We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“The only downside is that you have to leave.....”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
14 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Aberlour, Moray, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 14 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

MikeSUk
United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“The only downside is that you have to leave.....”
Reviewed 3 November 2020 for a stay in October 2020
1
person found this review helpful

Booking and payment were very straightforward.
Good communication throughout from Roy, the owner.
We were given clear and precise instructions by mail as to how to access the house in order to comply with social distancing requirements.
On arrival we accessed the house without problems.

Some time later Roy called on us to ensure everything was to our satisfaction (Roy remained outside while talking to us).
Roy was a great source of local information, and something of an expert regarding Whisky.

The house itself was scrupulously clean, spacious, warm and comfortable.
decent speed WiFi was available, as was a TV with DVD player (and selection of DVDs), so evening entertainment was taken care of.
Large fridge/freezer, microwave, coffee machine, dishwasher, washing machine, drier - everything you could want.
The bedroom was very comfortable and quiet. We both slept soundly every night.

Good shower and even a whirlpool bath to relax in after a hard day visiting distilleries.

Lots of little touches to make our stay more comfortable - even down to supplying nuts to put out for the Red Squirrels that inhabit the woods to the rear.
We spent quite some time watching the antics of the squirrels while eating breakfast in the superbly equipped kitchen/diner.

The house was perfectly positioned for travel to Elgin, Aberlour, Craigellachie, and Dufftown.
Further afield, Culloden, Lossiemouth, & Nairn were all a comfortable drive away. Loch Ness and Inverness are also easily travelled to in a day.

In summary, we were very happy with the house, and will look to return next year. Hopefully things will have settled and we can enjoy Roy's company in a more relaxed environment.

Date of stay: October 2020
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
88debbied
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great house, Great Location”
Reviewed 18 October 2020 for a stay in October 2020
1
person found this review helpful

We have just stayed for a week at this lovely house and would highly recommend it, Roy has thought of everything, there is nothing this house doesn't have, it has lots of space, bags of character and the best location for exploring speyside from distilleries to shopping and much more, the house was immaculate with lots of little touches like lights that come on automatically when you get up to the bathroom during the night to guide you safely down the stairs, bed linen and towels were top quality, whirlpool bath was amazing and dining room with little touches of speyside, perfect home from home.

Date of stay: October 2020
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wander598...
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A Gem on the Speyside Whisky trail”
Reviewed 5 October 2020 for a stay in September 2020
1
person found this review helpful

What can I say. We have visited Scotland many times and this cottage is easily the best of the best. Well appointed to the point of luxurious... There is even a fish kettle and oyster shucker. We felt spoilt and comfortable in every sense. Roy our host had left many little touches which were really appreciated and unexpected. It has be seen to be believed. We had red squirrels visiting most times when we were "home". Hungry Horace became the regular visitor, we could tell as he was larger than the rest and had a huge appetite.
There are some exceptional Distillery tours and really good pubs, restaurants and general eateries in the vicinity too. We really did not want to go home.

Date of stay: September 2020
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stuart R
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely cottage in ideal location for Whisky Trail”
Reviewed 17 July 2019 for a stay in July 2019
1
person found this review helpful

Great location just off the main road about one mile from Rothes.
Ample parking for 3 cars and a small burn (stream) runs through the grounds.
Former gamekeepers cottage on country estate, the cottage has lots of original character yet has been thoroughly modernised inside and decorated to a high standard. Owner, Roy was very friendly and helpful.
We would definitely return if seeking accommodation in the area again.

Date of stay: July 2019
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frances S
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
““Delightful house in ideal spot for exploring the locale””
Reviewed 1 May 2019 for a stay in April 2019
1
person found this review helpful

Everything. The house is lovely- tastefully modern furnishing with a sympathetic lean to the style of the house and some unexpectedly frivolous twists! Comfortable and so well equipped! It's roomy but cosy with an option for a coal fire for those colder evenings. Plenty of options for dining and snacking with three tables - great for card games or jigsaw puzzles for longer evenings. The bed was firm enough for good support but soft enough to sink into deliciously. A super cosy duvet snuggled around to complete the all over cuddle! A lovely bathroom and super kitchen just made it hard to leave. The owner was marvellous - on hand quickly when we had a slight hiccough and full of local knowledge and suggestions. His recommendation of the Station Hotel in Rothes was excellent for dinner. It was sunny but with a cold wind so we didn't get chance to explore out doors. There didn't seem to be any outdoor seating but perhaps that was due to the time of year.

Date of stay: April 2019
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in New Zealand. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.