We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing all round experience”

Arthurs Pass Cafe & Store
Price range: $5 - $2,000
Description: Hi - we'd love you to call in on your journey between Christchurch and the West Coast - Greymouth, Hokitika or Glaciers. On the left heading west - we cater for quick meals, great coffees or take your time with the breakfast or lunch menu. Lots of seating. We are also the local grocery store, and offer on-off licence and Petrol and diesel.
Restaurant details
Description: Hi - we'd love you to call in on your journey between Christchurch and the West Coast - Greymouth, Hokitika or Glaciers. On the left heading west - we cater for quick meals, great coffees or take your time with the breakfast or lunch menu. Lots of seating. We are also the local grocery store, and offer on-off licence and Petrol and diesel.
Reviewed 26 April 2024 via mobile

0.5 - first time I have given something a 0.5 star review. We stopped in for a quick bite, they were really busy and working hard however- their service was terrible and the food was awful and very expensive. Half filled bottles of cold soggy chips, soggy microwaved panini, they yelled at my son when he went up to get a pie and told him to go away. I Would avoid this cafe and take a packed lunch.

Date of visit: April 2024
Thank Voyage36858126120
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (238)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3 - 7 of 238 reviews

Reviewed 26 March 2024 via mobile

Traveling from Hokitaki to Christchurch we always stop here for a coffee and the best cheese rolls in New Zealand 10/10 and I've tried many.
Plus heaps of other food options to suit all taste buds.
Well worth the stop even just to see the cheeky Keas that call the Arthur's Pass Store their second home.

Date of visit: March 2024
Thank Waynedvh
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 25 March 2024 via mobile

Nice enough. Good little selecrion of things, coffee was ok, place was nice and tidy. No keas that morning. You pay a bit more up there on the mountain.

Date of visit: March 2024
Thank Dale J
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 13 March 2024

My mum and I ate here a couple of times as it was the only place still trading when we stayed overnight in Arthur's Pass The chicken pie was fantastic and we enjoyed our eggs benedict. The fresh fruit and hiking snacks are high quality. There is a also a good selection of souvenirs. If sitting outside guard your food closely as we saw people losing their food to the cheeky kea. They are so much fun to watch.

Date of visit: November 2023
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Wanderlustz123
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 24 February 2024

We were just here for a brief refreshment stop. We sat outside with a view of the mountains while we ate an ice-cream. There were a number of native parrots, I think Kea, lurking, looking for an opportunity to grab your food.

Date of visit: February 2024
Thank evets1232016
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed Arthurs Pass Cafe & Store also viewed

Arthur's Pass National Park, Canterbury Region

Been to Arthurs Pass Cafe & Store? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in New Zealand. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.