We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
Expedia.com
ZenHotels.com
$162
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Martin L

Amazing location

4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 29 Mar 2024
Located high in the mountains, this hotel/ motel has great views all around. The chalet style rooms are small but adequate and have picture window views down the valley. Food is served in the main building and dinner was excellent. The buffet continental breakfast was also pretty good. The remote location makes attracting staff difficult so you need to be patient while waiting to be served.
Date of stay: March 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Queen bed in bedroom of Cabin #3
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $131
  • Hotels.com
9.1 km from The Bealey Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
    1.9 km from The Bealey Hotel
    Free parking
    Booking.com
    • Official Site
      $99
    • Priceline
    • eDreams
    9.9 km from The Bealey Hotel
    Free parking
    Twin Room Lodge
    Booking.com
    • Priceline
    • eDreams
    • Lol.travel
    9.9 km from The Bealey Hotel
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    Booking.com
    • eDreams
    • Lol.travel
    11.6 km from The Bealey Hotel
    Free parking
    Booking.com
    • Priceline
    • Agoda.com
    16.2 km from The Bealey Hotel
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    Booking.com
      9.9 km from The Bealey Hotel
      Booking.com
      • Expedia.com
      • ZenHotels.com
        $162
      • Hotels.com
      0.0 km from The Bealey Hotel
      Free Wifi
      Free parking
      Holiday Park
      Booking.com
      $48
      Fully refundable
      • Priceline
      • Agoda.com
      31.9 km from The Bealey Hotel
      Free parking
      View more hotels in Arthur's Pass National Park
      Reviews (298)
      Filter reviews
      298 results
      Traveller rating
      102
      78
      62
      39
      17
      Traveller type
      Time of year
      LanguageAll languages
      More languages
      Traveller rating
      102
      78
      62
      39
      17
      Show reviews that mention
      All reviews restaurant bar arthur's pass spa pool waimakariri river take your breath away spectacular views great stopover stayed for one night small balcony bed was comfortable snow capped mountains southern alps franz josef lamb moa bealey valley
      Selected filters
      Filter
      Updating list...
      2 - 7 of 298 reviews
      Reviewed 25 March 2024

      Arrived at Arthur's Pass by the Tranz Alpine Rail. My husband and I were met at the station and taken to the Bealey Hotel by mini bus. About a 10 minute drive.
      Stayed one night at the Bealey Hotel and the view from our room (No. 7) was spectacular. The room decor was pleasant, quiet and the bed comfy. A continental breakfast was included.
      Enjoyed a lovey dinner at the Hotel with a view of the valley.

      Room tip: This hotel is located about a 10 minute drive out of Arthur's Pass and would be a great stop over if you have a vehicle.
      Date of stay: February 2024
      • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
        • Value
        • Location
        • Service
      Thank Trippax2
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      Reviewed 20 March 2024

      Really enjoyed our stay at the Bealey hotel. Booked the room with private balcony and spa and enjoyed the view of the mountains while in the spa. Bed was extremely comfortable and dinner was good. (extra charge) Breakfast left a little to be desired as it was very basic. I found the manager team to be helpful but the two young women working there were pretty clueless. On check in the first one couldn't find the key and had to seek help. On checkout the second one couldn't find the lunch we had ordered and paid for. Overall we enjoyed our stay.

      Room tip: Make a reservation in advance for dinner. Breakfast is a cold buffet.
      Date of stay: March 2024
      • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
        • Value
        • Location
        • Service
      Thank Traveling_Fool_2011
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      Reviewed 19 March 2024

      We stopped over at The Bealey for the night on our way to Mt. Cook. I'm glad we only spent one night here. We booked a Superior Villa that included our "own private deck with an outdoor spa pool." No one who walked out onto our filthy deck and looked at the old, very worn shell of our hot tub would ever use the word "spa." We didn't even open it because it looked so gross. The deck was full of spider webs and was in disrepair. The room itself was fine and appropriate for the price point. The bathroom had clearly been redone and was very nice. The bed, comforter, and pillows were very comfortable. The tv screen was a bit larger than our laptop so we opted to not watch their tv. Breakfast was included but it was barely a continental breakfast. Everything must be paid for separately- there is no way to charge anything to the room.

      Date of stay: March 2024
      • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
        • Value
        • Location
        • Service
      Thank Shampeu
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      Reviewed 10 March 2024 via mobile

      We arrived at 6:30, heard them tell a couple in front of us that the next dinner reservation was going to be 8:30. We checked in for our room and they told us we also had a dinner reservation for 7:00 as a courtesy. Wow. The room was very large and had a fabulous view Breakfast was included too! The food was delicious and the staff was so friendly.

      Room tip: Check in is at the restaurant so don’t bring your suitcase in like we did. Lol
      Date of stay: March 2024
      Trip type: Travelled as a couple
      Thank X1516HDfceteacher
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      Reviewed 24 February 2024 via mobile

      Well located hotel on Arthur’s Pass. Room was clean and practical albeit a little tired and in need of modernising. Ideal for a one night stay but no longer.

      Nice view from the room.

      Staff were really friendly and the food we had in the restaurant was decent.

      Date of stay: February 2024
      Trip type: Travelled as a couple
      Thank PaintingitRed
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      View more reviews