We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome service”

Red Stag Restaurant
Ranked #5 of 12 Restaurants in Fairlie
Price range: US$3 - US$21
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: A La Carte dining in a relaxing environment in our sunny conservatory or in our elegant dining room.
Reviewed 14 January 2020 via mobile

Wonderful heritage villa turned into lovely restaurant. The service was superb and the meal awesome. It was a special visit for my partner a d myself. The added attraction of an Avairy and a gorgeous Samoyd dog finished the evening

Date of visit: January 2020
Thank traveller220949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (209)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

11 - 15 of 209 reviews

Reviewed 29 December 2019 via mobile

We had a wonderful dinner and we love benson the restaurant doggie! Definitely recommend a visit, the service was great.

Date of visit: December 2019
Thank Jessica W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2019

Luckily for us this restaurant decided to be open on a Monday evening, when it normally isn't. We only had one night in Fairlie and it would have been our loss to miss dining here.
My husband had the steak and I had the whitebait patties. Neither of us were disappointed.
I do not know how they cooked the chips, but they were fabulous and I don't even normally eat them.
My husband said it was the best mushroom sauce he had EVER had.
Seems to be a family run business - friendly and down to earth.

Date of visit: November 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank N7238MOmaryb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2019 via mobile

We really liked this place, the food and the hosts. We stayed the night in their apartment. To recommend.

Date of visit: November 2019
1  Thank LillvorW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2019 via mobile

Very good food served in a casual but cosy setting. Perfect for meat lovers but other dishes available as well. Quite a find in Fairlie....!

Date of visit: November 2019
Thank Wilhelm L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Red Stag Restaurant also viewed

Fairlie, Mackenzie District
Fairlie, Mackenzie District
 
Fairlie, Mackenzie District
Fairlie, Mackenzie District
 

Been to Red Stag Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in New Zealand. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.