We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“See a "Rare" White Kiwi, Manukura”

Pukaha Mount Bruce National Wildlife Centre
Experience for Yourself
More Info
US$14.79*
and up
Pukaha Mount Bruce Entry Ticket
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Home to Manukura, the only white kiwi in captivity, Pukaha Mount Bruce is a 940 hectare unfenced wildlife reserve only 24kms north of Masterton, in Wairarapa, open every day (except 25 December) from 9am – 4.30pm. Pukaha Mount Bruce has six daily talks and feeds starting with takahe at 10.30, tuatara at 11.30, kiwi chick or gecko talk at 12 noon, eel feed at 1.30, kokako talk at 2.15 and kaka feed at 3pm. Visitors can see rare and endangered NZ birds in aviaries but also other NZ birds such as tui, fantail, kereru and rifleman living wild in the forest. Pukaha Mount Bruce has a kiwi house with 2 resident kiwi, an egg and chick nursery, a theatre with three short films and an interactive gallery. There is a two hour loop walk through regenerated native bush and a shorter aviary walk. If you are in a hurry, book a 1 hour guided tour or if you want to get up close and personal to NZ nature, how about a 2 1/2 hour Behind the Scenes Tour?
Palm Coast, Florida
Level Contributor
43 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“See a "Rare" White Kiwi, Manukura”
Reviewed 27 February 2017

For Bird and Nature enthusiast, this is a place for you!!!!!
Well managed, this Bird and Nature conservatory is well worth your time to
visit. You can also feed the Eel's if you like.

Visited February 2017
Helpful?
Thank Albert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen T, General Manager at Pukaha Mount Bruce National Wildlife Centre, responded to this review, 23 March 2017
Thank you for your lovely review and your recommendations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

350 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    217
    108
    21
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best kiwi viewing ever”
Reviewed 21 February 2017 via mobile

Thanks to the white kiwi being easily seen and her mate putting on a screaming show we had a great viewing. Unfortunately the rest was not so great as most birds were hard to spot. We even had one of the lovely workers come back up to the walk-through avery to help us spot the birds but they were a little scarce. It is however a fabulous facility and we learnt a lot chatting to him. I have a new respect for the plight of the native eel after talking to him. I guess they're not so scary after all I wish we'd had time to stay for the eel feeding but we were on a time limit.id like to come back when I have more time.

Visited February 2017
Helpful?
Thank shazjtx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen T, General Manager at Pukaha Mount Bruce National Wildlife Centre, responded to this review, 23 February 2017

Thank you for reviewing Pukaha and it's great to hear that you not only had an excellent kiwi viewing experience but also that one of the team took the time to try and point out the birds to you. If you are on limited time, it can sometimes be tricky to see the birds.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Napier, New Zealand
Level Contributor
81 reviews
62 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“A Mixed bag”
Reviewed 19 February 2017

Was here quite a few years back, and seeing as I had the time to visit again decided to book a behind the scenes tour.

Got there and they didn't know anything about it, turns out that someone had forgotten to put it in the diary, so I missed out on this, which I was quite disappointed about.

Decided to do the guided tour instead, and was given a refund of the different amount between the two, as well as a free hot chocolate.

The guided tour was quite interesting and the lady taking it was quite friendly.

The real bonus was when she took me into the Kokako's enclosure at the end of the tour. Definitely a unique experience to see a wild bird which enjoys a head scratch, much like my pet parrot at home.

The rest of the place was interesting as I wandered around afterwards, but the highlight for me was definitely the Kokako.

Visited February 2017
Helpful?
Thank Draco_Malfoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen T, General Manager at Pukaha Mount Bruce National Wildlife Centre, responded to this review, 23 February 2017
Thanks for taking the time to write a review. Yes, we certainly acknowledge that your booked Behind the Scenes Tour was unfortunately not recorded correctly and we apologise again that we were unable to fulfil this. However, thank you for taking up our offer of a refund and a one hour guided tour instead. Pleased that you enjoyed what we could offer you on the day though.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Havelock North, New Zealand
Level Contributor
330 reviews
226 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“Definitely worth a visit”
Reviewed 15 February 2017

We stopped for three reasons - we haven't been there for quite a few years so wanted to see any changes; wanted to have a pit stop for lunch; and especially wanted to visit a Kaka we had tended at Cape Sanctuary before his move to Mt Bruce.
Wandering around listening to the birds and seeing them in their natural habitat is great. We enjoyed walking around - our only low point was the fact that the kiwi house was full of schoolkids (don't they know that we should be the only ones allowed to visit??) - they were okay and it's great to see them being interested in our native wildlife. We managed to see Nikau (our friendly Kaka) in his aviary. He came down to see us to nibble fingers and pull our hair - just as friendly as when he used to sit on our shoulders and head while we were attending to looking after his quarters in Hawkes Bay. He's a great bird - his mate Hautete is standoffish and I think she believes he's a bit strange. Had lunch on the balcony overlooking the Takahe and managed to fight off the thieving kaka that frequents the area. All in all a lovely visit and we got some good photos and videos of our friend Nikau. Highly recommend no matter your age - definitely worthwhile

Visited February 2017
Helpful?
Thank Grant N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen T, General Manager at Pukaha Mount Bruce National Wildlife Centre, responded to this review, 16 February 2017
Thanks for writing a review and also for visiting Nikau. Both he and Hautete seem to be getting on just fine which is great. Thanks for your recommendation and also for taking such great care of Nikau before he came to live at Pukaha.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wairarapa, New Zealand
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A family affair”
Reviewed 14 February 2017

A wonderful place that all the family can enjoy
A must to see a small trip by vehicle to this great place

Visited November 2016
Helpful?
Thank 1kiwichic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen T, General Manager at Pukaha Mount Bruce National Wildlife Centre, responded to this review, 16 February 2017
Thank you for reviewing Pukaha - lovely to hear that you had a wonderful time with us. Hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Pukaha Mount Bruce National Wildlife Centre also viewed

 
Masterton, Wairarapa
 

Been to Pukaha Mount Bruce National Wildlife Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing