We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Steve S
Christchurch, New Zealand

Great value

4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 18 May 2020
A nice warm and clean motel. Good communication with the hosts who also gave my partner early access which was much appreciated. Great outlook to the bush. Excellent value and we will be back. An ideal place to stay when exploring the area.
Date of stay: May 2020
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Peter Neale, Owner at Arthur's Pass Alpine Motel, responded to this review
Responded 6 Sept 2020
Hi, thanks for posting a review of your stay. We're glad you enjoyed your time here. Hope to see you back again sometime soon. Remember, the cheapest price is when you contact us direct.
Thanks for staying, Pete and Fi
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
  • Official Site
  • eDreams
  • Priceline
0.8 km from Arthur's Pass Alpine Motel
Free parking
Twin Room Lodge
  • eDreams
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
0.8 km from Arthur's Pass Alpine Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $371
  • Hotels.com
9.1 km from Arthur's Pass Alpine Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
7.3 km from Arthur's Pass Alpine Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • eDreams
19.1 km from Arthur's Pass Alpine Motel
Free parking
  • Agoda.com
10.7 km from Arthur's Pass Alpine Motel
Free parking
    0.8 km from Arthur's Pass Alpine Motel
    Queen bed in bedroom of Cabin #3
    • Expedia.com
    • ZenHotels.com
      $137
    • Hotels.com
    0.0 km from Arthur's Pass Alpine Motel
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    Get rewarded with One Key
    • Hotels.com
    • ZenHotels.com
      $229
    • Priceline
    37.5 km from Arthur's Pass Alpine Motel
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    Lovely large room
    Get rewarded with One Key
    • Booking.com
    • ZenHotels.com
      $90
    • eDreams
    41.9 km from Arthur's Pass Alpine Motel
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    View more hotels in Arthur's Pass National Park
    Reviews (378)
    Filter reviews
    378 results
    Traveller rating
    189
    145
    39
    4
    1
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    More languages
    Traveller rating
    189
    145
    39
    4
    1
    Show reviews that mention
    All reviews arthur's pass the owner one night separate bedroom wobbly kea helpful hosts great place to stay comfortable bed the kitchen living area couple of nights great shower the pub pete cabin heater village
    Selected filters
    Filter
    Updating list...
    35 - 40 of 378 reviews
    Reviewed 27 March 2020

    Pete and Fi were great hosts. Quiet venue, all conveniences in room, including very good Internet connection. Appreciated the updates, like the new windows. Good access to Avalanche Peak Trail. Very comfy and, given the currency exchange rate, a good value.

    Date of stay: March 2020
      • Sleep Quality
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank T1010NRlarryh
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Peter N, Owner at Arthur's Pass Alpine Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2020

    Hi, thanks for posting a lovely positive review of your recent stay with us. It may be the last review for a while as the whole world goes into lock down due to covid-19. Thankfully you were able to enjoy Arthur's Pass while you could.
    Hope to see you up here again sometime.
    Thanks, Pete and Fi

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 22 March 2020 via mobile

    We had a very nice cosy cabin next to reception and the laundry. Outdoor seating but bitten badly. Comfy bed, very poor TV offering, low pressure shower but adequate. Have to ask for a hairdryer but there was plenty. Useful kitchenette. Quiet, set back from the road. Very lovely people who own this place. Very helpful and kind.

    Date of stay: March 2020
    Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    2  Thank David W
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Peter N, Owner at Arthur's Pass Alpine Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2020

    Hi, thanks for staying with us and posting a review. The sandflies were certainly pretty bad that day. A warm day with the potential for late afternoon showers brings them out. We have a supply of repellent for guests use in the office as well as the easily accessible hair dryers. Hope your flight back to the UK went ahead despite the massive travel disruptions in the airline industry.
    Thanks, Pete and Fi

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 19 March 2020 via mobile

    Great little motel close to the village. Pete was so helpful with tips and advice. Really appreciated arriving to such a friendly welcome. Kindly stored some gear for us while we were tramping. Clean and tidy units with lots of space. Great kitchenette with fresh milk supplied.

    Date of stay: March 2020
    Trip type: Travelled with friends
    Thank P2809BImattw
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Peter N, Owner at Arthur's Pass Alpine Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2020

    Hi, glad you were able to enjoy your time here. And that we put on such perfect weather for your 5 day tramp. Hope the rest of your trip went just as well and you made it home safely despite the current disruptions due to Covid19.
    Thanks for staying, Pete and Fi

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 14 March 2020 via mobile

    Motel was super clean , had a kitchen with FRESH milk , heating , tv , dvd library . All very reasonable . The owner , Pete even drove me to the station AND lent me walking poles . Thank you Victoria (solo traveller)

    Date of stay: March 2020
    Trip type: Travelled solo
    Thank vic4x4
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Peter N, Owner at Arthur's Pass Alpine Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2020

    Thanks for staying and taking time to post a review. It was lovely to hear you were so happy with your cabin. I think it is lovely to watch the forest right at your window. All the best with your travels. ps. You can't beat fresh milk.

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 9 March 2020 via mobile

    The motel was centrally located near to the station, town centre and the local waterfalls. We didn’t have a car so were able to walk everywhere although Pete was kind enough to drive us to the station with our heavy bags when we were leaving! Pete and Fi were lovely hosts and gave us some good advice about the local walks . We stayed in a family chalet which would have comfortably slept 4 but was great for just 2. Would definitely recommend this property to anyone thinking of visiting Arthur’s Pass.

    Date of stay: February 2020
    Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    2  Thank slo2019
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Peter N, Owner at Arthur's Pass Alpine Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2020

    Thanks for your lovely review. Enjoying Arthur's Pass without a car gives an added sense of freedom which is lovely. With the village just over a kilometre long everything is in easy walking distance. We are pleased you appreciated the ride with your heavy bags, if we are able then we like to help. All the best with future travels.

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    View more reviews