We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
christinenghw
Singapore, Singapore

A warm home in the middle of spectacular wilderness

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 8 Apr 2024via mobile
Warm hospitality, comfortable rooms and excellent food. They take good care of their guests and the lovely wilderness around the lodge. The surroundings and the many walks are spectacular. The offered activities are so enjoyable and we leant so much about the local environment. 10/10 for sure.
Date of stay: April 2024
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Wilderness Lodges of New Zealand, Owner at Wilderness Lodge Arthurs Pass, responded to this review
Responded 11 Apr 2024
Kia ora Christinenghw,

Thanks for sharing a review - we really appreciate you taking the time to do so.

Kind wishes,

Hannah & Michael McSweeney
Managers
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Queen bed in bedroom of Cabin #3
Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $132
  • Hotels.com
11.8 km from Wilderness Lodge Arthurs Pass
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $179
  • Hotels.com
3.3 km from Wilderness Lodge Arthurs Pass
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • eDreams
  • Lol.travel
8.4 km from Wilderness Lodge Arthurs Pass
Free parking
Booking.com
    1.4 km from Wilderness Lodge Arthurs Pass
    Free parking
    Twin Room Lodge
    Booking.com
    • Priceline
    • eDreams
    • Agoda.com
    12.5 km from Wilderness Lodge Arthurs Pass
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    Booking.com
    • Priceline
    • Official Site
      $99
    • eDreams
    12.6 km from Wilderness Lodge Arthurs Pass
    Free parking
    Booking.com
    • Priceline
    • Agoda.com
    18.6 km from Wilderness Lodge Arthurs Pass
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    Booking.com
      12.5 km from Wilderness Lodge Arthurs Pass
      Lovely large room
      Booking.com
      • Priceline
      • ZenHotels.com
        $90
      • Hotels.com
      52.8 km from Wilderness Lodge Arthurs Pass
      Free Wifi
      Free parking
      Booking.com
      • Hotels.com
      • ZenHotels.com
        $169
      • Priceline
      58.4 km from Wilderness Lodge Arthurs Pass
      Free parking
      Restaurant
      View more hotels in Arthur's Pass National Park
      Reviews (342)
      Filter reviews
      342 results
      Traveller rating
      283
      42
      10
      7
      0
      Traveller type
      Time of year
      LanguageAll languages
      More languages
      Traveller rating
      283
      42
      10
      7
      0
      Show reviews that mention
      All reviews sheep farm lake moeraki new zealand merino wool other guests beech forest south island sheep station different types free laundry two nights southern alps rooms are comfortable remote location national park lounge area arthurs pass
      Selected filters
      Filter
      Updating list...
      3 - 8 of 342 reviews
      Reviewed 19 March 2024 via mobile

      There are not sufficient stars or ratings points available to sufficiently describe the attention to detail and customer service that staff and managers of Wilderness Lodge bring to the guests experience. The location of the lodge was chosen for its sunny exposure as well as its exceptional surrounds. Daily guided walks educate guests on the workings of the sheep farm as well as the geography and history of the Waimakariri River valley. We stayed for 3 nights and were surprised daily by the care and concern demonstrated by the staff to make certain we were aware of all amenities, activities and options available to our daily planning for our time in the region. Michael & Hannah manage a stellar team of hospitality service that is beyond compare. I recommend this lodge highly both for its lodging, its menu and chef in the restaurant as well as the daily touches brought to the guests experience while visiting this stunning location.

      Date of stay: March 2024
      Trip type: Travelled with family
      Thank BrentBender
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      Wilderness Lodges of New Zealand, Owner at Wilderness Lodge Arthurs Pass, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2024

      Kia ora Brent,

      Thanks so much for sharing. Your feedback was appreciated by all the team and hope the rest of your travels are a great success.

      Hope to see you again one day.

      Kind wishes,

      Hannah and Michael McSweeney
      Managers

      Report response as inappropriate
      This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
      Reviewed 10 March 2024 via mobile

      I’ve traveled to 7 continents and spent over 6000 nights in hotels and this is the most wonderful lodging I’ve ever experienced. The McSweeney family and their small, hard-working staff treated each of us as a friend—and we felt so valued and welcomed. And the facilities are perfect—luxurious but not OTT. But wait, there’s more: the exquisite setting amid the Southern Alps and roaring rivers of Arthur’s Pass N.P.! Hiking the trails, visiting with Neal, their sheep farmer, and seeing his dogs working with the sheep were all the highlights of our 3 weeks in New Zealand! Please don’t let the cost put you off … Wilderness Lodge is WORTH EVERY PENNY!

      Date of stay: March 2024
      Trip type: Travelled with friends
      Thank PamM837
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      Wilderness Lodges of New Zealand, Owner at Wilderness Lodge Arthurs Pass, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2024

      Kia ora Pam,

      We don't really know what to say! This has to be some of the best feedback we've ever received.

      We have a fantastic team here who have worked hard through a busy summer season. We all really appreciate hearing that that effort is worthwhile and appreciated by our lovely guests.

      Kind wishes,

      Hannah and Michael McSweeney
      Managers

      Report response as inappropriate
      This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
      Reviewed 28 February 2024

      Great lodge with excellent food, excellent facilities and caring/informative staff. Family of 4 stayed in 2 rooms for 2 nights and enjoyed every minute. Neal (the property manager) gave us a great several hours with his herd of sheep, including shearing one for us. Several enjoyable hikes/activities, including kayaking. We highly recommend the lodge

      Date of stay: February 2024
      • Trip type: Travelled with family
        • Value
        • Location
        • Service
      Thank RussKeeper2022
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      Wilderness Lodges of New Zealand, Owner at Wilderness Lodge Arthurs Pass, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2024

      Kia ora RussKeeper2022

      We really enjoy sharing our special corner of the Southern Alps with guests and it is great to hear that you enjoyed the accommodation, food, guided trips and sheep farm experiences.

      Kind wishes,

      Hannah and Michael McSweeney
      Managers

      Report response as inappropriate
      This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
      Reviewed 14 February 2024

      Absolut great stay. Beautiful rooms fully equipped. Delicious food. And very friendly, helpful staff. Very personal touch as the owners are on site. Free introduction to Merinos Sheep Farming (must do). It is so interesting, funny and you get so much information. Also the offered walks are extremly exciting. The walks are great. If you are a little bit in shape, you will be faster than the specified time.

      Date of stay: February 2024
      • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
        • Value
        • Location
        • Service
      1  Thank Christine8046
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      Wilderness Lodges of New Zealand, Owner at Wilderness Lodge Arthurs Pass, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2024

      Kia ora Christine,

      We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your time with us. We appreciate that you have taken the time to share a review here.

      Kind wishes,

      Hannah and Michael McSweeney
      Managers

      Report response as inappropriate
      This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
      Reviewed 21 January 2024 via mobile

      This is a wonderful place with hospitality, good food and service with a killer view! Two days is not enough. The sheep talk is excellent as were the dogs! We had all kinds of weather but they have a great drying room so all is good. Rooms are clean and comfortable!

      Date of stay: January 2024
      Trip type: Travelled as a couple
      Thank Imapepper79
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      Wilderness Lodges of New Zealand, Owner at Wilderness Lodge Arthurs Pass, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2024

      Kia ora Imapepper79

      Thanks for your review. We really appreciate you taking the time to share your experience.

      Kind wishes,

      Hannah and Michael McSweeney
      Managers

      Report response as inappropriate
      This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
      View more reviews