We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Sunday Roast Deal!”
Review of The Tin Hut

The Tin Hut
Ranked #3 of 14 Restaurants in Featherston
Price range: US$5 - US$27
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Situated on State Highway 2, next door to the Tauherenikau Racecourse between Greytown and Featherston, South Wairarapa, The Tin Hut is a warm inviting Restaurant and Bar which serves fresh wholesome country fare. With a large back section garden bar for relaxing and enjoying the fine cuisine during the Summer months, is a must do!
Reviewed 9 July 2018 via mobile

Final stop on our weekend getaway. Sunday Roast meal deal delicious. Garlic bread, roast beef with Yorkshire pudding and veges, apple crumble with custard and ice cream. Elegant warm setting with nice outlook. Will return.

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank HayleyB2122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (45)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 45 reviews

Reviewed 5 December 2017 via mobile

We came here for lunch and found the service to be very friendly and the food was wonderful. We sat outside under sun umbrellas, next to the herb garden . It was divine we especially loved the ducks and pea hens wandering around. Our meals took a while to arrive as the kitchen was trying to catch up with meals after a large group order. The staff kept us informed so we knew they were on their way and when the meals finally arrived they were definitely worth the wait.

Date of visit: December 2017
Thank Orangetablet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2017 via mobile

We were given a voucher for a meal here and we are so glad we did. The meals were fulsome and very well cooked and presented. Could not recommend the food more. The wine served with the meal was stunning. It's a lovely garden setting with geese roaming freely and the two sisters who run it were lovely obliging hosts. This is well worth a visit.

Date of visit: November 2017
Thank investa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2017 via mobile

Service was slow but ok, nice atmosphere. Had the pork roast. Nice but hot veges were cold by the time they delivered. Same with apple pie for dessert. Yummy but cold Luke warm. The food would have been excellent if hot. We were a large group but still....

Date of visit: July 2017
Thank Darryl H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2017 via mobile

I made a quick stop here for dinner on my way home and had the grilled steak. It was ABSOLUTELY delicious,melted in your mouth type of steak with gratin and veges. The staff were also lovely which is always good. Can't recommend this place enough for great food!! Might have to bring hubby here for the rugby!!!

Date of visit: June 2017
Thank Twigginz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Tin Hut also viewed

Featherston, Wairarapa
Martinborough, Wairarapa
 
Featherston, Wairarapa
 
Featherston, Wairarapa
Featherston, Wairarapa
 

Been to The Tin Hut? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing