We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Booking.com
Priceline
Go to your Happy Price
Agoda.com
No fees just great deals
Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Sarah H

Amazing stay

Review of Rata Lodge
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 2 Feb 2022
Lovely hostel in the bush, very clean and cozy and had everything we needed. We had a minor car issue and the hosts were super helpful and kind during our time of stress! Highly recommend staying here when exploring Athurs Pass.
Date of stay: January 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
  • Official Site
    $99
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
6.5 km from Rata Lodge
Free parking
Queen bed in bedroom of Cabin #3
Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
7.3 km from Rata Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Twin Room Lodge
Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • ZenHotels.com
  • eDreams
6.6 km from Rata Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
16.2 km from Rata Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • eDreams
  • Lol.travel
24.9 km from Rata Lodge
Free parking
Booking.com
    17.6 km from Rata Lodge
    Free parking
    Booking.com
      6.6 km from Rata Lodge
      Theatre Royal Hotel
      Expedia.com
      Get rewarded with One Key
      • Booking.com
      • ZenHotels.com
        $143
      • Hotels.com
      41.0 km from Rata Lodge
      Free parking
      Restaurant
      Contact accommodation for availability.
      64.0 km from Rata Lodge
      Free parking
      Beachfront
      View more hotels in Arthur's Pass National Park
      Reviews (21)
      Filter reviews
      21 results
      Traveller rating
      17
      3
      1
      0
      0
      Traveller type
      Time of year
      LanguageAll languages
      More languages
      Traveller rating
      17
      3
      1
      0
      0
      See what travellers are saying:
      Selected filters
      Filter
      Updating list...
      2 - 7 of 21 reviews
      Reviewed 5 March 2019 via mobile

      I lucked into this little gem and thoroughly enjoyed my night in this tiny place (2 rooms plus a small dorm). Welcoming hosts, great facilities and even a glow-worm display at night. Trains chugging up the valley add to the ambience. Perfect and very handy for trampers.

      Date of stay: February 2019
      Trip type: Travelled solo
      Thank JD-Moon
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      Reviewed 26 November 2018 via mobile

      Great place to stay. Super clean, comfy and friendly! We arrived late and they had even turned on the electric blanket in the bed so it was warm for when we got there! Highly recommend a stay, set in beautiful location

      Date of stay: November 2018
      Trip type: Travelled as a couple
      Thank LiciH1124
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      Reviewed 30 March 2018

      This Hostel is in Otira, the middle of nowhere. The house looks old from the outside but is very lovely on the inside! Everything is clean. The beds are super comfy and you'll find everything you need in the kitchen. Be aware that it can get quite chilly in the night, but there are heated mattresses, so this shouldn't be an issue! Vikki, the host is very nice, she already send us an e-mail in advance with some information and gave us even more tipps for places to visit before we left. It really is a nice and quiet place for a stopover after a long day!

      Date of stay: March 2018
      • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
        • Location
        • Sleep Quality
        • Service
      1  Thank ChrigiZH
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      Reviewed 18 April 2017 via mobile

      We stayed one night in a family room. It was lovely, spotlessly clean, cozy and comfortable. Vicky was welcoming and helpful, and the kitchen was very well equipped. Our electric blankets were turned on ready for us to retire to cozy warm beds. Beautiful surroundings.

      Date of stay: April 2017
      Trip type: Travelled with family
      Thank crazyjo73
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      Reviewed 21 January 2017

      Super lovely to arrive at rata lodge after a long day's drive. Small enough to have a yarn with all the guests, great price, well supplied kitchen and super comfy beds! Solid dvd collection for the rainy night!

      Date of stay: January 2017
      • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
        • Value
        • Cleanliness
        • Service
      Thank lauraellenmelville
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      View more reviews