We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Homely house with lovely views”
other travellers have booked this property
Full river frontage.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Full river frontage.
Two storey fully self contained annex with river and rural views. Pleasant gardens.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
10 reviews
Full river frontage.
Two storey fully self contained annex with river and rural views.
Pleasant gardens.
Large secure parking area exclusive to guests.
Guests own private entrance.
Guests own secluded courtyard.
Outdoor seating to relax and watch the wildlife.
Cosy bedroom upstairs overlooking river and rural views.
Fully equipped kitchen/dining room.
Bath with handheld shower and toilet downstairs.
Lounge open onto patio and deck thru French doors.
Small single bed in the alcove of the lounge.
The Brede River flows directly past the annex.
Fishing rights. Just bring your rod and licence.
More outdoor seating under the willow.
Use of large deck.
Resident ducks.
Swans regularly pay us a visit.
Kingfishers and barn owls fly past at dusk.
We experience beautiful sunsets.
River and farmland views.
Your own fishing bench.
Outdoor dining.
Enjoy Pimm's on deck.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Chalet -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 3
Winchelsea, Rye, East Sussex, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 10 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Helen M
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Homely house with lovely views”
Reviewed 20 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Short stay here but would definitely return.

Really lovely place. Connie and Clem were really helpful. They gave us brilliant advice on things like good local food shops and places to visit.

They provided the essential practical things in the kitchen which was superb, things like salt, pepper, cooking oil and washing up liquid, as well as all the pans, crockery etc. we needed. On top of this there was wine, chocolates and tea and milk, being able to have a cuppa on arrival was just what we needed.

Views from the cottage were superb and there were several seats outside, good for breakfast in the sunshine with the beautiful views.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Apr 2017
Thank you for your lovely review Helen. It is always good to know that our guests are having a nice time here and enjoying our surroundings. You are most welcome back anytime. Connie.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CheshireR...
Cheshire
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Peaceful and comfortable stay”
Reviewed 22 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016

We were looking for accommodation in East Sussex in a peaceful location and due to medical problems needed to find somewhere with very comfortable seating in the lounge. The photo's showed us that this apartment gave us this and much more, and we were delighted when we arrived to greeted by Connie and Clem and given a full tour of the property plus information covering the area .
The view from the lounge showed a very large decking, overlooking the river bank where there were ducks and other wildlife to be watched; all very peaceful! The kitchen diner contained everything needed (and more) and the lounge was very well furnished with all the comfort we required. A very enjoyable stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The peaceful location
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Sep 2016
Thsnk you for taking time to write such a nice review and is very much appreciated. We are glad you both had a enjoyable stay with us. It is always good to have positive feed back and we love to share our peaceful surroundings with our guests.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
“Lovely relaxing and well kept accommodation”
Reviewed 5 September 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Peaceful setting overlooking the river. wonderful kept gardens and accommodation. Lovely welcome pack on arrival and all the amenities required. Lovely couple who greeted us on arrival and gave the full tour of the property. Not far from bird watching sites and historical sites. Plus the beach.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: View from the gardens
Liked least: The shower was hand held would have been better with optional higher up the wall
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Sep 2016
Glad you both had a good time here.
We always try our best to make our guests feel welcome and be able to enjoy the surroundings.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kent
Reviewed 24 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
24 Aug 2016
Thanks for lovely review and glad you both enjoyed our stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
laurawhit...
1 review
“Relaxing by the river”
Reviewed 13 August 2016 for a stay in July 2016

This is the second time we have stayed here. It is so relaxing by the river. The accommodation is perfect, comfortable and has everything you need. The welcome pack is a lovely touch and very thoughtful for Connie to remember I have an allergy. We walked into Rye a few times over the fields, it's a lovely walk past camber castle and we also walked to the beach. There is plenty to do in the area, we visited Rye, Hastings, Bexhill and Camber sands. The kids had a great time and didn't want to leave. Once again we had a very relaxing week and would love to go back and have recommended it to friends

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Aug 2016
Thank you very much for a lovely review.and we would love to have you back anytime.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing