We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (48)
Filter reviews
48 results
Traveller rating
13
27
6
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
13
27
6
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews swimming pool stayed one night would stay again playground kitchen motel hosts unit heater roomy cleanliness facilities
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 48 reviews
Reviewed 30 May 2018

A basic nz motel with a friendly host,Very clean and unit 10 the family unit is great value at the price,full kitchen and dishwasher.Only downer,it needs a heat pump.Veryhandy to town and easy to find.swimming pool but weather poor

Room Tip: We found 10 ideal though only 2 of us we enjoyed the space
Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank tikitapu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen S, Owner at Acorn Estate Motel Masterton, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2018

Thank you for taking the time to review. That unit is very popular especially with sports groups and families. The full kitchen is a big bonus. In those large units a heat pump would be very beneficial even though the large radiator fin heater works extremely well. We have a long maintenance and to-do list and heat pumps would be very nice and hopefully can be worked into our budget. Best wishes Karen & Trev

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2018

Very friendly reception and a large comfortable room with kitchen facilities. The Motel is a bit outdated and rooms could do with some upgrading and new paint and varnish on the doors. However friendly atmosphere made up for that.

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gerda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen S, Owner at Acorn Estate Motel Masterton, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2018

Hi Gerda, Thank you it's lovely meeting so many new and interesting people. Trev & I have been here about 17 months and slowly working through the maintenance tasks. Linen upgraded and urgent maintenance ticked off. Now painting on the hit list. We hope you both enjoyed your stay with us. Hope to see you next time. Kind regards Karen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2018 via mobile

Stayed here for one night on our way through to Napier. A really nice, clean and tidy place to stay. Stayed in #6 which had such a comfy bed! $5 for toast and juice or $10 for cereal and fruit too so really cheap! Lovely staff/owners as well. There was a nice pool which we didnt use and a cool playground for kiddies!

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank brala519
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen S, Owner at Acorn Estate Motel Masterton, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2018

Thank you for your lovely review. Trev and I have been here just over a year so have some work to do. But comments like this make it so worthwhile. Yes the bed is comfy from all reports back. So pleased you both stayed with us. Travel safe for the rest of your trip. Kind regards Karen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2018

We ( the family) stayed one night in the Acorn Motel but were betrayed by the weather. The units are great - roomy, everything you could possible need for a stay and although slightly dated, clean and pleasant.
Would go there again if in the area.

Stayed: January 2018
Thank burtfp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen S, Owner at Acorn Estate Motel Masterton, responded to this reviewResponded 9 February 2018

Thank you for the lovely review. Yes so disappointing when the weather isn't so good. Especially when we have had some lovely days here. We are working on the upgrades of our rooms and exterior time and finance allowing. We do hope you will stop in and see us next time you are in town. Kind regards Karen & Trev

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2017 via mobile

We left it until the last minute to book a visit to Masterton so I was not hopeful about getting anywhere reasonable to stay.
We found this motel and I waited with trepidation as we drove up.
Lovely rose garden and a children’s playground greeted us.
A very friendly lady was at the front desk to greet us and our unit was very close, carpark right outside. Lucky for us with some unseasonable rain around.
The unit was big, clean, and lots of beds. There was a tidy fully stocked kitchenette and separate bathroom.
There was very little noise even from children playing or swimming.
The pleasant owners made the experience much better than I had hoped.
Well done Acorn Estate!

Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
Thank Mamalou13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen S, Owner at Acorn Estate Motel Masterton, responded to this reviewResponded 1 January 2018

Thank you for your lovely review. The back units are very quiet but isn't it lovely to hear the laughter of the children enjoying themselves in the pool and playground. Our family units are very popular and they are roomy. I'm so pleased you had an enjoyable stay and we hope to welcome your family back when you are in Masterton again. Happy New Year to you all. Kind regards Karen & Trevor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews