We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (84)
Filter reviews
84 results
Traveller rating
80
1
1
0
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
80
1
1
0
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sheep farm scones new zealand two nights south island farm stay an amazing place working farm stunning views his son sue dogs history farming murray paua hosts
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 84 reviews
Reviewed 11 December 2019

We really enjoyed being with our hosts who introduced to sheep farm life. They were very friendly and engaging. We observed sheep dogs at work, viewed sheep being sheared, had a wonderful farm breakfast each morning, enjoyed walking to a very scenic overlook of the pacific from a sheep path on the farm. It was located somewhat off the main roads yet Akaroa was easily accessible by car. Would definitely stay there again.

Room tip: Beautiful view from the bedroom and porch.
Date of stay: November 2019
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 475Marv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2019 via mobile

My mother and I went to this wonderful farm with an excursion off the Majestic Princess ship and we were certainly not disappointed. Murray gave an excellent and entertaining speech with the history of the property and then his sons wife sheared Barbara the sheep with funny photos taken with her and the guests . We were then thoroughly entertained with the dogs for the roundup of the sheep on a property of major steep valleys to which the dogs blew us away with their speed and training on such difficult terrain . We then were extremely lucky to have the loveliest afternoon tea of home made scones and proper teapot tea (which in the very cold weather ) was superb as they were cooked to perfection . I would highly recommend all to travel here to experience the really enjoyable day with this lovely family .

Date of stay: October 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank blondedarls63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2019

My wife and I spent a month travelling the North and South Island of NZ in Jan/Feb 2019. I had booked all our accommodations on "Booking.com" except for this one in Akaroa. I had read all the lovely reviews about Paua Bay Farmstay, also being the top tourist attraction for cruise passengers visiting Akaroa for the day. We were staying in Akaroa for 2 days so i contacted Sue and booked 2 nights B&B and 1 evening meal with them. I also booked the Farm tour because of the brilliant reviews.Well i must say that after travelling the South and North island the Paua Bay Farmstay was the highlight of our holiday, and will forever remain in our memory.. When we arrived we were welcomed by Murray and Sue, and shown our lovely bedroom. The views from our room of the gardens and down to the cove were spectacular. As we were facing East the sunrise in the mornings was unbelievable.We had booked an evening meal with Murray and Sue and by coincidence the same weekend we were there Sue had a few of her family visiting fom UK.. We shared a lovely meal with all the family around the table. It was a wonderful evening. Sue and Murray treated us as if we were family. The next dat we had the farm tour with Murray talking about the history of the farm and the 5 generations of the family. a really wonderful insight into the running of the farm. After the talk, Murray`s daughter-im-law did a demonstration of sheep shearing and then with her 2 dogs a demonstration of sheep herding .For anyone visiting Akaroa this farmhouse tour is a MUST. We will always remember Murray and Sue for their wonderful hospitality and for giving us the best 2 days of our entire NZ holiday. Our daughter lives in Dunedin and so we shall be visiting again and we will be going back to Paua Bay Farmstay.

Date of stay: February 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bobdown41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2018

When coming home from New Zealand, Charlie was asked what was his favorite memory, and he said watching the sheep dogs work. We spent 3 days at the farm and Sue and Murray couldn't have been more welcoming. They welcomed us into their home and made us very comfortable as they answered our many questions on not only the farm, but also about life in New Zealand. We enjoyed walking from their house to the ocean while looking at the wonderful views. However watching the dogs move the sheep so easily from one spot to the next was amazing. Each dog couldn't wait until it was their turn and they were so easily controlled by the whistle. The room was lovely and had a great view once the fog lifted. We came as guests and left as friends.

Date of stay: November 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank JaneGrandBlanc_Mi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2018 via mobile

We visited a sheep farm near Akaroa in New Zealand, run by several generations of a family. Heard the story of the farm, saw a sheep being sheared, watched dogs carefully trained to herd sheep, and of course had tea and homemade scones. A very interesting look at real life in New Zealand.

Date of stay: November 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Bob L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews