We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Arthur's Pass and TranzAlpine Train Day Tour from Christchurch
109

Check availabilityView full product details
  
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
Ways to Experience Otira Viaduct Lookout
Reviews (207)
Filter reviews
207 results
Traveller rating
108
80
18
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
108
80
18
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews engineering feat lookout keas view stagecoach
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 207 reviews
Reviewed 4 May 2021

Great place to stop to take in the great views of the viaduct and surrounding area. I remember traveling many times on the old road through the gorge and the zig zag tight corners, fun times! The road to the parking area is part of the old road and once parked up, you can see where it used to go. There is big boulders blocking the way and is overgrown but it gives you a sense of where it used to go. You may encounter a kea or two at the lookout if you're lucky. Best seen on a nice day. If you keep going West bound there is another place to stop to take in another section of the road that has a waterfall going over the road.

Date of experience: April 2021
Thank Found_Lost_Key
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 28 February 2021

The tour features the TranzAlpine train from Greymouth to Christchurch and we were also driven around in a group with AATKings to appreciate the scenery.

Date of experience: March 2020
2  Thank Naina-Damani
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 22 February 2021

Great spot to stop and view the Otira viaduct construction
Keas wee cheeky and kept all the visitors entertained. Don’t stray too far from your car or motorcycle or the Keas will have a field day

Date of experience: February 2021
Thank Hondarider1
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 6 June 2020

Don't feed the birds guys. Everyone knows this is a spot where Kea like to hang out, and it's amazing to see them! They're so inquisitive and can get really close to people, so there's a temptation to throw some food out to get that Instagram-worthy photo. But it's killing them. Birds aren't meant to eat human foods, they're too salty and fatty for them and it causes a lot of health problems. It also makes them lose their fear of humans so they're more likely to be injured by people, dogs and cars. Please don't feed them and if you see anyone feeding them, ask them to stop!

I did see Kea here, my only close encounter with these amazing birds. They're more active late afternoon, and they came very close to me, and yes they did nibble my car a bit. Nice views of the viaduct, amazing views of the birds if you're there at the right time of day.

Date of experience: May 2020
Thank TheVeggieCoeliac
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 25 March 2020

We stopped at the overlook to take it all in. It was a clear sunny morning and WOW! As we were getting back into the car we spotted a Kea parrot just behind the car, what a thrill to see this bird up close but not watch it doing damage to our car.

Date of experience: February 2020
2  Thank lauraalonsobi
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews