We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
julietquilts
Athenree, New Zealand

Wonderful one night stay

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 10 May 2020
We were on the road from Christchurch to Blenheim, and decided we would stay the night in Cheviot, after a trying and exhausting day. Found the motel, and what a gem. Friendly manager, spotlessly clean motel unit with everything we could need, including a comfy sofa outside in the afternoon sun to sit and drink our coffee on, while watching the donkey grazing. Lovely gardens. Loved the fact that they provided a little book for guests to write comments in, and all were very favourable. Definitely a motel to go back to if we are in the area again.
Date of stay: March 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
One bedroom king bed
$145
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    $145
  • Hotels.com
    $145
  • Tripadvisor
    $145
0.9 km from Cheviot Motels, Cabins & Camp - formerly the Cheviot Motel and Holiday Park
Free parking
$275
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
    $275
  • Vio.com
3.6 km from Cheviot Motels, Cabins & Camp - formerly the Cheviot Motel and Holiday Park
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Expedia.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
1.8 km from Cheviot Motels, Cabins & Camp - formerly the Cheviot Motel and Holiday Park
Free Wifi
Free parking
$101
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
  • Vio.com
  • Agoda.com
0.0 km from Cheviot Motels, Cabins & Camp - formerly the Cheviot Motel and Holiday Park
Free parking
$188
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    $188
  • Hotels.com
    $183
  • Priceline
34.2 km from Cheviot Motels, Cabins & Camp - formerly the Cheviot Motel and Holiday Park
Free Wifi
Free parking
Mountain Hut
$249
    35.4 km from Cheviot Motels, Cabins & Camp - formerly the Cheviot Motel and Holiday Park
    Mt Lyford Holiday Homes
    $357
    • Priceline
    36.6 km from Cheviot Motels, Cabins & Camp - formerly the Cheviot Motel and Holiday Park
    $221
    Fully refundable
    • Agoda.com
    41.5 km from Cheviot Motels, Cabins & Camp - formerly the Cheviot Motel and Holiday Park
    Free parking
    $294
    • Expedia.com
      $257
    • Tripadvisor
      $257
    • Priceline
    44.9 km from Cheviot Motels, Cabins & Camp - formerly the Cheviot Motel and Holiday Park
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    $320
    Fully refundable
    • Priceline
    • eDreams
      $320
    • ZenHotels.com
    45.8 km from Cheviot Motels, Cabins & Camp - formerly the Cheviot Motel and Holiday Park
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    View more hotels in Cheviot
    Reviews (96)
    Filter reviews
    96 results
    Traveller rating
    83
    9
    2
    1
    1
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    Traveller rating
    83
    9
    2
    1
    1
    Show reviews that mention
    All reviews swimming pool caravan park quiet country setting free wifi friendly owners clean facilities communal kitchen guinea fowl new zealand stayed longer stayed two nights gore bay site animals motel sheep nz
    Selected filters
    Filter
    Updating list...
    18 - 23 of 96 reviews
    Reviewed 21 February 2020

    Looking for somewhere for my last night before flying from ChCh I stumbled upon the Cheviot motel and holiday park and rented a great little cabin. Sunny afternoon, peaceful, off the highway so it felt like you're out in the country. I had two swims in the pool and walked to the pub for dinner. The park owners are lovely people, it was nice to see the old dog, cats and a donkey wandering around. There were pears, nectarines and grapes for the picking, and a big aviary full of all kinds of birds. Plus horses to pat. The cabin had all I needed, short walk to the bathroom. About an hour an a half to the airport.

    Date of stay: February 2020
      • Value
      • Location
    Thank mikerM7102GI
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 20 October 2019

    Stayed in the recently refurbished motel unit. It was fabulous. Linen gorgeous. very quiet, clean, big units with easy access. Everything was perfect. Have stayed in cabin before and was equally impressed.

    Date of stay: October 2019
      • Location
      • Rooms
      • Service
    Thank CoffeeAday
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 3 August 2019

    This is avery cute and quiet place to stay. I enjoyed the animal wildlife around, and found the owners to be friendly and very helpful. My cabin was warm and snuggly, with a decent sized fridge. Its location is perfect!

    Date of stay: July 2019
    • Trip type: Travelled on business
      • Value
      • Sleep Quality
      • Service
    Thank Nixy1993
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 31 July 2019

    Absolutely lovely quiet place to stay (apart from the fire siren lol) sitting outside on our wee verandah with a very friendly cat who loved us... was like sitting in the summer sun. very clean and delightful motel unit with everything we needed to make the nights stay welcoming... could have stayed on..... great place for campers as well, well set up..hope to get back again...

    Date of stay: July 2019
    • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Service
    Thank Elaine J
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 20 July 2019

    Due to a rock fall on the way to Kaikoura the road was blocked and nobody was going to be getting thru until the morning.
    After a quick search of what accommodation was available for night, Cheviot Motel and Holiday Park came up as the closest place and saved us.
    It was such a pleasant stay that we didn't want to leave, the hosts were so helpful and kind. A wedding was booked the following day but it was all taken in their stride.
    The bathrooms were clean and the showers were so nice and hot.....so good! and they even supplied fluffy towels.
    The grounds were a delight to walk around in the morning and the super friendly resident cat and dog were an added touch.
    We loved our stay here and highly recommend it to everyone.

    Date of stay: June 2019
    • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
      • Location
      • Rooms
      • Service
    Thank Amanda B
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    View more reviews