We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
An amazing day with Gordon!!!

We had a great mailrun with Gordon. He’s such a friendly man and you feel great in his presence... read more

Reviewed 27 October 2018
CeciliaAnnaP
via mobile
A day to remember...!

I arranged this as a Christmas gift for my parents knowing they would appreciate Gordon's rural... read more

Reviewed 17 October 2018
faytomlin
,
Masterton, New Zealand
Read all 37 reviews
  
Reviews (37)
Filter reviews
37 results
Traveller rating
37
0
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
37
0
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews cape palliser kiwi experience seal colony local knowledge new zealand fishing village off the beaten track christmas gift his wife funny stories gordon farms lighthouse mail snacks seals dairy
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 37 reviews
Reviewed 29 September 2017

Being 'local' (ok Wellington is pretty local lol), we had never been to Cape Palliser and it was about time. I was fortunate enough to come across Gordon and his postie run while looking at what to do 'on the coast'. Not one for 'cookie cutter' tours this had a charming and personalised appeal and yes admittedly, the price was also right. Other vendors seemed really over priced and quite frankly generic sounding and that isn't for us. Little did I know it would be one of the best ways to spend a day. Starting off in Featherston we had a lazy morning hot chocolate before meeting with Gordon and his van at a respectable time of the day. We were greeted with a friendly smile and given our safety briefing, a basket full of goodies to munch on along the way also provided. We then headed off on our adventure. The scenery was magnificent, the local knowledge Gordon had was immense and the ride along was a lot of fun 'helping' delivering the mail. We even stopped in at a little shop and the range of goodies there was very cool while waiting for the shop shelf to be fixed by none other than Gordon (so wonderful to see the local spirit at it's best). The trip was relaxing and no pressure. The seal colony was perhaps my most favourite part, but also feeding the emus and the lambs also provided some country flavour. The houses we saw, the scenery and the animal life was wonderful. The stories and the fun companionship makes this perhaps the best tour you could ever do. Lunch was provided and a welcoming cup of tea. It was a fun packed full day and we saw so much, we did run out of time and although we got to the lighthouse we could not climb the steps to the top but despite this it was a wonderful trip and one we will recommend to others and will do this again one day. Loads of photo opportunities and you will be spoilt for views and entertainment. Don't bother with the formal tours this is the one you need to do. Take your camera, wear some comfy clothes and sit back and enjoy the ride.

Date of experience: September 2017
3  Thank Dawn501
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2017

What a wonderful day with a great Kiwi bloke. We are life time NZer's but had not spent a lot of time in the Wairarapa. Gordon gave us a great introduction to the area and regaled us with detailed stories and history. It made such a difference seeing things from a "local" perspective plus we were treated to numerous "off the beaten track" experiences. An amazing lunch was a wonderful bonus and the view from the lunch spot was simply magnificent. Would highly recommend this trip to both Kiwis and visitors. Great value for money

Date of experience: September 2017
4  Thank Jeff Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2017

An excellent way to get to know the Wairarapa, with great sights, entertaining stories and, at the end, lots and lots of seals, accompanied by snacks on the way and a wonderful lunch at the end. Gordon is a great guide and he goes out of his way (where possible on an actual mail run) to accommodate individual wishes - we got to visit a working dairy farm on the way back.

Date of experience: April 2017
2  Thank dersteef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2017

We booked this as a way to get an overview of the province, a local experience and to learn more - we were not disappointed. This tour is great fun - informative, action packed and personalised. Great lunch supplied too! You'll need to have a full day spare, but if you do, and if you don't mind sharing your somewhat bouncy ride with the local post and grocery supplies - then book this!

Date of experience: March 2017
2  Thank SaraNz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2017 via mobile

The most marvelous way to enjoy the most southern area of the wonderful Wairarapa. Gorden is great and the food is fabulous

Date of experience: April 2017
2  Thank Waigirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews