We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Todd A

Great Place and People

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 4 Apr 2019
The Grasmere Lodge is a beautiful and relaxing place. We very much enjoyed the accommodations. However, the best part was Chef Glen and his wife Tonya. They are special people that do everything they can to make your stay exceptional. Chef Glen has a gift for sure and you won't find better meals anywhere. It's peaceful, clean and just plain a nice place to relax. Thanks Glen and Tonya.
Date of stay: March 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Queen bed in bedroom of Cabin #3
$145
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    $145
  • Tripadvisor
    $145
  • Priceline
19.1 km from Grasmere High Country Bed & Breakfast Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
$215
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
  • Expedia.com
    $225
  • Hotels.com
    $275
11.6 km from Grasmere High Country Bed & Breakfast Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
$109
Fully refundable
  • Official Site
    $99
  • Priceline
  • Vio.com
19.8 km from Grasmere High Country Bed & Breakfast Lodge
Free parking
Twin Room Lodge
$190
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
    $190
  • ZenHotels.com
19.8 km from Grasmere High Country Bed & Breakfast Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
$125
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
24.9 km from Grasmere High Country Bed & Breakfast Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Holiday Park
$48
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
39.7 km from Grasmere High Country Bed & Breakfast Lodge
Free parking
Natural Ice-skating ring
$119
  • Priceline
  • Vio.com
  • Agoda.com
13.8 km from Grasmere High Country Bed & Breakfast Lodge
$173
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
  • Booking.com
    $172
  • Hotels.com
    $172
25.2 km from Grasmere High Country Bed & Breakfast Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Lovely large room
$90
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    $290
  • Hotels.com
    $90
57.8 km from Grasmere High Country Bed & Breakfast Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
$130
Fully refundable
  • Tripadvisor
    $130
  • Priceline
  • Expedia.com
    $130
58.8 km from Grasmere High Country Bed & Breakfast Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Arthur's Pass National Park
Reviews (101)
Filter reviews
101 results
Traveller rating
90
6
2
2
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
90
6
2
2
1
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 101 reviews
Reviewed 5 April 2019

We had a wonderful time at the Grasmere Lodge. Glen and Tanya are amazing hosts and were warm and welcoming to our family of 5. The location is a bit remote (which we loved) and near several fishing lakes which our boys enjoyed very much. Glen is an incredible chef and each night there were yummy new selections to choose from. In the morning, a full breakfast with fruit, eggs, potatoes, bacon/meats, breads and of course yogurt and cereals. The homemade carrot juice was to die for. When the power went out on our first night, Glen and Tanya served us a candlelit dinner and then put out tiny candles down the hallway to our rooms and around our room as well...it was the most beautiful evening of our trip. Also, do not miss the stars...I have never seen stars like that in my life, truly spectacular! We highly recommend Grasmere Lodge and are so grateful to Glen and Tanya for all that they did for us!

Date of stay: March 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank KellyAnneAmen
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 31 March 2019

We have stayed at Grasmere Lodge during our trip over the South Island and it was the best accommodation on our trip. It was simply amazing. The locations is just stunning, with 360° views over the surrounding mountains. Its really secluded and at night you will see the most beautiful night sky ever. Rooms are big, comfortable and beautifully furnished. The owner and every other staff member makes you feel truly welcome and almost like home. Food in the onsite restaurant is a heaven for your taste buds. I would genuinely recommend to everyone travelling through Arthur's Pass to stay here.

Date of stay: March 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jvin01
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 29 March 2019 via mobile

What a gem on our trip from the west coast to Christchurch. We booked Grasmere Lodge on recommendation from friends who had previously stayed. After a busy stay in Franz Josef we were looking for something a little more quiet and intimate to end our trip with and Grasmere didn't disappoint.

Upon arrival we were kindly greeted by front of house member Tanya (her husband Glen also happens to be the head chef of the property). Tanya was warm and inviting and really set the tone for our stay. We were invited into the lounge area where we had a drink and a chat with Tanya and Glen about our travels thus far. Instantly we felt like we were in a home away from home.

Next we were shown to our room which was absolutely stunning. In a previous review someone had referred to the decor as dated, I would disagree and say it is luxury with the decor fitting the lodge charm. The room was spacious with an amazing view. The bathroom was modern and clean with all of the small toiletries and amenities you would want. Having both a shower and luxurious bath it was the perfect place for us to relax and freshen up after our drive.

We had dinner at the lodge that night, 2 courses which were devine. My partner and I have different dietary requirements and chef Glen catered to that without any issues. The meal was gorgeous, 5 star comfort food and a great way to end our trip. We had eaten out alot during our trip so it was nice to have a fine dining experience that felt like we were in the comfort of our own home.

After a really great night sleep in a comfortable king bed we entered the dining area where Tanya and Glen were setting up a breakfast bar. Glen remembered my dietary requirements and prepared a couple extras that catered to that. From cereals to homemade bread and all the bacon, eggs, sausage and potatoes in between it truly was a breakfast to suit everyone. Our barista made coffee completed the morning meal.

We were very happy with our stay at Grasmere. Glen and Tanya make you feel as though you are staying with friends at their lush country lodge while maintaining professionalism and a high quality of service.

There is no cell reception, in room TV and the WiFi is shakey at times but that is what we loved most about this place. We wanted somewhere tranquil to end our travels with and Grasmere truly is an amazing retreat. We will definitely be staying here again and would highly recommend!

Date of stay: February 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Tina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 16 March 2019

We booked in for 10 days to make this stunning property a destination to explore the region during our holiday in New Zealand.
It featured: majestic mountains and surrounds,
natural walks and drives to lakes and rock formations ,most welcoming, friendly, helpful managers and team, delicious food prepared by chef Glen and Tanya, spacious room with great views, a unique example of an authentic, historic, successful New Zealand grazing property including an original woolshed, no mobile coverage (ha!ha!),the stay exceeded our expectations and will be one of our most memorable holidays.

Room tip: Stay long enough to take advantage of the experience
Date of stay: March 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank arthurspass
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 14 March 2019

So let's start with the good stuff...

We were warmly greeted and shown to our room by Rosealeigh.

Chef Glen and his wife who ran front of house did a fantastic job and were both friendly, helpful and hospitable. Glens dinner was very good and at $65 per head for 2 courses was the same cost as dinner in a top Christchurch restaurant. Breakfast was nothing special.

The surroundings are peaceful and tranquil.

The bed and linens were 5 star.

The AC and Ceiling fan were good. Good shower and bath (although the taps were at the wrong end).

We ran low on petrol for the car and they kindly sold us a can of fuel.

So why the poor rating?

Price. It was awful value. I'd emailed the Lodge directly the night before. Their own website showed plenty of availability as did all the 3rd party sights. However, instead of doing a direct deal I ended up booking through Expedia for $460 rather than the $510 price direct. Patrick had tried to up-sell me something for $650.

So, based on the reviews, the website and the price point, I'm expecting something special. In the last month I've travelled extensively round NZ spending between $1,300 and $170 a night. This wasn't luxury or special and just wasn't anything like reasonable value. We'd found better value in super pricey Queenstown. Maybe the upgraded room would have been amazing, but our room while fine was dated and basic. There was a CD player with 1 CD and connections for a 6 year old iPhone. No TV. WIFI only worked in the public area and had an extra fee. Borrow a bicycle? Thats another $50 please. Even 5 star country hotels around London include internet these days and will loan you a bike. They'll also have a gym and a pool... maybe a golf course.

There are numerous 5* reviews and talk about it being a top property. However, nearly all those reviews are from a previous era.

Date of stay: March 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
5  Thank Maximilian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews