We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stop for food and drink”
Review of Number 8 Cafe

Number 8 Cafe
Ranked #1 of 5 Restaurants in Cheviot
Restaurant details
Reviewed 18 April 2024

Been here before on a previous trip in South Island - still the same excellent staff attitude, good food and a decent cup of tea. Staff are friendly and can talk while doing their jobs. Great service - good place to stop

Date of visit: March 2024
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Grant N
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (57)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 57 reviews

Reviewed 31 March 2024

Nice cafe. Been here various times. We stop every time we drive North. Good food, nice atmosphere and on all occasions save yesterday, staff hospitality is good too. Welsh waitress there consistent - very nice and friendly every time we visit. Unfirtunately rhe other waitresses there yesterday mid morning not nice. In fact rude and abrubt. They do not this place justice.

Date of visit: February 2024
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Jesmond M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 10 March 2024 via mobile

Great coffee and a wide variety of cabinet food. Inside and outside seating. Great place to stop when travelling between Christchurch and Picton.

Date of visit: March 2024
Thank Christopher M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 5 March 2024 via mobile

So clean, and well presented. Lovely selection of delicious snacks including a top tier Steak Pie. No jokes, it was superb. Great service, friendly and engaged staff.

Clean facilities.

Date of visit: March 2024
Thank DJP852795
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 23 February 2024

Would we return here? Gladly!
Can we recommend it? Yes!

Background: After a long day’s drive we decided to see if we could get takeaways or a meal in Cheviot. The only place we saw on GM that was open was Number Eight, so we walked down, expecting to be served fish and chips by an expressionless person behind the counter… What a surprise it was to be welcomed to a bright, clean room by a cheerful and friendly lady who know her stuff: answered questions about the menu, made suggestions, but let us make our decisions in our own time. I had a steak meal and my wife a starter and a salad; the steak was cooked as ordered, tasty and tender; the accompanying greens and potatoes are just as I like them, cooked but not cooked to death. My wife was also very satisfied with her chicken starter and salad. We decided to round off the meal with a dessert, and when I asked for a modification to one of the items the response was, “No problem”.
The toilets were newly equipped, clean and spacious.
The bill was appropriate for the drinks and food the two of us enjoyed.
The free WiFi worked well.

Date of visit: February 2024
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Chris v
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed Number 8 Cafe also viewed

Cheviot, Canterbury Region
 

Been to Number 8 Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in New Zealand. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.