We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Arthur's Pass and TranzAlpine Train Day Tour from Christchurch
109

Book in advance
from
$415.00
per adult
Check availabilityView full product details
  
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
Ways to Experience Otira Viaduct Lookout
from $415.00
More Info
from $395.00
More Info
from $299.00
More Info
from $199.00
More Info
Reviews (207)
Filter reviews
207 results
Traveller rating
108
80
18
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
108
80
18
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews engineering feat lookout keas view stagecoach
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 207 reviews
Reviewed 15 July 2023 via mobile

This is a little out of the way if you are sticking to the cities in New Zealand but if you are planning to drive in New Zealand the Arthur's Pass is a fantastic area to drive through. This lookout gives an excellent view of the viaduct and the scenery in the area. We lucked out and got a clear view and there was a very curious kea bird when we went too!

Date of experience: July 2023
Thank deanosaur89
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 8 July 2023 via mobile

The Otira viaduct is amazing and it is worth a stop to grab some pics. But an added bonus to this viewpoint is that you are likely to spot a Kea or mountain parrot. We had two that hung around. Just not feed them!

Date of experience: July 2023
1  Thank County-Hunter
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 10 January 2023

Worth a quick stop to take in this engineering feat from the lookout. Also an opportunity to spot Keas.

Date of experience: December 2022
Thank danielkayelene
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 3 November 2022 via mobile

The Otira viaduct is an extraordinary achievement and well worth stopping after staying at the extraordinary historical Otira Stagecoach hotel.

Date of experience: October 2022
Thank PST_Kate
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 4 May 2021

Great place to stop to take in the great views of the viaduct and surrounding area. I remember traveling many times on the old road through the gorge and the zig zag tight corners, fun times! The road to the parking area is part of the old road and once parked up, you can see where it used to go. There is big boulders blocking the way and is overgrown but it gives you a sense of where it used to go. You may encounter a kea or two at the lookout if you're lucky. Best seen on a nice day. If you keep going West bound there is another place to stop to take in another section of the road that has a waterfall going over the road.

Date of experience: April 2021
Thank Found_Lost_Key
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews