We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Aaron H
Minneapolis, Minnesota

Great Experience

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 19 Feb 2023
This was one of the most memorable experiences during out time in NZ. This place is more than just a place to stay - Michael and Hannah were so friendly and accommodating, going out of their way to welcome guests and get to know you. The rooms are comfortable, with outstanding views. The free laundry is great for those on long adventures. The lodge is very clean and the common spaces and dining room is a great place to meet other travelers. The food was pretty good, especially considering the remote location. There are a wide variety of 'tracks' to walk, catering to a wide range of fitness levels. The sheep experience with Neil is fantastic and a must do if you stay here. While this was one of the more expensive places we stayed, it was, in essence, all-inclusive. You can park your car for a few days and have everything you need at the lodge. We highly recommend staying with Michael and Hannah should your travels take you to the Arthur's Pass area.
Date of stay: January 2023
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Wilderness Lodges of New Zealand, Owner at Wilderness Lodge Arthurs Pass, responded to this review
Responded 27 Mar 2023
Kia ora Aaronh330,

We are so pleased to hear how much you enjoyed your time with us and how you embraced the complete Wilderness Lodge experience. We'd love to host you again one day.

Kind wishes,

Hannah and Michael McSweeney
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Queen bed in bedroom of Cabin #3
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • eDreams
11.8 km from Wilderness Lodge Arthurs Pass
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
3.3 km from Wilderness Lodge Arthurs Pass
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • eDreams
  • Lol.travel
8.4 km from Wilderness Lodge Arthurs Pass
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Agoda.com
1.4 km from Wilderness Lodge Arthurs Pass
Free parking
Twin Room Lodge
Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
  • Agoda.com
12.5 km from Wilderness Lodge Arthurs Pass
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • Official Site
    $99
  • eDreams
12.6 km from Wilderness Lodge Arthurs Pass
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
18.6 km from Wilderness Lodge Arthurs Pass
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
    12.5 km from Wilderness Lodge Arthurs Pass
    Expedia.com
    Get rewarded with One Key
    • Booking.com
    • ZenHotels.com
      $163
    • Hotels.com
    58.4 km from Wilderness Lodge Arthurs Pass
    Free parking
    Restaurant
    Tripadvisor
    $551
    • Hotels.com
    • Booking.com
    • Expedia.com
      $551
    60.3 km from Wilderness Lodge Arthurs Pass
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    View more hotels in Arthur's Pass National Park
    Reviews (342)
    Filter reviews
    342 results
    Traveller rating
    283
    42
    10
    7
    0
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    More languages
    Traveller rating
    283
    42
    10
    7
    0
    Show reviews that mention
    All reviews sheep farm lake moeraki new zealand merino wool other guests beech forest south island sheep station different types free laundry two nights southern alps rooms are comfortable remote location national park lounge area arthurs pass
    Selected filters
    Filter
    Updating list...
    17 - 22 of 342 reviews
    Reviewed 15 February 2023

    The welcome, the hikes right from our room and the food all made this an excellent choice. We were very impressed with the quality and presentation of all our meals. Thank you to the McSweeny’s and their excellent staff for a lovely few days.

    Date of stay: February 2023
    Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    Thank Global547252
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Wilderness Lodges of New Zealand, Owner at Wilderness Lodge Arthurs Pass, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2023

    Kia ora Global547252,

    Thanks for sharing your review with the TripAdvisor community. We really appreciate you taking the time.

    Kind wishes,

    Hannah and Michael McSweeney

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 7 February 2023 via mobile

    We stayed here as part of a trip put on by Backroads, an adventure company. The resort is amazing with a beautiful layout, very friendly staff, great food and beverages. The common area/lounge has a magnificent view of the mountains and there are some trails you can walk on directly from the hotel. A real treat for us was a tour by Michael the Sheep Farmer. He met us in the pasture and gave us an interesting presentation and demonstration of his working dogs, the sheep, etc. He also demonstrated sheep shearing and explained the differences between Merino wool and lower grades. Be sure to attend this…it’s very enlightening. The room was comfortable and well-appointed. I’d stay there again for sure.

    Date of stay: February 2023
    Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    Thank ronm548
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Wilderness Lodges of New Zealand, Owner at Wilderness Lodge Arthurs Pass, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2023

    Kia ora Ronm548,

    We really enjoy hosting Backroads Active Travel and sharing our special part of the world with adventurers. We are so pleased that you enjoyed all aspects of your time here and would be delighted to host you again in future.

    Kind wishes,

    Hannah and Michael McSweeney

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 2 February 2023

    We stayed at the Wilderness Lodge for two nights. From the minute we arrived the staff were so informative and attentive. Great room overlooking the mountains with great comfortable beds. Loved the sheep shearing demo from Farmer John (?), so interesting. Great advice on various walks we could do. Loved the climb to the Punchbowl waterfall and also the Rainbow Valley walk. The half board basis was amazing. You can elect to share a table with other guests or be seated alone. I selected a sharing table (which my reserved husband was a bit unsure about) but we sat with some great people, Max & Susan from the USA and Joyce and Gary from Canada, it was great to swap life stories and also tips on places we hadn’t yet visited. The food served was amazing, the fillet steak was to die for. Thank you to you all.

    Date of stay: February 2023
    Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    Thank heather b
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Wilderness Lodges of New Zealand, Owner at Wilderness Lodge Arthurs Pass, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2023

    Kia ora Heather,

    Thanks for your enthusiastic review. We really enjoy helping our guests to create special memories and explore our unique part of New Zealand and love hearing feedback like yours. Thanks for your visit.

    Kind wishes,

    Hannah and Michael McSweeney

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 26 January 2023 via mobile

    We loved it here!! Hannah and Michael were the most hospitable, friendly, helpful proprietors we could wish for. The property was stunning. While it’s not inexpensive, it was an excellent value - breakfast and dinner included, tea and snacks, lots of activities, daily housekeeping, laundry machines, etc. I’d highly recommend this property. So many lovely walks and places to explore. We loved learning about the sheep farm and seeing the dogs.

    Date of stay: January 2023
    Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    Thank S2441SMlizb
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Wilderness Lodges of New Zealand, Owner at Wilderness Lodge Arthurs Pass, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2023

    Kia ora S2441SMlizb,

    Thanks for sharing your Wilderness Lodge experience here - we really appreciate it.

    Kind wishes,

    Hannah and Michael McSweeney

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 20 January 2023 via mobile

    What a treasure! If you want to take in the Arthur’s Pass area while enjoying a little luxury, this is the place! The rooms have amazing views of the valley below and the mountains in the distance. The gourmet dinners and cooked to order breakfasts were delicious. We learned about local plants, area history and sheep ranching. All staff were wonderfully helpful, but our favorite was Neil who runs the sheep ranch on the property. His tour and demonstrations were excellent, informative and entertaining, as well. We enjoyed the Wilderness Lodge so much that we immediately booked a stay at the sister lodge at Lake Moeraki.

    Room tip: Do NOT miss the sheep talk and demo! Pose with the ram and feed the baby lamb with a bottle.
    Date of stay: January 2023
    Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    Thank 474SueW
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Wilderness Lodges of New Zealand, Owner at Wilderness Lodge Arthurs Pass, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2023

    Kia ora 474SueW,

    Thanks for your review. We are so pleased to hear how much you enjoyed all aspects of your stay with us. We work really hard to bring together great hospitality, food and accommodation along with unique nature and farm experiences and it's great to know this is appreciated.

    Kind wishes,

    Hannah and Michael McSweeney

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    View more reviews