We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Booking.com
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
PaintingitRed
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Good location, basic accommodation
3.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 23 Feb 2024via mobile
Well located hotel on Arthur’s Pass. Room was clean and practical albeit a little tired and in need of modernising. Ideal for a one night stay but no longer.

Nice view from the room.

Staff were really friendly and the food we had in the restaurant was decent.
Date of stay: February 2024Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Queen bed in bedroom of Cabin #3
Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $137
  • Hotels.com
9.1 km from The Bealey Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • eDreams
  • Priceline
  • Lol.travel
9.9 km from The Bealey Hotel
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Agoda.com
1.9 km from The Bealey Hotel
Free parking
Twin Room Lodge
Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
  • Agoda.com
9.9 km from The Bealey Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • eDreams
  • Lol.travel
11.6 km from The Bealey Hotel
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
16.2 km from The Bealey Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
    9.9 km from The Bealey Hotel
    Holiday Park
    Booking.com
    $48
    • Priceline
    • Agoda.com
    31.9 km from The Bealey Hotel
    Free parking
    Tripadvisor
    $110
    Fully refundable
    • Booking.com
    • Hotels.com
    • Priceline
    51.8 km from The Bealey Hotel
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    View more hotels in Arthur's Pass National Park
    Reviews (297)
    Filter reviews
    297 results
    Traveller rating
    102
    78
    61
    39
    17
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    More languages
    Traveller rating
    102
    78
    61
    39
    17
    Show reviews that mention
    All reviews restaurant bar arthur's pass spa pool waimakariri river take your breath away spectacular views great stopover stayed for one night small balcony bed was comfortable snow capped mountains southern alps franz josef lamb moa bealey valley
    Selected filters
    Filter
    Updating list...
    6 - 11 of 297 reviews
    Reviewed 8 December 2023 via mobile

    First time arrived the experience and service were excellent by the two girls which were friendly and cheerful. Next morning because my daughter couldn’t sleep well and had a hard time waking her and we reached the breakfast restaurant before 10am the manager locked the restaurant door. Started moving our luggage and almost done by 10.30am the manager calling chased us to check out lol! Come on late by 30min you want to charge us $25 ??? Is not like you have guest waiting in the lobby to checking and your hotel rooms are full. The staff service saved the rating if not I will give 1 star rating. The manager service was bad and the impression he gave I thought he owned the hotel that’s why have this kind of attitude. Even if you are business owner shouldn’t you give better service to improve and grow your business.

    Room tip: Go breakfast early if not the manager will lock the restaurant. And check out by 10am if not you be charge for late checkout.
    Date of stay: December 2023
    Trip type: Travelled with family
    Thank kinokeen
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Sharon Livingston, General Manager at The Bealey Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 December 2023

    Hello

    Breakfast is open from 8am - 10am, the doors that day were locked at 10am as they are every day, you arrived after 10am for breakfast. We are sorry to hear your daughter did not sleep well, however if you had called us and advised you were running late and needed a bit of extra time to vacate your room, that would have been fine, when it gets to 10.30am with no communication this is now considered a late check. Our policy is 10am checkout, in future I suggest ringing the front desk to advise them you are running late.

    Thank you

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 18 June 2023

    We open the door to our villa, walked through the warm lounge to a balcony where we enjoyed views of the river and scenic valley. There was plenty of room to relax and spread out, and everything was clean and to be expected. The bed was comfortable and I slept well. We had breakfast delivered to the room to help with our early morning start. The evening meal at the Crafty Moa was sensational - at the time of booking the room we were also advised to reserve a table for dinner - suggest you check with the staff in case this is still the case.

    Room tip: A really nice addition was a coffee plunger and ground coffee sachets which I think was a New Zealand brand. It was a nice to wake up to!
    Date of stay: June 2023
    • Trip type: Travelled with family
      • Value
      • Location
      • Service
    Thank RodCee300
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 21 March 2023

    The hotel is in the middle of Arthur's pass. Room was modern and clean and well equipped.
    Free continental breakfast was provided but was very disappointing. Yoghurt was starting to ferment and some slices of bread were mouldy.
    Due to its rural location they had to provide and option for breakfast, but it felt like they were trying to do it as cheaply as possible and it spoilt the overall experience at what was otherwise a lovely hotel.

    Date of stay: March 2023
    • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Service
    1  Thank Remmy5
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Matthew Hawkes, General Manager at The Bealey Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2023

    Hi Remmy5,
    Really sorry to hear of your experience at breakfast. Being remote with limited access to suppliers can cause some issues, but the team usually manages those successfully. We try to install in all our staff that breakfast is our last opportunity to show the guests we care about their experience so I feel really let down to hear about your feed back. I will have a chat to the team about your experience and look how we can make sure it doesn't happen again.
    Many thanks,
    Matty

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 15 March 2023

    There was an extra special mountain and braided river view from our comfortable clean room with nice decor.
    We had a good pub meal with excellent frendly service and then enjoyed the complimentary breakfast in the morning.
    I Would definitely recommend staying here.

    Date of stay: February 2023
    • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Service
    Thank Janna5r
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 26 February 2023

    A great location if you are looking for somewhere to stay along the beautiful journey between Christchurch and Greymouth. We stayed for one night, in room 1 which also has a spa pool. The room was very spacious and comfortable and well furnished - nice shower and bathroom too. Fabulous views.
    Breakfast is continental style - I wouldn’t describe it as the hotels best feature but it’s perfectly acceptable to set you up for the day ahead. Evening meal was included in our booking - that was delicious- we just loved the fruit crumble dessert!
    There are a number of signs around the hotel advising about staff shortage and being kind and respectful to the staff on duty. Such a shame this is necessary - we felt very well looked after by the team at The Bealey and send our thanks and best wishes to all.

    Date of stay: January 2023
    • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Service
    Thank Jane P
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    View more reviews