We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Booking.com
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveling_Fool_2011
Melbourne, Australia

Nice private room and good dinner

4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 20 Mar 2024
Really enjoyed our stay at the Bealey hotel. Booked the room with private balcony and spa and enjoyed the view of the mountains while in the spa. Bed was extremely comfortable and dinner was good. (extra charge) Breakfast left a little to be desired as it was very basic. I found the manager team to be helpful but the two young women working there were pretty clueless. On check in the first one couldn't find the key and had to seek help. On checkout the second one couldn't find the lunch we had ordered and paid for. Overall we enjoyed our stay.
Date of stay: March 2024
Room Tip: Make a reservation in advance for dinner. Breakfast is a cold buffet.
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Queen bed in bedroom of Cabin #3
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
9.1 km from The Bealey Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
    1.9 km from The Bealey Hotel
    Free parking
    Booking.com
    • Official Site
      $99
    • Priceline
    • eDreams
    9.9 km from The Bealey Hotel
    Free parking
    Twin Room Lodge
    Booking.com
    • Priceline
    • eDreams
    • Agoda.com
    9.9 km from The Bealey Hotel
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    Booking.com
    • eDreams
    • Lol.travel
    11.6 km from The Bealey Hotel
    Free parking
    Booking.com
    • Priceline
    • Agoda.com
    16.2 km from The Bealey Hotel
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    Booking.com
      9.9 km from The Bealey Hotel
      Lovely large room
      Priceline
      $90
      Fully refundable
      Go to your Happy Price
      • Hotels.com
        $90
      • Vio.com
        $62
      • Agoda.com
        $179
      50.8 km from The Bealey Hotel
      Free Wifi
      Free parking
      Expedia.com
      Get rewarded with One Key
      • Booking.com
      • ZenHotels.com
        $129
      • Hotels.com
      51.8 km from The Bealey Hotel
      Free Wifi
      Free parking
      Expedia.com
      Get rewarded with One Key
      • Booking.com
      • ZenHotels.com
        $162
      • Hotels.com
      55.4 km from The Bealey Hotel
      Free parking
      Restaurant
      View more hotels in Arthur's Pass National Park
      Reviews (298)
      Filter reviews
      298 results
      Traveller rating
      102
      78
      62
      39
      17
      Traveller type
      Time of year
      LanguageAll languages
      More languages
      Traveller rating
      102
      78
      62
      39
      17
      Show reviews that mention
      All reviews restaurant bar arthur's pass spa pool waimakariri river take your breath away spectacular views great stopover stayed for one night small balcony bed was comfortable snow capped mountains southern alps franz josef lamb moa bealey valley
      Selected filters
      Filter
      Updating list...
      4 - 9 of 298 reviews
      Reviewed 19 March 2024

      We stopped over at The Bealey for the night on our way to Mt. Cook. I'm glad we only spent one night here. We booked a Superior Villa that included our "own private deck with an outdoor spa pool." No one who walked out onto our filthy deck and looked at the old, very worn shell of our hot tub would ever use the word "spa." We didn't even open it because it looked so gross. The deck was full of spider webs and was in disrepair. The room itself was fine and appropriate for the price point. The bathroom had clearly been redone and was very nice. The bed, comforter, and pillows were very comfortable. The tv screen was a bit larger than our laptop so we opted to not watch their tv. Breakfast was included but it was barely a continental breakfast. Everything must be paid for separately- there is no way to charge anything to the room.

      Date of stay: March 2024
      • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
        • Value
        • Location
        • Service
      Thank Shampeu
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      Reviewed 10 March 2024 via mobile

      We arrived at 6:30, heard them tell a couple in front of us that the next dinner reservation was going to be 8:30. We checked in for our room and they told us we also had a dinner reservation for 7:00 as a courtesy. Wow. The room was very large and had a fabulous view Breakfast was included too! The food was delicious and the staff was so friendly.

      Room tip: Check in is at the restaurant so don’t bring your suitcase in like we did. Lol
      Date of stay: March 2024
      Trip type: Travelled as a couple
      Thank X1516HDfceteacher
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      Reviewed 24 February 2024 via mobile

      Well located hotel on Arthur’s Pass. Room was clean and practical albeit a little tired and in need of modernising. Ideal for a one night stay but no longer.

      Nice view from the room.

      Staff were really friendly and the food we had in the restaurant was decent.

      Date of stay: February 2024
      Trip type: Travelled as a couple
      Thank PaintingitRed
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      Reviewed 8 December 2023 via mobile

      First time arrived the experience and service were excellent by the two girls which were friendly and cheerful. Next morning because my daughter couldn’t sleep well and had a hard time waking her and we reached the breakfast restaurant before 10am the manager locked the restaurant door. Started moving our luggage and almost done by 10.30am the manager calling chased us to check out lol! Come on late by 30min you want to charge us $25 ??? Is not like you have guest waiting in the lobby to checking and your hotel rooms are full. The staff service saved the rating if not I will give 1 star rating. The manager service was bad and the impression he gave I thought he owned the hotel that’s why have this kind of attitude. Even if you are business owner shouldn’t you give better service to improve and grow your business.

      Room tip: Go breakfast early if not the manager will lock the restaurant. And check out by 10am if not you be charge for late checkout.
      Date of stay: December 2023
      Trip type: Travelled with family
      Thank kinokeen
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      Sharon Livingston, General Manager at The Bealey Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 December 2023

      Hello

      Breakfast is open from 8am - 10am, the doors that day were locked at 10am as they are every day, you arrived after 10am for breakfast. We are sorry to hear your daughter did not sleep well, however if you had called us and advised you were running late and needed a bit of extra time to vacate your room, that would have been fine, when it gets to 10.30am with no communication this is now considered a late check. Our policy is 10am checkout, in future I suggest ringing the front desk to advise them you are running late.

      Thank you

      Report response as inappropriate
      This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
      Reviewed 18 June 2023

      We open the door to our villa, walked through the warm lounge to a balcony where we enjoyed views of the river and scenic valley. There was plenty of room to relax and spread out, and everything was clean and to be expected. The bed was comfortable and I slept well. We had breakfast delivered to the room to help with our early morning start. The evening meal at the Crafty Moa was sensational - at the time of booking the room we were also advised to reserve a table for dinner - suggest you check with the staff in case this is still the case.

      Room tip: A really nice addition was a coffee plunger and ground coffee sachets which I think was a New Zealand brand. It was a nice to wake up to!
      Date of stay: June 2023
      • Trip type: Travelled with family
        • Value
        • Location
        • Service
      Thank RodCee300
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      View more reviews