We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
Priceline
Go to your Happy Price
Official Site
$99
Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Joanne B
San Clemente, California

Great base for exploring

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 10 Feb 2024via mobile
Mountain House was a great home away from home. It was our first stay on the South Island and a great way to get into the hiking mindset. We did some day hikes on our one day there (Scott’s Track — do not recommend as it was straight up and down on scary rocks the whole time, aaargh!) and Devil’s Punchbowl waterfall (we do recommend that one!). The mix of guests was so interesting as they were mostly TA through hikers. Our private room (Hamilton, Room 2) was very large with a queen sized bed plus one or two single beds and a sofa. The shared kitchen was also large and well equipped, with dining tables to enjoy your meal. The shower rooms were clean and had great water pressure and temperature, and the toilet rooms were fine, though with the tiniest sinks that made teeth brushing a challenge. (Each hower and toilet was in its own separate room, so you don’t share with others at the same time.) The store/restaurant next door to Mountain House was handy and fun but closed at 2:30 pm.
Date of stay: February 2024
Room Tip: The kitchen has a big fridge, so if you’ll do a lot of cooking, bring groceries with you. The...
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Queen bed in bedroom of Cabin #3
Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
0.8 km from Mountain House, Arthur's Pass YHA
Free Wifi
Free parking
Twin Room Lodge
Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
  • Lol.travel
0.0 km from Mountain House, Arthur's Pass YHA
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
9.9 km from Mountain House, Arthur's Pass YHA
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
6.5 km from Mountain House, Arthur's Pass YHA
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
    11.5 km from Mountain House, Arthur's Pass YHA
    Free parking
    Booking.com
    • eDreams
    • Lol.travel
    19.8 km from Mountain House, Arthur's Pass YHA
    Free parking
    Booking.com
      0.0 km from Mountain House, Arthur's Pass YHA
      Booking.com
      • Priceline
      • Official Site
        $99
      • eDreams
      0.0 km from Mountain House, Arthur's Pass YHA
      Free parking
      Lovely large room
      Booking.com
      • Priceline
      • ZenHotels.com
        $90
      • Hotels.com
      41.1 km from Mountain House, Arthur's Pass YHA
      Free Wifi
      Free parking
      View more hotels in Arthur's Pass National Park
      Reviews (171)
      Filter reviews
      171 results
      Traveller rating
      95
      62
      12
      1
      1
      Traveller type
      Time of year
      LanguageAll languages
      More languages
      Traveller rating
      95
      62
      12
      1
      1
      See what travellers are saying:
      Selected filters
      Filter
      Updating list...
      3 - 8 of 171 reviews
      Reviewed 19 December 2023

      This was the best value stay of my South Island trip. Rooms were simple and really comfortable. Standard of cleanliness was excellent. Kitchen was large with adequate seating. Plenty of bathrooms which were in good condition. My private room was between two others and I could hear everything from neighbouring room. But as neighbours were respectful after 10 pm it wasn't an issue. Location was good and host, Tash, was contactable and helpful.

      Date of stay: December 2023
      • Trip type: Travelled solo
        • Value
        • Location
        • Service
      Thank nztraveller813
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      Reviewed 3 December 2023

      Such a well run lodge with all the facilities you could possibly need, and Tash, the hardworking manager couldn’t have been more helpful. Because there’s little available to purchase in Arthur’s Pass, we appreciated the free offerings in the communal kitchen to supplement our meals. Excellent base for TA walkers to slack pack Goat Pass & come back to a shower & a comfortable bed.

      Date of stay: December 2023
      • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
        • Value
        • Location
        • Service
      Thank Wendy W
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      Reviewed 14 November 2023 via mobile

      Good value private rooms and the sparkling clean shared bathroom was just a few steps away. Great chance to meet other guests at the shared kitchen, though the Lounge was more a backpackers hangout. Cafe/General store was good with a resident pair of keas happy to pose for photos . Visitor's Centre had latest weather conditions, good advice re walks and nice gifts.

      Date of stay: November 2023
      Trip type: Travelled solo
      Thank HafodBlueMountains
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      Reviewed 17 March 2020 via mobile

      We stayed here because all the motels were booked out, we are of an age where we choose to no longer share. Been there done that for decades.
      Ended up being fabulous.
      Spotlessly clean, extremely well equipped kitchen. Room was comfy. Showers were great. Other guests respectful and quiet.
      Owner was very prompt around responding to emails. Key was left for us as we arrived after hours and a note with it clearly explained what we needed to know.
      It was a great stay.

      Date of stay: March 2020
      Trip type: Travelled as a couple
      Thank JimW3254
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      Reviewed 12 January 2020

      The Mountain House is small (only one mixed dorm, rest private rooms), but the hostel is clean, well managed and in a great location. Wifi is good and the kitchen is huge, with a nice lounge on the second floor.

      The bathrooms and showers are a tad small but manageable and there is good parking in front of the building (and street parking available as well).

      Kitchen/bathrooms close for cleaning from 10am - 12pm but if you plan ahead, it's not an issue.

      Location is right in the middle of the park, 35 minutes to Castle Hill (or from there), 10 minute walk to Devil's Punchbowl and about 10 minutes to the Otira Valley track. Great place to stop and hike or stay overnight as you move east/west.

      Would definitely stay again. Dorms book up very quickly so reserve ahead, private rooms are pricey for location but an option.

      Date of stay: January 2020
      Thank Bayjb
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      View more reviews