We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (166)
Filter reviews
166 results
Traveller rating
156
9
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
156
9
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the owner home away from home hidden gem one night high standard great stop a great place to stay comfortable beds two nights road trip go the extra mile her husband small town friendly service clean tidy hospitable hosts a lovely stay
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 166 reviews
Reviewed 4 March 2021

All newly renovated, great presentation and delightful hosts. Joy is a real joy and we can not speak highly enough of all the ways she went to to make us feel welcome including appearing at the door with banana splits for dessert. We will definitely be back to stay as we try again for the next Wings over Wairarapa.

Date of stay: February 2021
Thank Terry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joy Barnes, Owner at Ormond Street Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2021

Well, Thank you so much was a delight to take you a Banana spilt Was a warm evening! And yes I did but a new rosemary plant with your advice Loved meeting you all and so hope to see you again for Wings over Wairarapa next time Loved meeting you guys a lot

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2021

We recently had the pleasure of staying at the ormond St motel and what a lovely welcome we got from Joy and Mike. We could not fault the hospitality, rooms were beautifully decorated, spotless and homely. We also had the pleasure of Joy showing us some of the recently decorated studios, what a wonderful job they and their crew are doing. We will definitely be back to stay and explore this quaint little town.

Date of stay: February 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank GraemeFayMenz
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joy Barnes, Owner at Ormond Street Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2021

Awww that's so nice you wrote this review Really appreciate it a lot It was a really good night and loved you staying here so much Meant a lot to me and Mike Hope to see you again very soon x

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2021

We were a family that needed a location near to a family farm to get ready for a wedding.We booked four units and used the motel to rest and shower after a busy hot dusty day setting up for the wedding.My son just adored the pool that was clean and refreshing before the the Wedding.What a great place to stay.The units are so clean fresh and beautifully designed.The showers were amazing.The men that were there painting the motel were so cautious to not be in our way and chatted away happily.The new colours of the exterior will top this little gem of a motel off.Joy you are a star and it felt like coming home.My guests from cities were blown away by the friendliness, the lovely decorated rooms.To top it off when coming back to motel after a freezing evening the room was warm and cozy.
Thankyou Ormond street motel you did not disapoint.

Date of stay: February 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Wolfam123
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joy Barnes, Owner at Ormond Street Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2021

Thanks so very much for taking the time to give us this review It was just one awesome experience to have you all come here for that amazing wedding Loved every minute you were here Thanks again so much xx

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2021

This is a great place to stay. we had some issues with a laundromat and Joy got our laundry done for us. Turn down service so we were not coming in to a cold dark unit late at night was very appreciated.
Will be staying there again

Date of stay: February 2021
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank safarrrar
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joy Barnes, Owner at Ormond Street Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2021

Thanks heaps you guys It was lovely to have you stay with us And I was happy as to do your laundry Not hard at all Take care and see you again next year xx

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2021

What a gem of a place! We were desperately looking for a motel with a vacancy and we're so glad we found this! Beautifully recently redecorated units, clean, and well laid out. Very friendly and hospitable hosts, who went above and beyond to make our stay pleasant (thanks Joy for the pizza - delicious!)

Date of stay: January 2021
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank BarbaraE1899
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joy Barnes, Owner at Ormond Street Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2021

Thank you so very much for taking the time to give this review Means a lot to us both And too easy to share the home made pizza LOL

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews