We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
ChrigiZH
Zurich, Switzerland

Very good Hostel

Review of Rata Lodge
4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 30 Mar 2018
This Hostel is in Otira, the middle of nowhere. The house looks old from the outside but is very lovely on the inside! Everything is clean. The beds are super comfy and you'll find everything you need in the kitchen. Be aware that it can get quite chilly in the night, but there are heated mattresses, so this shouldn't be an issue! Vikki, the host is very nice, she already send us an e-mail in advance with some information and gave us even more tipps for places to visit before we left. It really is a nice and quiet place for a stopover after a long day!
Date of stay: March 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
  • Official Site
    $99
  • Priceline
    $109
  • eDreams
6.5 km from Rata Lodge
Free parking
Queen bed in bedroom of Cabin #3
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
    $121
  • Hotels.com
7.3 km from Rata Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Twin Room Lodge
  • eDreams
  • Priceline
    $190
  • Agoda.com
6.6 km from Rata Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Expedia.com
  • Priceline
    $215
  • Hotels.com
16.2 km from Rata Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • eDreams
24.9 km from Rata Lodge
Free parking
  • Agoda.com
17.6 km from Rata Lodge
Free parking
    6.6 km from Rata Lodge
    Holiday Park
    $48
    Fully refundable
    • Priceline
      $48
    • Agoda.com
    15.7 km from Rata Lodge
    Free parking
    Natural Ice-skating ring
    • Priceline
      $119
    • Agoda.com
    • Vio.com
      $119
    34.2 km from Rata Lodge
    Lake Brunner Lodge
    • Priceline
      $551
    • eDreams
    • Agoda.com
    29.9 km from Rata Lodge
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    View more hotels in Arthur's Pass National Park
    Reviews (21)
    Filter reviews
    21 results
    Traveller rating
    17
    3
    1
    0
    0
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    More languages
    Traveller rating
    17
    3
    1
    0
    0
    See what travellers are saying:
    Selected filters
    Filter
    Updating list...
    5 - 10 of 21 reviews
    Reviewed 18 April 2017 via mobile

    We stayed one night in a family room. It was lovely, spotlessly clean, cozy and comfortable. Vicky was welcoming and helpful, and the kitchen was very well equipped. Our electric blankets were turned on ready for us to retire to cozy warm beds. Beautiful surroundings.

    Date of stay: April 2017
    Trip type: Travelled with family
    Thank crazyjo73
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 21 January 2017

    Super lovely to arrive at rata lodge after a long day's drive. Small enough to have a yarn with all the guests, great price, well supplied kitchen and super comfy beds! Solid dvd collection for the rainy night!

    Date of stay: January 2017
    • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
      • Value
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank lauraellenmelville
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 12 December 2016 via mobile

    We stayed here for 3 nights and the place is just lovely. There is hitting in the rooms, a very clean kitchen with a variety of kitchenware. Also a nice lounge with tv and dvds!

    The hostess is very nice! Always available, and welcoming! Recommend this for backpackers!

    Date of stay: December 2016
    Trip type: Travelled with friends
    2  Thank 37halel
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 7 July 2016 via mobile

    Such a lovely place to stay! The owners are incredibly lovely and very accommodating! They took great care to make our group feel at home when we arrived and we had the place to ourselves which was a real treat! Great kitchen set up! Solid as WiFi! And beautiful scenery ☺ wish we could have stayed longer! Thanks!

    Date of stay: July 2016
    Trip type: Travelled with friends
    Thank 177fairyf
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 15 March 2016 via mobile

    Neat and tidy rooms. New ensuite, great hosts. Wifi a bit sketchy but you get that.

    About 10-15km west of Arthur's pass on a hillside by itself.

    Have a beer at the Otira pub down the road, it's an experience!

    .......................................

    Date of stay: March 2016
    Trip type: Travelled solo
    Thank 522craigf
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    View more reviews