We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Craig F
Geelong, Australia

Very good

Review of Rata Lodge
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 14 Mar 2016via mobile
Neat and tidy rooms. New ensuite, great hosts. Wifi a bit sketchy but you get that.

About 10-15km west of Arthur's pass on a hillside by itself.

Have a beer at the Otira pub down the road, it's an experience!

.......................................
Date of stay: March 2016
Trip type: Travelled solo
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
  • Official Site
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
6.5 km from Rata Lodge
Free parking
Queen bed in bedroom of Cabin #3
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $147
  • Hotels.com
7.3 km from Rata Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Twin Room Lodge
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
  • Agoda.com
6.6 km from Rata Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $281
  • Hotels.com
16.2 km from Rata Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • eDreams
24.9 km from Rata Lodge
Free parking
  • Agoda.com
17.6 km from Rata Lodge
Free parking
    6.6 km from Rata Lodge
    $229
    No prepayment needed
    • Hotels.com
    • Priceline
    • Booking.com
    44.7 km from Rata Lodge
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    Lovely large room
    Get rewarded with One Key
    • Booking.com
    • ZenHotels.com
      $90
    • Priceline
    34.6 km from Rata Lodge
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    Get rewarded with One Key
    • Booking.com
    • Official Site
      $130
    • Hotels.com
    35.7 km from Rata Lodge
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    View more hotels in Arthur's Pass National Park
    Reviews (21)
    Filter reviews
    21 results
    Traveller rating
    17
    3
    1
    0
    0
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    More languages
    Traveller rating
    17
    3
    1
    0
    0
    See what travellers are saying:
    Selected filters
    Filter
    Updating list...
    10 - 15 of 21 reviews
    Reviewed 2 February 2016

    We stayed for one night at the beginning of November in the double ensuite. Quite small room, but clean and equipped with everything you need (even had a TV). We made good use of the heater. When we arrived, nobody was there, but the keys and a very friendly note welcomed us. We had the whole hostel to ourselves, so we enjoyed the common room. They have some boardgames, books, a small kitchen and a big gas heater. The location is really cool. You are in the middle of Arthur's Pass NP and if you decide to stay longer (which I would definitely recommend), you can explore the NP. There is a Glowworm Walk just behind the Hostel.

    Date of stay: November 2015
    • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
      • Location
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank MiriamNiessen
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 23 January 2016

    Backed up against the mountains with hiking trails! Lovely building with awesome private rooms. Never felt too crowded despite being a small hostel. Highly recommend to any traveler. The hosts were very kind and full of knowledge.

    Date of stay: January 2016
    • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
      • Location
      • Rooms
      • Service
    Thank AmandaPressly
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 18 September 2015

    We loved this place, Vicky was very helpful with everything we wanted to see and do while in Arthurs Pass. It is located close to all the trails you want to do, the rooms are nice and clean. Very relaxing.

    Date of stay: July 2015
    • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank bevanandiona_lloyd
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 1 February 2015 via mobile

    We stayed here for 2 nights. Very good place to stay when you are in Arthur's Pass. The location is very good near by all yhe good tracks. The double room is very nice with your own toilet and shower. The place is very clean and you have everything you need in the kitchen. Vicky the owner of the place is such a great person. She inviced us where to go in Arthurs Pass and helped us with evretyhing we needed.
    One of the best hostels we were in New Zealand!

    Date of stay: February 2015
    Trip type: Travelled with friends
    Thank Kosharovsky Y
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 31 January 2015

    We only slept one night in this lodge but it was a nice stopover on Arthur's Pass. We were the only guests, so it was nice and quiet. Everything was clean and the kitchen well equipped. They have great movies and luckily enough heaters and electric blamkets, because it was pretty cold! So overall it was a very nice, quiet stay.

    Date of stay: December 2014
    • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
      • Value
      • Sleep Quality
      • Service
    Thank lisag2014
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    View more reviews