We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Fenton

Great Accommodation in a beautiful location

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 28 Jul 2020
We loved our stay at Arthur's Pass Alpine Motel. Our cabin had everything we needed after a day of hiking. It was easy to check in, clean, warm with a well equipped kitchen. The hosts were lovely and advised us on things to do in the local area. The views from up hiking Scott's Track were great and we enjoyed visiting the Kea at Death's Corner.
Date of stay: May 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Peter Neale, Owner at Arthur's Pass Alpine Motel, responded to this review
Responded 6 Sept 2020
Hi, thanks for your review of your stay with us. Scott's track is a lovely hike, but not quite so easy now, with a bit of snow above the tree line. Glad you enjoyed your time in Arthur's Pass.
Remember, the cheapest price is when you contact us direct.
Thanks for staying, Pete and Fi
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
  • Official Site
  • Priceline
    $109
  • eDreams
0.8 km from Arthur's Pass Alpine Motel
Free parking
Twin Room Lodge
  • eDreams
  • Priceline
    $190
  • Agoda.com
0.8 km from Arthur's Pass Alpine Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Expedia.com
  • Priceline
    $215
  • Hotels.com
9.1 km from Arthur's Pass Alpine Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Priceline
    $125
  • Agoda.com
7.3 km from Arthur's Pass Alpine Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • eDreams
19.1 km from Arthur's Pass Alpine Motel
Free parking
  • Agoda.com
10.7 km from Arthur's Pass Alpine Motel
Free parking
    0.8 km from Arthur's Pass Alpine Motel
    Queen bed in bedroom of Cabin #3
    • Expedia.com
    • Priceline
      $121
    • Hotels.com
    0.0 km from Arthur's Pass Alpine Motel
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    Holiday Park
    • Priceline
      $48
    • eDreams
    • Agoda.com
    23.0 km from Arthur's Pass Alpine Motel
    Free parking
    Natural Ice-skating ring
    • Priceline
      $119
    • Agoda.com
    • Vio.com
      $119
    27.1 km from Arthur's Pass Alpine Motel
    View more hotels in Arthur's Pass National Park
    Reviews (378)
    Filter reviews
    378 results
    Traveller rating
    189
    145
    39
    4
    1
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    More languages
    Traveller rating
    189
    145
    39
    4
    1
    Show reviews that mention
    All reviews arthur's pass the owner one night separate bedroom wobbly kea helpful hosts great place to stay comfortable bed the kitchen living area couple of nights great shower the pub pete cabin heater village
    Selected filters
    Filter
    Updating list...
    32 - 37 of 378 reviews
    Reviewed 20 July 2020

    We loved the location of this motel on our road trip of the South Island. There were a lot of things to do in the area, despite the weather. The room was a good size for our family of 4 and was warm, clean and comfortable. A separate bedroom for the kids is the ideal set up, the kitchen was well supplied and shops/restaurants nearby. Pete and Fi were friendly and welcoming, giving us some good tips on local walks and where to see kea. Would defintiely recommend or stay again if in the area.

    Date of stay: July 2020
      • Location
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank Angela K
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Peter Neale, Owner at Arthur's Pass Alpine Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2020

    Hi, Thanks for posting a lovely review of your recent stay with us. We try and make things easy for families to stay with our fully self contained units. Hope you found some kea.
    Remember, the cheapest price is when you contact us direct.
    Thanks for staying, Pete and Fi

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 20 May 2020 via mobile

    Overnight stay in Arthur's pass. Flexible check in, with great recommendations for the next day. Only 1.5 hours drive from greymouth. Perfect for an over igr stay, right in the center of the mountains

    Date of stay: May 2020
    Trip type: Travelled with friends
    Thank Jacob M
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Peter Neale, Owner at Arthur's Pass Alpine Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2020

    Hi,
    Thanks for staying in our "Gem in the Southern Alps". We love being able to share our knowledge of Arthur's Pass with our guests.
    Remember, the cheapest price is when you contact us direct.
    Thanks for staying, Pete and Fi

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 18 May 2020

    A nice warm and clean motel. Good communication with the hosts who also gave my partner early access which was much appreciated. Great outlook to the bush. Excellent value and we will be back. An ideal place to stay when exploring the area.

    Date of stay: May 2020
      • Value
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank Steve S
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Peter Neale, Owner at Arthur's Pass Alpine Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2020

    Hi, thanks for posting a review of your stay. We're glad you enjoyed your time here. Hope to see you back again sometime soon. Remember, the cheapest price is when you contact us direct.
    Thanks for staying, Pete and Fi

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 27 March 2020

    Pete and Fi were great hosts. Quiet venue, all conveniences in room, including very good Internet connection. Appreciated the updates, like the new windows. Good access to Avalanche Peak Trail. Very comfy and, given the currency exchange rate, a good value.

    Date of stay: March 2020
      • Sleep Quality
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank T1010NRlarryh
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Peter N, Owner at Arthur's Pass Alpine Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2020

    Hi, thanks for posting a lovely positive review of your recent stay with us. It may be the last review for a while as the whole world goes into lock down due to covid-19. Thankfully you were able to enjoy Arthur's Pass while you could.
    Hope to see you up here again sometime.
    Thanks, Pete and Fi

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 22 March 2020 via mobile

    We had a very nice cosy cabin next to reception and the laundry. Outdoor seating but bitten badly. Comfy bed, very poor TV offering, low pressure shower but adequate. Have to ask for a hairdryer but there was plenty. Useful kitchenette. Quiet, set back from the road. Very lovely people who own this place. Very helpful and kind.

    Date of stay: March 2020
    Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    2  Thank David W
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Peter N, Owner at Arthur's Pass Alpine Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2020

    Hi, thanks for staying with us and posting a review. The sandflies were certainly pretty bad that day. A warm day with the potential for late afternoon showers brings them out. We have a supply of repellent for guests use in the office as well as the easily accessible hair dryers. Hope your flight back to the UK went ahead despite the massive travel disruptions in the airline industry.
    Thanks, Pete and Fi

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    View more reviews