We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Barnsdale Hall Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$205
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$127
US$88
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$60
US$49
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$127
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$207
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Bull & Swan(Stamford)
US$153
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$140
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lakeside B&B(Barnsdale)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (978)
Filter reviews
978 results
Traveller rating
305
298
195
110
70
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
305
298
195
110
70
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbarnsdale hallleisure facilitiescrazy golfrutland waterswimming poolwowcher dealsteam roommain hallspa treatmentspitch and puttbar and restaurantboxing dayhoneymoon suitetennis courtsbeautiful locationbuffet stylethe main hotel
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 978 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This is a beautiful and very smart hotel situated in an ideal spot with magnificent views over Rutland Water. Our room with balcony had the best view of the water one could have imagined which was about 1/2 a mile away. The room was modern spacious and well equipped with a huge bed and comfy seats. Breakfast was a buffet but of top quality. We attended a ladies night and the function was slick and well staffed with superb food. The evening meal the previous night was equally good. The whole experience was hard to fault and I would give it 98%. If I was really pushed to improve this great experience I would reluctantly request slightly more toiletries in the rooms and slightly more generous meat portions in the carvery. However this is as I never give 100% . Well done for a fabulous hotel in easy driving reach of Rutland Water and the beautiful town of Stamford with its charming antique shops and churches.

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Graeme C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alan H, Manager at Barnsdale Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Graeme C,

Thank you for your kind comments following your stay with us. We were delighted to serve you and your party and we hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back soon. I have passed on your feedback to our kitchen and housekeeping teams, and please don't hesitate to contact us if we can be of further assistance.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed in a penthouse apartment, room 44, on the second floor which was amazing, it had everything you could wish for, a fridge, oven, hob, even a dishwasher, washing machine although we didn't use the last two items. You need to be mobile to get up there as the lift only goes to the first floor and they're are 16 stairs to climb, not easy with luggage.
Heating if you should need it is supplied by night storage heaters, but be aware you will be charged for all electricity used whilst enjoying your stay. The spacious two bedroomed apartment also has a wonderful view both from the huge lounge windows and out on the balcony overlooking Rutland Water and the surrounding countryside. We did not use the leisure facilities pool or spa, or indeed the bar, or restaurant so can't comment.
We spent our week exploring the locality including the lovely Barnsdale Gardens, The Rutland Museum and Castle in Oakham which is a lovely town. We also drove to Grantham and Melton Mowbray, both towns are worth a visit, as well as all the pretty villages around Rutland. All in all we had a marvellous week in this self catering apartment, the only downside was the awful wet weather, while the week before had been marvellous. We would recommend Barnsdale Hall & Country Club as an exchange week to all members or even a bonus week if you can get one.

Room Tip: Best views are had from an upstairs room with balcony facing Rutland Water, but there are stairs to climb
  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank davidm3215
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alan H, Manager at Barnsdale Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear davidm3215,

Thank you very much for posting your review following your stay with us. I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and that your overall impression of the hotel was good. Unfortunately due to the layout of some of the building and indeed, our location on the side of Rutland Water mean that stairs are a big part of the resort. Fortunately we also offer step-free access to many of the outlets. It was a pity about the weather during your stay, at the moment we have dry weather but alternating between bright sunny mornings and grey, drab afternoon.

davidm3215, thank you for staying with us at Barnsdale Hall Hotel. We hope to see you again soon.

Kind Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
99
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed overnight and whilst our room was a bit of an anticlimax the service we received was really rather lovely. Staff were attentive and helpful and enhanced our experience hugely. The weather was beautiful so we were able to sit out and relax well into the evening.
I imagine if you were lucky enough to have a room with a view (other than a wall) or better still a balcony this would be idyllic.
The views of the water were somewhat restricted from the dining area however we thoroughly enjoyed ourselves and would definitely stay again (booking a better room ).

Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alan H, Manager at Barnsdale Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your lovely comments flowing your stay with us. Unfortunately due to the design of the hotel buildings not every bedroom has a balcony or the beautiful views of Rutland Water, however this is reflected in the varying costs between the bedroom types. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Kind Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2018 via mobile

Stayed at this hotel in July 2017. Part of a magical wedding day. The room for the reception had purple hews, orchids, set out for the celebration of a couples life together. The staff and location did exactly that, making a real celebration special. Nothing was too much trouble, the food was excellent and the accommodation very comfortable with the views over the water, beautiful. I walked away from that weekend with smiles, stories, memories and laughter. Forever treasured.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Thank rozc776
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alan H, Manager at Barnsdale Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2018

Dear rozc776,

Thank you for posting your review following your stay with us.

I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us, and that your overall impression of the hotel was good. I am glad to read that you had an enjoyable event with us and well and i'm sure the hotel staff will be glad to hear this as well.

rozc776, thank you again for your review and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2018

I have never written a review before, but on this occasion I feel strongly about writing one , to warn others about this hotel and because I am actually having nightmares about the service me and family received. However, I will start with the good points: the hotel location is breathtaking, the few staff we came across were friendly.
We decided to go to this hotel for an afternoon tea after losing a very close member of the family a few weeks ago (family of seven- four adults and three children). We ordered two high teas for three adults, because the rest of the family did not want afternoon tea, so they ordered from the Bar Menu. Another staff member came to our table and he specified that the drinks order he was taking was for two afternoon teas, (which made sense because we had ordered two afternoon teas) so we ordered one cup of coffee and one pot of tea. When we got our bill we had been charged for four afternoon teas despite having just two afternoon teas and two hot drinks for the two teas. We were charged for two children ice creams which we never got despite ordering them and staying there for about 2hours. On quering our bill were told that, afternoon teas were charged per head (the menu does not specify that afternoon teas were per head) although we were served two afternoon teas and two hot drinks. Apparently the chef had squeezed in more scones, cakes and sandwiches on the two afternoon teas were were served so each adult had to pay about 16.00pounds. Although the other adult had ordered a burger she was still charged for the afternoon tea as well. After much explaining that they were charging one adult an afternoon tea as well as a burger meal , one afternoon tea was eventually taken off the bill. The children 's ice-creams which they never served but were charged were eventually taken off as well. We asked why on ordering we were told that we could only have two hot drinks for two afternoon teas They apologised once again and offered to give us the hot drinks as take away (really !!!). We refused to have the hot drinks as take away and left because what was the point really, if we wanted hot drinks on the go we could have gone to Costa coffee. I am all for paying for a service that I get and food that I would have ordered and been served. I despise arguing over a bill and being made to feel as if I am trying to wriggle out paying your bill.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
4  Thank tezza812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alan H, Manager at Barnsdale Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

Dear tezza812

Thank you for your review following your recent visit to Barnsdale Hall Hotel.

I was somewhat disturbed to hear of your dissatisfaction with our afternoon tea offering, as this usually receives positive feedback from the many guests who enjoy this traditional offering. Your comments have been investigated and the conclusion to this is as detailed below.

I understand that you made your reservation with us at 3pm for 7 guests, including 3 children, and that you would decide on the food offering when you arrived. The restaurant manager, who took your booking, has confirmed that you were informed of the price when you booked, asked if there were any food dietary requirements and explained what the package entailed. It is also noted that you arrived much later than expected as you became disorientated with our location.

You were seated in our restaurant area and high tea menus were provided, which detail the high tea offering. You ordered 2 high teas for 3 people as you wanted to share to reduce the cost. The high tea package caters on a per person basis, therefore any additional food and beverages would have been charged for separately, which is why the third member of your party was charged for tea and coffee only. It is also noted that you ordered additional food from the bar menu and that you were charged accordingly for these items as they were not part of the high tea offering.
In relation to the ice cream that was ordered from the children’s menu, please accept my apology that this was not received. The staff on duty have confirmed that you were taking some time to eat the food and each time they came to check on your table your guests were still eating. I believe the cost of this was removed from your final bill. I would like to take this opportunity to clarify that the staff on shift provided you with good customer service but there was some fault on your part for misunderstanding or being unclear of your requirements from the start.

Once again, thank you for your feedback and I hope we have provided a balanced response to your comments.

Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews