day. Take care & stay safe out there
Kind Regards,
Angeline, Paul & The Team @ Black on Grey :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
  • eDreams
  • ZenHotels.com
  • Agoda.com
2.0 km from Black on Grey Motel
Free parking
The Vicarage Geraldine has been stunningly restored inside and out.
  • Expedia.com
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
2.3 km from Black on Grey Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Scenic Route Motor Lodge Exterior
  • Expedia.com
  • Hotels.com
  • eDreams
2.7 km from Black on Grey Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
parking
  • Expedia.com
  • Hotels.com
  • eDreams
2.0 km from Black on Grey Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Motel Complex.
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • eDreams
  • Agoda.com
3.0 km from Black on Grey Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Stunning sunsets and mountain views
    2.1 km from Black on Grey Motel
    Free parking
    Spa
    • Hotels.com
    • ZenHotels.com
      $134
    • eDreams
    3.1 km from Black on Grey Motel
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    • eDreams
    7.5 km from Black on Grey Motel
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    • Hotels.com
    • ZenHotels.com
      $178
    • eDreams
    3.6 km from Black on Grey Motel
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    Queen room
      24.0 km from Black on Grey Motel
      Free parking
      View more hotels in Geraldine
      Reviews (52)
      Filter reviews
      52 results
      Traveller rating
      45
      6
      0
      1
      0
      Traveller type
      Time of year
      LanguageAll languages
      Traveller rating
      45
      6
      0
      1
      0
      Show reviews that mention
      All reviews individual units private outdoor area accessible unit road noise week trip little touches enjoyable stay a great place to stay comfortable bed netflix tv host facilities fridge motel angelika pillows
      Selected filters
      Filter
      Updating list...
      12 - 17 of 52 reviews
      Reviewed 23 December 2020 via mobile

      Stayed one night. Big roomy cabin. Very clean & new. Big lounge, kitchen offset along the wall, laundry facilities, double bed in nice sized room & two single beds in the second bedroom. There was a private garden area to sit out in but it was raining. There are 5 units there, ours was unit E at the back, very quiet.

      Date of stay: December 2020
      Trip type: Travelled as a couple
      1  Thank DavidFlorence
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      Angeline Welch, Owner at Black on Grey Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2022

      Hi David,
      Apologies for taking a wee while to reply-better late than never huh haha. My man & I just purchased this lovely property on Dec 1st this year. We appreciate the comments you shared & we hope to keep the standards as high as the previous owners.
      Please come & stay again, & we can possibly put you back in the happy place of Unit E :)

      Kind regards,
      Angeline & Paul

      Report response as inappropriate
      This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
      Reviewed 22 December 2020 via mobile

      Immaculate accommodation, excellent value for money in the delightful Geraldine. Our third time staying here. The facilities are exceptional. Highly recommended and a breath of fresh air. Our #1 choice in South Canterbury.

      Date of stay: December 2020
      Trip type: Travelled as a couple
      1  Thank CTOIT
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      Angeline Welch, Owner at Black on Grey Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2022

      We are very happy that you were happy :) Happy New Year!

      Report response as inappropriate
      This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
      Reviewed 11 December 2020

      We stayed in the 2 bedroom unit. Great spot just on the edge of town and is very quiet and spacious with a lovely, private outdoor area. The owners were friendly and helpful. Would definitely stay again!

      Date of stay: November 2020
        • Location
        • Sleep Quality
        • Service
      1  Thank suzannehN3293UR
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      Angeline Welch, Owner at Black on Grey Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2022

      Suzanne, thank you for taking the time to share with trip advisor users your thoughts on our newly purchased business, we do appreciate it.

      Look forward to seeing you another time in the near future

      Kind regards,

      Angeline & Paul

      Report response as inappropriate
      This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
      Reviewed 30 October 2020

      This is a great place to stay. It is comfortable, clean, really nicely done and very friendly hosts. I only stayed one night on my way through Geraldine. Next time I will bring my family and stay longer.

      Date of stay: October 2020
        • Sleep Quality
        • Cleanliness
        • Service
      1  Thank Excursion37071587322
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      Angeline Welch, Owner at Black on Grey Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2022

      Hi there,
      The time has come for you to share with your family & stay longer..no pressure :) thank you for the great comments, much appreciated. Our stand alone 2 Bdrm Unit sounds perfect for you & your loved ones.

      Kind regards from the new owners,
      Angeline & Paul

      Report response as inappropriate
      This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
      Reviewed 1 July 2020

      Stayed in large accessible unit. Modern tidy and well designed.
      unit had an excellent heatpump worked well
      gas used to heat water great modern feature.
      smart tv and netflics nice feature also good wifi

      Also has a washing machine in the unit and an oven plus a microwave oven.

      2 bedrooms one next to the other kids stayed in that.
      There is a deck however not big enough for the table supplied and all the chairs to be used on the deck for a meal or drink etc. Nicely private with a surrounding hedge.

      The carparking a minor issue in that you have to execute a 3 point turn for this unit with the wheelchair ramp etc. I know this in unavoidable.

      Reasonable equipment but a pizza tray or coffee plunger would be nice. The instant coffee was nothing to write about. Bed also OK but not large for such a large unit. I personally give the place 5 stars if it had a superking bed, coffee plunger, seating on deck matched better and better parking access. Would also be prepared to pay a bit more it is good value off peak at the moment.

      Room tip: probably go for non accessible in future
      Date of stay: June 2020
        • Value
        • Sleep Quality
        • Service
      Thank Phil B
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      Angeline Welch, Owner at Black on Grey Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2022

      Hi Phil B. Thank you for sharing your thoughts & suggestions. we have just taken over Black on Grey, just thought I would let you know that since your stay the previous owners must of taken the table off the deck & put it near the BBQ area on the grass & there is a plunger & coffee for the guests. The parking is what it is, I personally love doing 3 point turns (maybe you had a bigger vehicle) & of course it is a Disability Unit for one that is not as fortunate as us to be able to walk for whatever reason. We hope to see you again in the future-when you book with us please ask for Unit E so you can experience :)
      P.S As I said we just took over on Dec 1st so we haven't got to changing the Queen Bed to King or Super as yet..we will get there :)
      Happy New Year to You & your Family

      Report response as inappropriate
      This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
      View more reviews