We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
$154
Fully refundable before Thu, 2 May
Priceline
$154
Fully refundable before Thu, 2 May
Go to your Happy Price
Expedia.com
$145
Fully refundable before Fri, 3 May
Get rewarded with One Key
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
skylarkGlos
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Clean and Tidy
Review of Pinewood Motels
4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 28 Feb 2020
This Motel was good for us as a couple. It was tidy and clean. The bathroom was a wet room and for two seniors this was ideal. There was everything you needed if you wished to self cater. Duchy gave us information about restaurants in which to eat and did not set us wrong. Thank you.
Date of stay: February 2020
Room Tip: Any room is fine
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Main Entrance
Booking.com
$138
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    $138
  • Expedia.com
    $138
  • Hotels.com
    $138
0.2 km from Pinewood Motels
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$150
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    $150
  • Expedia.com
    $143
  • Hotels.com
    $150
0.4 km from Pinewood Motels
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$234
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    $234
  • eDreams
    $234
  • ZenHotels.com
1.0 km from Pinewood Motels
Free parking
Property building
Priceline
$90
Fully refundable
Go to your Happy Price
  • Booking.com
    $90
  • Agoda.com
0.5 km from Pinewood Motels
Priceline
$85
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
Go to your Happy Price
  • Booking.com
    $85
  • Vio.com
    $85
  • eDreams
    $85
0.6 km from Pinewood Motels
Free Wifi
Free parking
big trees
Lol.travel
  • ZenHotels.com
0.5 km from Pinewood Motels
Free parking
Booking.com
    4.4 km from Pinewood Motels
    Property building
    Priceline
    $593
    Fully refundable
    Go to your Happy Price
    • Booking.com
    • Agoda.com
    0.3 km from Pinewood Motels
    Studio - Queen
    Booking.com
    $154
    Fully refundable
    • Priceline
      $154
    • Expedia.com
      $145
    • Hotels.com
      $154
    0.0 km from Pinewood Motels
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    Booking.com
    $190
    Fully refundable
    • Priceline
      $190
    • Agoda.com
      $162
    13.9 km from Pinewood Motels
    View more hotels in Fairlie
    Reviews (157)
    Filter reviews
    157 results
    Traveller rating
    57
    73
    15
    6
    6
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    More languages
    Traveller rating
    57
    73
    15
    6
    6
    See what travellers are saying:
    Selected filters
    Filter
    Updating list...
    3 - 8 of 157 reviews
    Reviewed 7 February 2020

    This is a spacious roomy motel in the lovely township of Fairlie in the Mackenzie country is about 20 mins from Lake Tekapo. The units have full cooking facilities and we stayed in a two bed unit which could have slept 5. The manager is welcoming and there is free wifi. Pick up the local newspaper - ‘The Fairlie Accessible,’ which gives you an interesting read of the area; ‘Advice from an old Farmer’ on page 12 of the January edition is enlightening. Whether you are travelling through this lovely part of the South Island or using this place as a base it comes highly recommended.
    Paul and Mary Reet DUNEDIN

    Date of stay: February 2020
    Trip type: Travelled with family
    Thank Paul R
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 8 April 2019

    Pinewood Motels is not terribly exciting, but it is more than adequate. The bed was good, and the kitchenette and bathroom were decent size. Free WiFi. Fairlie is a "blink and you've missed it" kind of town and we stayed there one night to break up the drive.

    Date of stay: March 2019
    • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
      • Sleep Quality
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    1  Thank laurielaine
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 3 March 2019 via mobile

    Just a little overnighter and decided to mix it up a bit as I've never stayed here before. Have been incredibly impressed with the price, the modern decor and the cleanliness here. Even the kids were urging me to give a 5 star review as it's been wonderful - FYI - where can we get those little sachets of organic hot chocolate???!!!
    Those 5 stars are well earned and I highly recommend considering Pinewood for a stay in picturesque Fairlie.

    Date of stay: March 2019
    Trip type: Travelled with family
    Thank JoR2213
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 6 December 2018 via mobile

    The bed was OK, comfy enough, good sheets. Had all the kitchen bits needed. But everything else was well worn. Tatty towels, outside windows and curtains need a good clean, and don't even look at the toilet brush - that was grim! Did the job for an overnight but not especially welcoming.

    Date of stay: December 2018
    Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    Thank ClanCat
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 28 November 2018 via mobile

    Pinewood Motel in Fairlie is a short walk from the grocery store and cafe in town, and it’s quite close to a BP gas station. About 30 minutes over Burke’s Pass from Tekapo.

    Rooms are built around the car park, and check in was quick.

    The rooms include a small kitchen with plug-in single burner cooktop, mini-fridge, microwave, kettle, and dishes. There was a frying pan and bowl for mixing as well as some other items for cooking. There’s a very small table built into the wall with two chairs in the kitchen, and my room had a Queen bed and a twin. There’s also a patio outside the sliding glass doors with cafe table and two chairs.

    The bathroom was clean, but because there was no separation between it and the rest of the room the entire floor got wet when I showered. The towels were threadbare, and the toilet tank was stained - overall space was a bit drab.

    Bed linens were super clean but the bed wasn’t super comfortable- sort of saggy.

    The walls are incredibly thin so I was kept up quite late by talking in the room next door.

    WiFi was slow- had some trouble backing up photos from the day.

    Overall a fine place but felt run down and outdated.

    Date of stay: November 2018
    1  Thank leahw1979
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    View more reviews