We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
lauraellenmelville
Melbourne, Australia

Great small hostel

Review of Rata Lodge
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 21 Jan 2017
Super lovely to arrive at rata lodge after a long day's drive. Small enough to have a yarn with all the guests, great price, well supplied kitchen and super comfy beds! Solid dvd collection for the rainy night!
Date of stay: January 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Queen bed in bedroom of Cabin #3
$135
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    $121
  • Agoda.com
    $116
  • Expedia.com
    $127
7.3 km from Rata Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
$109
Fully refundable
  • Official Site
    $99
  • Priceline
    $109
  • eDreams
6.5 km from Rata Lodge
Free parking
$215
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    $215
  • Expedia.com
    $267
  • Hotels.com
    $275
16.2 km from Rata Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Twin Room Lodge
$190
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    $190
  • eDreams
    $190
  • ZenHotels.com
6.6 km from Rata Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Holiday Park
$48
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    $48
  • Hotels.com
    $124
  • Expedia.com
    $124
15.7 km from Rata Lodge
Free parking
Natural Ice-skating ring
$119
No prepayment needed
Go to your Happy Price
  • Booking.com
    $119
  • Agoda.com
  • Vio.com
34.2 km from Rata Lodge
Lake Brunner Lodge
$551
  • Priceline
    $551
  • eDreams
    $551
  • ZenHotels.com
29.9 km from Rata Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
$229
Go to your Happy Price
  • Booking.com
    $229
  • Expedia.com
    $229
  • Hotels.com
    $229
44.7 km from Rata Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Lovely large room
$90
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    $90
  • Trip.com
    $65
  • StayForLong
34.6 km from Rata Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
$130
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    $130
  • Expedia.com
    $130
  • Hotels.com
    $130
35.7 km from Rata Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Arthur's Pass National Park
Reviews (21)
Filter reviews
21 results
Traveller rating
17
3
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
17
3
1
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 21 reviews
Reviewed 12 December 2016 via mobile

We stayed here for 3 nights and the place is just lovely. There is hitting in the rooms, a very clean kitchen with a variety of kitchenware. Also a nice lounge with tv and dvds!

The hostess is very nice! Always available, and welcoming! Recommend this for backpackers!

Date of stay: December 2016
Trip type: Travelled with friends
2  Thank 37halel
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 7 July 2016 via mobile

Such a lovely place to stay! The owners are incredibly lovely and very accommodating! They took great care to make our group feel at home when we arrived and we had the place to ourselves which was a real treat! Great kitchen set up! Solid as WiFi! And beautiful scenery ☺ wish we could have stayed longer! Thanks!

Date of stay: July 2016
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank 177fairyf
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 15 March 2016 via mobile

Neat and tidy rooms. New ensuite, great hosts. Wifi a bit sketchy but you get that.

About 10-15km west of Arthur's pass on a hillside by itself.

Have a beer at the Otira pub down the road, it's an experience!

.......................................

Date of stay: March 2016
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank 522craigf
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 2 February 2016

We stayed for one night at the beginning of November in the double ensuite. Quite small room, but clean and equipped with everything you need (even had a TV). We made good use of the heater. When we arrived, nobody was there, but the keys and a very friendly note welcomed us. We had the whole hostel to ourselves, so we enjoyed the common room. They have some boardgames, books, a small kitchen and a big gas heater. The location is really cool. You are in the middle of Arthur's Pass NP and if you decide to stay longer (which I would definitely recommend), you can explore the NP. There is a Glowworm Walk just behind the Hostel.

Date of stay: November 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MiriamNiessen
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 23 January 2016

Backed up against the mountains with hiking trails! Lovely building with awesome private rooms. Never felt too crowded despite being a small hostel. Highly recommend to any traveler. The hosts were very kind and full of knowledge.

Date of stay: January 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank AmandaPressly
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews