We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (122)
Filter reviews
122 results
Traveller rating
89
22
6
3
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
89
22
6
3
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews great restaurant guacamole beautiful view clams oaxaca privacy ocean
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 122 reviews
Reviewed 12 December 2017 via mobile

If you want a fantastic place to watch the sun go down and to have a cocktail, El Copal is it. It is very beautiful, and tastefully decorated. The drinks were great, and the guacamole was to die for. We both had the shrimp, which were tasty but nothing to get too excited about. Previously we had breakfast there, and it was fantastic. Overall, a must visit place for a cocktail and snack, or dinner. The owners are lovely and go out of their way to please.

Date of stay: December 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank 97PaulS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2017

Really nice restaurant with really great food. The guacamole was amazing, everything was really fresh and well-prepared. We had a great time with a beautiful view and were welcomed. Definitely recommendable.

Date of stay: July 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank François P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2017

The service was nice and friendly, but the food was just Ok. I had better hopes for it - my ginger shrimp was in a strange sauce and not satisfying. The view from the restaurant was beautiful. It was the only restaurant in that part of Mazunte, so it was convenient, but we did not go back.

Date of stay: April 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Service
1  Thank Ruchei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2017

After 2 hour drive in a really hot day, we arrive to the beautiful remote place, absolutely thirsty for a cold bear and some food.

We went to EL COPAL to the restaurant to have lunch and probably stayed the night.

We climbed up the 4 floors to the restaurant, the open space terrace has a beautiful view, a cute low key place, no other costumers were there. We were 6 ppl and my medium/small size service dog.

The very first thing the manager said to us is that:

"WE ARE NOT PET FRIENDLY"

He told us we were not welcome with the dog. I explaIned that it was a service dog and it will sit still and totaly quiet next to me, but he told me he didn't care he kept going on and on for 15 min or more making a huge buz about it, until I told him if my service dog cant stay, then we cant stay either and we would leave. Then he changed his mind and told us it was ok to sit in a corner, but still with a huge attitude....

The whole argument spoiled our excitement to be there.

The food was good thou but clearly we didn't spend the night. As soon as we had lunch we left.

Date of stay: January 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Maria P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2016 via mobile

Charming little hotel, a few steps from the beach. El Copal offers the choice between staying in a bungalow or a palm tipi. The tipis are absolutely adorable and well equipped, although best for 3 or 4 person stays, since there are 2 tipis per platform and you must book both or none at all. Not a sound other than the ocean. Great restaurant with a fabulous view of the beach. Service is very kind though a little slow. Their curry is a must!

Date of stay: April 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank sofias_world86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews