We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Maddy H

Warm and friendly. Great alpine visit.

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 29 Apr 2024
We felt welcome right from the start with friendly staff and the motel all warm on that cool alpine afternoon. Their introductory email pointed out that we needed to bring our own supplies unless we were eating out. There was milk in our fridge and teabags etc. Cooking and washing up was fun. The village and views are a great holiday place. Thanks!
Date of stay: March 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
$109
Fully refundable
  • Official Site
    $99
  • Priceline
  • Vio.com
0.8 km from Arthur's Pass Alpine Motel
Free parking
Twin Room Lodge
$190
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
    $190
  • Agoda.com
0.8 km from Arthur's Pass Alpine Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
$215
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    $250
  • Priceline
  • Hotels.com
    $275
9.1 km from Arthur's Pass Alpine Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Go to your Happy Price
  • Booking.com
  • Agoda.com
7.3 km from Arthur's Pass Alpine Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Queen bed in bedroom of Cabin #3
$135
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    $134
  • Agoda.com
    $123
  • Hotels.com
    $134
0.0 km from Arthur's Pass Alpine Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Holiday Park
$48
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    $48
  • Agoda.com
23.0 km from Arthur's Pass Alpine Motel
Free parking
Natural Ice-skating ring
$119
  • Priceline
  • Vio.com
  • Agoda.com
27.1 km from Arthur's Pass Alpine Motel
Lake Brunner Lodge
$551
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
    $551
  • ZenHotels.com
36.9 km from Arthur's Pass Alpine Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
$229
No prepayment needed
  • Tripadvisor
    $206
  • Priceline
  • Expedia.com
    $206
37.5 km from Arthur's Pass Alpine Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Lovely large room
  • Priceline
  • Trip.com
    $65
  • Agoda.com
    $290
41.9 km from Arthur's Pass Alpine Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Arthur's Pass National Park
Reviews (379)
Filter reviews
379 results
Traveller rating
190
145
39
4
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
190
145
39
4
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews arthur's pass the owner one night separate bedroom wobbly kea helpful hosts great place to stay comfortable bed the kitchen living area couple of nights great shower the pub pete cabin heater village
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 379 reviews
Reviewed 4 April 2024 via mobile

The hotel was lovely and quiet (we had a family unit). The Queen bed was the most horrible bed I have ever felt in my life. Usually I can sleep anywhere, I can even sleep on the ground, oh but this bed……. It felt like it was 50years old, lumpy yet saggy. Please spend a few hundred and buy a new mattress. I ended up sleeping in one of the single beds.

Date of stay: April 2024
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank avagraceisace
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Peter Neale, Owner at Arthur's Pass Alpine Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2024

Thanks for your review. Sorry you felt the bed was uncomfortable. The oldest bed we have is less than 5 years old, as we have replaced all beds in the last 5 years. Plus we have mattress toppers on all beds to make them even cosier. We'll try and work out which room you were in and double check that it's still ok.
Thanks, Pete and Fi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2024

This was a great little stop over, super clean and kitchen well equipped.
Great location, close to lots of walks and Fi & Pete were very knowledgeable about the local area. Both were willing to help any way possible. Would recommend to anyone looking to stay in Arthur’s Pass!

Date of stay: March 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Fiona M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 7 March 2024

We had a great time during our stay. Motel was easy to find, as it's just by the roadside towards Arthur's Pass Town.
Motel was cozy and clean. Nice view from our balcony. Convenient location.
Went during winter, the heater in the room was just nice and gives us a cozy, warm feeling.

Date of stay: June 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank lydiayusran
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 29 January 2024 via mobile

This is a great location in Arthur's Pass Village.
Friendly hosts. Basic accommodation but well equipped and clean. The real problem is the paper thin walls so sound travels from one accommodation to the next. Would not stay again for that reason.

Date of stay: January 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank annpQ3469NV
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 6 December 2023

I was warmely welcomed by Pete the owner who was helpful getting me set up, giving me tips and directions to the hiking trails. I received a heads up email a few days before my stay about the resticted food choices in town which was also very helpful. Cottage 9 was really big with 3 beds in an upstairs room, a vast living / dinning room with full kitchen and large bedroom. The only problem if you have enough people to fill all the beds you are still left with a single bathroom. The place was clean but could use a serious refresh, the furniture and equipment are very dated except for the windows and doors that have been upgraded. A good coat of paint would help in some area and most importantly the mattress, that will make or break your stay...... definitely broke me. Hard as a rock with a pronounced sagging, felt like an old 20 old matress, I ended up sleeping on the large sofa where I finally got a couple hours of sleep. The other thing that I've noticed that needed attention was the back and front porch, both full of spider web. (see pics).
Separate from the Alpine Motel review here are a few observations about the town/location. There's not much to do in Franz Joseph and my recommendations is one night only if you have to, unless you are doing the long 8hrs trails. Lacks food options, isolated, plan accordingly.

Date of stay: November 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank door2doorwithSam
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews