We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Suzanne C
Sydney, Australia

Fantastic 2 night stay!

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 12 Apr 2024
The lodge is a wonderful place to stay in Arthurs Pass. Hannah and Michael, our hosts, were very informative and obliging. They provided escorted walks around the property and the High Country Sheep Station Discovery tour was very interesting. The room was very clean, bed comfortable and shower great. A drying room and laundry facilities were very appreciated. Meals were excellent. All the staff at the property were very friendly. Highly recommend.
Date of stay: April 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Wilderness Lodges of New Zealand, Owner at Wilderness Lodge Arthurs Pass, responded to this review
Responded 4 weeks ago
Thanks very much for your review A6605SQsuzannec, we really appreciate you sharing and are glad to hear you enjoyed all elements of your time with us.

Kind wishes,

Hannah and Michael McSweeney
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Queen bed in bedroom of Cabin #3
Booking.com
$135
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    $112
  • Hotels.com
    $133
11.8 km from Wilderness Lodge Arthurs Pass
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$175
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    $142
  • Hotels.com
    $180
3.3 km from Wilderness Lodge Arthurs Pass
Free Wifi
Free parking
Twin Room Lodge
Booking.com
$190
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
    $190
  • ZenHotels.com
12.5 km from Wilderness Lodge Arthurs Pass
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$125
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
18.6 km from Wilderness Lodge Arthurs Pass
Free Wifi
Free parking
Priceline
Go to your Happy Price
  • Official Site
    $99
  • Vio.com
  • Booking.com
12.6 km from Wilderness Lodge Arthurs Pass
Free parking
Booking.com
$115
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
  • Vio.com
  • eDreams
    $115
23.6 km from Wilderness Lodge Arthurs Pass
Free Wifi
Free parking
Holiday Park
Booking.com
$48
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
34.2 km from Wilderness Lodge Arthurs Pass
Free parking
Natural Ice-skating ring
Booking.com
$119
  • Priceline
  • Vio.com
  • Agoda.com
15.8 km from Wilderness Lodge Arthurs Pass
Lake Brunner Lodge
Booking.com
$551
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
    $551
  • Lol.travel
48.5 km from Wilderness Lodge Arthurs Pass
Free Wifi
Free parking
Priceline
Go to your Happy Price
  • Hotels.com
    $90
  • Agoda.com
    $180
  • Trip.com
52.8 km from Wilderness Lodge Arthurs Pass
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Arthur's Pass National Park
Reviews (342)
Filter reviews
342 results
Traveller rating
283
42
10
7
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
283
42
10
7
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sheep farm lake moeraki new zealand merino wool other guests beech forest south island sheep station different types free laundry two nights southern alps rooms are comfortable remote location national park lounge area arthurs pass
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 342 reviews
Reviewed 9 April 2024 via mobile

Warm hospitality, comfortable rooms and excellent food. They take good care of their guests and the lovely wilderness around the lodge. The surroundings and the many walks are spectacular. The offered activities are so enjoyable and we leant so much about the local environment. 10/10 for sure.

Date of stay: April 2024
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank christinenghw
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Wilderness Lodges of New Zealand, Owner at Wilderness Lodge Arthurs Pass, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2024

Kia ora Christinenghw,

Thanks for sharing a review - we really appreciate you taking the time to do so.

Kind wishes,

Hannah & Michael McSweeney
Managers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2024 via mobile

There are not sufficient stars or ratings points available to sufficiently describe the attention to detail and customer service that staff and managers of Wilderness Lodge bring to the guests experience. The location of the lodge was chosen for its sunny exposure as well as its exceptional surrounds. Daily guided walks educate guests on the workings of the sheep farm as well as the geography and history of the Waimakariri River valley. We stayed for 3 nights and were surprised daily by the care and concern demonstrated by the staff to make certain we were aware of all amenities, activities and options available to our daily planning for our time in the region. Michael & Hannah manage a stellar team of hospitality service that is beyond compare. I recommend this lodge highly both for its lodging, its menu and chef in the restaurant as well as the daily touches brought to the guests experience while visiting this stunning location.

Date of stay: March 2024
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank BrentBender
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Wilderness Lodges of New Zealand, Owner at Wilderness Lodge Arthurs Pass, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2024

Kia ora Brent,

Thanks so much for sharing. Your feedback was appreciated by all the team and hope the rest of your travels are a great success.

Hope to see you again one day.

Kind wishes,

Hannah and Michael McSweeney
Managers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2024 via mobile

I’ve traveled to 7 continents and spent over 6000 nights in hotels and this is the most wonderful lodging I’ve ever experienced. The McSweeney family and their small, hard-working staff treated each of us as a friend—and we felt so valued and welcomed. And the facilities are perfect—luxurious but not OTT. But wait, there’s more: the exquisite setting amid the Southern Alps and roaring rivers of Arthur’s Pass N.P.! Hiking the trails, visiting with Neal, their sheep farmer, and seeing his dogs working with the sheep were all the highlights of our 3 weeks in New Zealand! Please don’t let the cost put you off … Wilderness Lodge is WORTH EVERY PENNY!

Date of stay: March 2024
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank PamM837
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Wilderness Lodges of New Zealand, Owner at Wilderness Lodge Arthurs Pass, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2024

Kia ora Pam,

We don't really know what to say! This has to be some of the best feedback we've ever received.

We have a fantastic team here who have worked hard through a busy summer season. We all really appreciate hearing that that effort is worthwhile and appreciated by our lovely guests.

Kind wishes,

Hannah and Michael McSweeney
Managers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2024

Great lodge with excellent food, excellent facilities and caring/informative staff. Family of 4 stayed in 2 rooms for 2 nights and enjoyed every minute. Neal (the property manager) gave us a great several hours with his herd of sheep, including shearing one for us. Several enjoyable hikes/activities, including kayaking. We highly recommend the lodge

Date of stay: February 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank RussKeeper2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Wilderness Lodges of New Zealand, Owner at Wilderness Lodge Arthurs Pass, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2024

Kia ora RussKeeper2022

We really enjoy sharing our special corner of the Southern Alps with guests and it is great to hear that you enjoyed the accommodation, food, guided trips and sheep farm experiences.

Kind wishes,

Hannah and Michael McSweeney
Managers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2024

Absolut great stay. Beautiful rooms fully equipped. Delicious food. And very friendly, helpful staff. Very personal touch as the owners are on site. Free introduction to Merinos Sheep Farming (must do). It is so interesting, funny and you get so much information. Also the offered walks are extremly exciting. The walks are great. If you are a little bit in shape, you will be faster than the specified time.

Date of stay: February 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Christine8046
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Wilderness Lodges of New Zealand, Owner at Wilderness Lodge Arthurs Pass, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2024

Kia ora Christine,

We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your time with us. We appreciate that you have taken the time to share a review here.

Kind wishes,

Hannah and Michael McSweeney
Managers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews