We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
$175
Fully refundable before Thu, 6 Jun
Breakfast included
Priceline
Go to your Happy Price
Expedia.com
$172
Fully refundable before Fri, 7 Jun
Breakfast included
Get rewarded with One Key
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
mei_jars
Auckland Central, New Zealand

Lovely gem, stunning views

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 25 Oct 2020
We stayed here for 2 nights to explore the area. What an absolute gem of a place! Our room was Villa 1 - tucked right in the corner so we had uninterrupted views of the mountains and river. The room was spacious, clean and had great amenities. We enjoyed the warmth of the heat pump in the evenings and the hot showers after a long day of walking. The spa pool was definitely the highlight - completely private with incredible views. Watching the sky change colour as the sun went down plus a spot of stargazing when it was dark... It was an absolute treat! The location is just a short drive away from Arthur's Pass Village so it was lovely and quiet - just what we needed for a good night's sleep.

The restaurant Crafty Moa is also fantastic. Only one chef so be prepared to wait, but well worth it. Good honest food served by friendly staff. Kirsty was an amazing host - she was always warm and welcoming despite being rushed off her feet. We were truly spoilt.

I cannot recommend this place enough if you're visiting Arthur's Pass. One night is definitely not enough in this beautiful part of NZ. Thanks once again to Kirsty, Matty and the hardworking team at Bealey Hotel. We hope to see you guys again.
Date of stay: October 2020
Room Tip: Villa 1 for best views and spa pool
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Queen bed in bedroom of Cabin #3
Booking.com
$135
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
    $133
  • Agoda.com
    $112
  • Priceline
9.1 km from The Bealey Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Twin Room Lodge
Booking.com
$190
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
  • ZenHotels.com
  • eDreams
    $190
9.9 km from The Bealey Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$109
Fully refundable
  • Official Site
    $99
  • Priceline
  • Vio.com
9.9 km from The Bealey Hotel
Free parking
Booking.com
$125
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
16.2 km from The Bealey Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
    9.9 km from The Bealey Hotel
    Booking.com
    $175
    Fully refundable
    • Priceline
    • Expedia.com
      $172
    • Hotels.com
      $178
    0.0 km from The Bealey Hotel
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    Booking.com
    $115
    Fully refundable
    No prepayment needed
    • Priceline
    • Vio.com
    • eDreams
      $115
    21.5 km from The Bealey Hotel
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    Booking.com
    $48
    Fully refundable
    • Priceline
    • Agoda.com
    31.9 km from The Bealey Hotel
    Free parking
    Booking.com
    $119
    • Priceline
    • Vio.com
    • Agoda.com
    18.0 km from The Bealey Hotel
    Booking.com
    $551
    • Priceline
    • eDreams
      $551
    • Lol.travel
    46.0 km from The Bealey Hotel
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    View more hotels in Arthur's Pass National Park
    Reviews (298)
    Filter reviews
    298 results
    Traveller rating
    102
    78
    62
    39
    17
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    More languages
    Traveller rating
    102
    78
    62
    39
    17
    Show reviews that mention
    All reviews restaurant bar arthur's pass spa pool waimakariri river take your breath away spectacular views great stopover stayed for one night small balcony bed was comfortable snow capped mountains southern alps franz josef lamb moa bealey valley
    Selected filters
    Filter
    Updating list...
    46 - 51 of 298 reviews
    Reviewed 23 October 2020 via mobile

    One night stay, we had a view of a digger from our room, not the mountains, and had to close our curtains as they were staring straight at us, so we lost most of the view. Kitchen was locked and we had no access. Restaurant closed on a Friday morning so no breakfast. Probably won’t be back.

    Date of stay: October 2020
    Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    Thank TheTwoKs
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Matthew Hawkes, General Manager at The Bealey Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2020

    Hi TwoKs,
    Thanks for taking the time to leave feed back. Sorry you stay wasn't as enjoyable as we tried to make it. The diggers are an unfortunate side affect of the Power companies changing out power poles. Its really frustrating because there are working on land right next to the Hotel. We managed to negotiate a later starting time so you weren't disturbed too early in the morning but very little we can do about the machinery sorry about that. There are breakfast options, they would have been explained at check in and the options are also in the room compendium. apologies if that was not make clear when you checked in. As with most hotels we do not provide a kitchen or cooking facilities, we have staff on duty to be able to provide Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner options. Again all of those options are explained in the room compendium. The kitchen you are referring to must be the shared kitchen in the moa lodge, that facility is only available to guests staying in the Lodge not to Hotel guests, the kitchen is not big enough for everyone. If you do decide to come back, let us take care of all of your food requirements, its all here, just ask.
    Many thanks
    Matty and Kirsty

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 16 October 2020 via mobile

    We stayed here for 4 nights so that we could do some walks in the area. The room was comfortable and clean with good services and a lovely view down the river valley to the mountains. Kirsty is a wonderful host and we enjoyed her company. The meals were typical pub food but there was something on the menu every night to keep us all happy.

    Date of stay: October 2020
    Trip type: Travelled with friends
    Thank terrydeb22
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 13 October 2020

    Very clean well equipped room. Good pub food and helpful service. Recommended as a great stopover when crossing the island. Walks are easily accessible and alpine views appealing. There is good free internet reception and ample parking.

    Date of stay: October 2020
    Thank David T
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 25 September 2020 via mobile

    Amazing views from the rooms. Kirsty was such a great hoestess with the mostest. A true professional with southern charm and hospitality that took time out to get to know us. Food was great and the rooms had an amazing bed with modern touches that made the stay very special

    Date of stay: September 2020
    Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    Thank Vacation56353659257
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 14 August 2020 via mobile

    We stayed at The Bealey on 11August 2020. Just called in and were lucky to get a room. But so glad we did. We had Villa 5 which had a cute little balcony looking down the valley, beautiful outlook.
    Our room had a very comfortable king bed, there was also a single in the room. Totally refurbished room & bathroom really lovely.
    We had dinner at the hotel which was delicious.
    Owners are very welcoming and friendly.

    Date of stay: August 2020
    Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    Thank sandral631
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    View more reviews