We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Sarah M
Nelson, New Zealand

Best sleep in a motel

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 11 Jul 2020via mobile
One of the best nights sleep I’ve ever had in motel. Quiet(away from main road), clean and so friendly. Newly renovated and well thought out refit. Stayed 2 nights and used it as a base to ski at Mt Lyford. Kids loved to visit the horse and donkey.
Date of stay: July 2020
Trip type: Travelled with family
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
One bedroom king bed
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
0.9 km from Cheviot Motels, Cabins & Camp - formerly the Cheviot Motel and Holiday Park
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
3.6 km from Cheviot Motels, Cabins & Camp - formerly the Cheviot Motel and Holiday Park
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Vio.com
1.8 km from Cheviot Motels, Cabins & Camp - formerly the Cheviot Motel and Holiday Park
Free Wifi
Free parking
Room
    6.3 km from Cheviot Motels, Cabins & Camp - formerly the Cheviot Motel and Holiday Park
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    $257
    • Hotels.com
    • Booking.com
    • Algotels
    44.9 km from Cheviot Motels, Cabins & Camp - formerly the Cheviot Motel and Holiday Park
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    $153
    Fully refundable
    • Hotels.com
    • Booking.com
    • Expedia.com
      $153
    47.2 km from Cheviot Motels, Cabins & Camp - formerly the Cheviot Motel and Holiday Park
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    • Hotels.com
    • Expedia.com
      $116
    • Algotels
    47.3 km from Cheviot Motels, Cabins & Camp - formerly the Cheviot Motel and Holiday Park
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    $107
    • Hotels.com
    • Booking.com
    • eDreams
    47.5 km from Cheviot Motels, Cabins & Camp - formerly the Cheviot Motel and Holiday Park
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    $129
    Fully refundable
    No prepayment needed
    • Hotels.com
    • Booking.com
    • Expedia.com
      $129
    47.5 km from Cheviot Motels, Cabins & Camp - formerly the Cheviot Motel and Holiday Park
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    47.7 km from Cheviot Motels, Cabins & Camp - formerly the Cheviot Motel and Holiday Park
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    View more hotels in Cheviot
    Reviews (96)
    Filter reviews
    96 results
    Traveller rating
    83
    9
    2
    1
    1
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    Traveller rating
    83
    9
    2
    1
    1
    Show reviews that mention
    All reviews swimming pool caravan park quiet country setting free wifi friendly owners clean facilities communal kitchen guinea fowl new zealand stayed longer stayed two nights gore bay site animals motel sheep nz
    Selected filters
    Filter
    Updating list...
    16 - 21 of 96 reviews
    Reviewed 10 June 2020

    We stayed in a campervan with 3 young kids and the place was welcoming and tidy. However the next morning our kids were able to visit the birds, pat a horse and feed some lambs and for them it was one of the highlights of the whole trip. The owners did not have to go out of their way for a group just "stopping in" but they did and it was very much appreciated.

    Date of stay: October 2019
      • Value
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank K7292TXrichardg
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 11 May 2020

    We were on the road from Christchurch to Blenheim, and decided we would stay the night in Cheviot, after a trying and exhausting day. Found the motel, and what a gem. Friendly manager, spotlessly clean motel unit with everything we could need, including a comfy sofa outside in the afternoon sun to sit and drink our coffee on, while watching the donkey grazing. Lovely gardens. Loved the fact that they provided a little book for guests to write comments in, and all were very favourable. Definitely a motel to go back to if we are in the area again.

    Date of stay: March 2020
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Service
    Thank julietquilts
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 21 February 2020

    Looking for somewhere for my last night before flying from ChCh I stumbled upon the Cheviot motel and holiday park and rented a great little cabin. Sunny afternoon, peaceful, off the highway so it felt like you're out in the country. I had two swims in the pool and walked to the pub for dinner. The park owners are lovely people, it was nice to see the old dog, cats and a donkey wandering around. There were pears, nectarines and grapes for the picking, and a big aviary full of all kinds of birds. Plus horses to pat. The cabin had all I needed, short walk to the bathroom. About an hour an a half to the airport.

    Date of stay: February 2020
      • Value
      • Location
    Thank mikerM7102GI
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 20 October 2019

    Stayed in the recently refurbished motel unit. It was fabulous. Linen gorgeous. very quiet, clean, big units with easy access. Everything was perfect. Have stayed in cabin before and was equally impressed.

    Date of stay: October 2019
      • Location
      • Rooms
      • Service
    Thank CoffeeAday
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 3 August 2019

    This is avery cute and quiet place to stay. I enjoyed the animal wildlife around, and found the owners to be friendly and very helpful. My cabin was warm and snuggly, with a decent sized fridge. Its location is perfect!

    Date of stay: July 2019
    • Trip type: Travelled on business
      • Value
      • Sleep Quality
      • Service
    Thank Nixy1993
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    View more reviews