We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fab food”

balter Bar and Kitchen
Ranked #2 of 18 Restaurants in Carterton
Certificate of Excellence
Restaurant details
Reviewed 13 June 2021 via mobile

A fabulous dinner, very hard to beat! Extremely gorgeous food. The steak was great as was everything we had and kids meal was goobled up.

Date of visit: May 2021
Thank Jo W
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (83)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 83 reviews

Reviewed 6 June 2021 via mobile

Glad we took the opportunity to try the Balter cafe rather than rush our way through to the next town. The menu was full of exciting surprises, the usual fare with little Indian twists. Bonus having the outdoor space at the back with toys for the kids. Everyone enjoyed the food amd look forward to going back.

Only knock was they seemed to service others their food a good while before us but I’d give them another chance.

Date of visit: December 2020
Thank AnthonyG542
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 23 May 2021

Very nice kiwi fusion meals. Some nice and rather unusual ingredients combinations make this a nice change.

Date of visit: April 2021
Thank Diego H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 12 May 2021

We were so lucky to be able to just walk off the street and get a booking on a Saturday evening, No delays for food. The waitress was so friendly. Food was probably not as a hot as I would have expected but we were very grateful and will come back again.

Date of visit: March 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank walkingholiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 15 April 2021 via mobile

Omg! Amazing dining experience. Food fantastic, friendly staff, great atmosphere. No negatives. Only improvement suggestion is to let guests choose from a range of liqueurs (instead of sambuca only) for the flaming cheese - which was an amazing entree!!

Date of visit: April 2021
Thank habbie200
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travellers who viewed balter Bar and Kitchen also viewed

 
Carterton, Wairarapa
Greytown, Wairarapa
 

Been to balter Bar and Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in New Zealand. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.