We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
ZenHotels.com
$128
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
avagraceisace
Cairns, Australia

Lovely hotel, horrible bed!

4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 3 Apr 2024via mobile
The hotel was lovely and quiet (we had a family unit). The Queen bed was the most horrible bed I have ever felt in my life. Usually I can sleep anywhere, I can even sleep on the ground, oh but this bed……. It felt like it was 50years old, lumpy yet saggy. Please spend a few hundred and buy a new mattress. I ended up sleeping in one of the single beds.
Date of stay: April 2024
Trip type: Travelled with family
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Peter Neale, Owner at Arthur's Pass Alpine Motel, responded to this review
Responded 4 Apr 2024
Thanks for your review. Sorry you felt the bed was uncomfortable. The oldest bed we have is less than 5 years old, as we have replaced all beds in the last 5 years. Plus we have mattress toppers on all beds to make them even cosier. We'll try and work out which room you were in and double check that it's still ok.
Thanks, Pete and Fi
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • Official Site
  • eDreams
0.8 km from Arthur's Pass Alpine Motel
Free parking
Twin Room Lodge
Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
  • Agoda.com
0.8 km from Arthur's Pass Alpine Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $161
  • Hotels.com
9.1 km from Arthur's Pass Alpine Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
7.3 km from Arthur's Pass Alpine Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • eDreams
  • Lol.travel
19.1 km from Arthur's Pass Alpine Motel
Free parking
Booking.com
    10.7 km from Arthur's Pass Alpine Motel
    Free parking
    Booking.com
      0.8 km from Arthur's Pass Alpine Motel
      Queen bed in bedroom of Cabin #3
      Booking.com
      • Expedia.com
      • ZenHotels.com
        $128
      • Hotels.com
      0.0 km from Arthur's Pass Alpine Motel
      Free Wifi
      Free parking
      Lovely large room
      Booking.com
      • Priceline
      • ZenHotels.com
        $89
      • Hotels.com
      41.9 km from Arthur's Pass Alpine Motel
      Free Wifi
      Free parking
      Tripadvisor
      $171
      Fully refundable
      • Hotels.com
      • Booking.com
      • Priceline
      46.7 km from Arthur's Pass Alpine Motel
      Free parking
      Restaurant
      View more hotels in Arthur's Pass National Park
      Reviews (378)
      Filter reviews
      378 results
      Traveller rating
      189
      145
      39
      4
      1
      Traveller type
      Time of year
      LanguageAll languages
      More languages
      Traveller rating
      189
      145
      39
      4
      1
      Show reviews that mention
      All reviews arthur's pass the owner one night separate bedroom wobbly kea helpful hosts great place to stay comfortable bed the kitchen living area couple of nights great shower the pub pete cabin heater village
      Selected filters
      Filter
      Updating list...
      2 - 7 of 378 reviews
      Reviewed 15 March 2024

      This was a great little stop over, super clean and kitchen well equipped.
      Great location, close to lots of walks and Fi & Pete were very knowledgeable about the local area. Both were willing to help any way possible. Would recommend to anyone looking to stay in Arthur’s Pass!

      Date of stay: March 2024
      • Trip type: Travelled with friends
        • Value
        • Location
        • Service
      Thank Fiona M
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      Reviewed 7 March 2024

      We had a great time during our stay. Motel was easy to find, as it's just by the roadside towards Arthur's Pass Town.
      Motel was cozy and clean. Nice view from our balcony. Convenient location.
      Went during winter, the heater in the room was just nice and gives us a cozy, warm feeling.

      Date of stay: June 2023
      • Trip type: Travelled with family
        • Value
        • Location
        • Service
      Thank lydiayusran
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      Reviewed 29 January 2024 via mobile

      This is a great location in Arthur's Pass Village.
      Friendly hosts. Basic accommodation but well equipped and clean. The real problem is the paper thin walls so sound travels from one accommodation to the next. Would not stay again for that reason.

      Date of stay: January 2024
      Trip type: Travelled as a couple
      Thank annpQ3469NV
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      Reviewed 6 December 2023

      I was warmely welcomed by Pete the owner who was helpful getting me set up, giving me tips and directions to the hiking trails. I received a heads up email a few days before my stay about the resticted food choices in town which was also very helpful. Cottage 9 was really big with 3 beds in an upstairs room, a vast living / dinning room with full kitchen and large bedroom. The only problem if you have enough people to fill all the beds you are still left with a single bathroom. The place was clean but could use a serious refresh, the furniture and equipment are very dated except for the windows and doors that have been upgraded. A good coat of paint would help in some area and most importantly the mattress, that will make or break your stay...... definitely broke me. Hard as a rock with a pronounced sagging, felt like an old 20 old matress, I ended up sleeping on the large sofa where I finally got a couple hours of sleep. The other thing that I've noticed that needed attention was the back and front porch, both full of spider web. (see pics).
      Separate from the Alpine Motel review here are a few observations about the town/location. There's not much to do in Franz Joseph and my recommendations is one night only if you have to, unless you are doing the long 8hrs trails. Lacks food options, isolated, plan accordingly.

      Date of stay: November 2023
      • Trip type: Travelled solo
        • Value
        • Location
        • Service
      Thank door2doorwithSam
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      Reviewed 18 November 2023

      The Arthus Pass Alpine Motel is a nice little accomodation. It is clean and has an own kitchen, which was very nice and also necessary to have, because the opening hours of the nearby Arthurs Pass store are not alway correct. And a great plus: It is very near to our loved keas. Thank you!

      Date of stay: November 2023
      Trip type: Travelled as a couple
      Thank Brummi990
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      View more reviews