We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
fceteacher

Amazing place to stay

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 9 Mar 2024via mobile
We arrived at 6:30, heard them tell a couple in front of us that the next dinner reservation was going to be 8:30. We checked in for our room and they told us we also had a dinner reservation for 7:00 as a courtesy. Wow. The room was very large and had a fabulous view Breakfast was included too! The food was delicious and the staff was so friendly.
Date of stay: March 2024
Room Tip: Check in is at the restaurant so don’t bring your suitcase in like we did. Lol
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Queen bed in bedroom of Cabin #3
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    $145
  • Priceline
  • Hotels.com
    $145
9.1 km from The Bealey Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Twin Room Lodge
$190
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
    $190
  • ZenHotels.com
9.9 km from The Bealey Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Priceline
  • Vio.com
  • Booking.com
9.9 km from The Bealey Hotel
Free parking
$125
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
16.2 km from The Bealey Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    $215
  • Priceline
  • ZenHotels.com
    $244
0.0 km from The Bealey Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Natural Ice-skating ring
$119
  • Priceline
  • Vio.com
  • Agoda.com
18.0 km from The Bealey Hotel
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    $172
  • Priceline
  • Hotels.com
    $172
28.6 km from The Bealey Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Lovely large room
$90
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
  • ZenHotels.com
    $89
  • Agoda.com
    $290
50.8 km from The Bealey Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    $130
  • Hotels.com
    $128
  • Priceline
51.8 km from The Bealey Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Theatre Royal Hotel
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    $181
  • Hotels.com
    $170
  • Priceline
55.4 km from The Bealey Hotel
Free parking
Restaurant
View more hotels in Arthur's Pass National Park
Reviews (298)
Filter reviews
298 results
Traveller rating
102
78
62
39
17
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
102
78
62
39
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviews restaurant bar arthur's pass spa pool waimakariri river take your breath away spectacular views great stopover stayed for one night small balcony bed was comfortable snow capped mountains southern alps franz josef lamb moa bealey valley
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 298 reviews
Reviewed 24 February 2024 via mobile

Well located hotel on Arthur’s Pass. Room was clean and practical albeit a little tired and in need of modernising. Ideal for a one night stay but no longer.

Nice view from the room.

Staff were really friendly and the food we had in the restaurant was decent.

Date of stay: February 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank PaintingitRed
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 8 December 2023 via mobile

First time arrived the experience and service were excellent by the two girls which were friendly and cheerful. Next morning because my daughter couldn’t sleep well and had a hard time waking her and we reached the breakfast restaurant before 10am the manager locked the restaurant door. Started moving our luggage and almost done by 10.30am the manager calling chased us to check out lol! Come on late by 30min you want to charge us $25 ??? Is not like you have guest waiting in the lobby to checking and your hotel rooms are full. The staff service saved the rating if not I will give 1 star rating. The manager service was bad and the impression he gave I thought he owned the hotel that’s why have this kind of attitude. Even if you are business owner shouldn’t you give better service to improve and grow your business.

Room tip: Go breakfast early if not the manager will lock the restaurant. And check out by 10am if not you be charge for late checkout.
Date of stay: December 2023
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank kinokeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Sharon Livingston, General Manager at The Bealey Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 December 2023

Hello

Breakfast is open from 8am - 10am, the doors that day were locked at 10am as they are every day, you arrived after 10am for breakfast. We are sorry to hear your daughter did not sleep well, however if you had called us and advised you were running late and needed a bit of extra time to vacate your room, that would have been fine, when it gets to 10.30am with no communication this is now considered a late check. Our policy is 10am checkout, in future I suggest ringing the front desk to advise them you are running late.

Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2023

We open the door to our villa, walked through the warm lounge to a balcony where we enjoyed views of the river and scenic valley. There was plenty of room to relax and spread out, and everything was clean and to be expected. The bed was comfortable and I slept well. We had breakfast delivered to the room to help with our early morning start. The evening meal at the Crafty Moa was sensational - at the time of booking the room we were also advised to reserve a table for dinner - suggest you check with the staff in case this is still the case.

Room tip: A really nice addition was a coffee plunger and ground coffee sachets which I think was a New Zealand brand. It was a nice to wake up to!
Date of stay: June 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank RodCee300
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 21 March 2023

The hotel is in the middle of Arthur's pass. Room was modern and clean and well equipped.
Free continental breakfast was provided but was very disappointing. Yoghurt was starting to ferment and some slices of bread were mouldy.
Due to its rural location they had to provide and option for breakfast, but it felt like they were trying to do it as cheaply as possible and it spoilt the overall experience at what was otherwise a lovely hotel.

Date of stay: March 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Remmy5
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Matthew Hawkes, General Manager at The Bealey Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2023

Hi Remmy5,
Really sorry to hear of your experience at breakfast. Being remote with limited access to suppliers can cause some issues, but the team usually manages those successfully. We try to install in all our staff that breakfast is our last opportunity to show the guests we care about their experience so I feel really let down to hear about your feed back. I will have a chat to the team about your experience and look how we can make sure it doesn't happen again.
Many thanks,
Matty

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2023

There was an extra special mountain and braided river view from our comfortable clean room with nice decor.
We had a good pub meal with excellent frendly service and then enjoyed the complimentary breakfast in the morning.
I Would definitely recommend staying here.

Date of stay: February 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Janna5r
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews