We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Mixed bag”

Pukaha Mount Bruce National Wildlife Centre
Book In Advance
Buy Tickets Online
More Info
US$13.94*
and up
Pukaha Mount Bruce Entry Ticket
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Home to Manukura, the only white kiwi in captivity, Pukaha Mount Bruce is a 940 hectare unfenced wildlife reserve only 24kms north of Masterton, in Wairarapa, open every day (except 25 December) from 9am – 4.30pm. Pukaha Mount Bruce has six daily talks and feeds starting with takahe at 10.30, tuatara at 11.30, kiwi chick or gecko talk at 12 noon, eel feed at 1.30, kokako talk at 2.15 and kaka feed at 3pm. Visitors can see rare and endangered NZ birds in aviaries but also other NZ birds such as tui, fantail, kereru and rifleman living wild in the forest. Pukaha Mount Bruce has a kiwi house with 2 resident kiwi, an egg and chick nursery, a theatre with three short films and an interactive gallery. There is a two hour loop walk through regenerated native bush and a shorter aviary walk. If you are in a hurry, book a 1 hour guided tour or if you want to get up close and personal to NZ nature, how about a 2 1/2 hour Behind the Scenes Tour?
Reviewed 19 February 2017

Was here quite a few years back, and seeing as I had the time to visit again decided to book a behind the scenes tour.

Got there and they didn't know anything about it, turns out that someone had forgotten to put it in the diary, so I missed out on this, which I was quite disappointed about.

Decided to do the guided tour instead, and was given a refund of the different amount between the two, as well as a free hot chocolate.

The guided tour was quite interesting and the lady taking it was quite friendly.

The real bonus was when she took me into the Kokako's enclosure at the end of the tour. Definitely a unique experience to see a wild bird which enjoys a head scratch, much like my pet parrot at home.

The rest of the place was interesting as I wandered around afterwards, but the highlight for me was definitely the Kokako.

Thank Draco_Malfoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen T, General Manager at Pukaha Mount Bruce National Wildlife Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2017

Thanks for taking the time to write a review. Yes, we certainly acknowledge that your booked Behind the Scenes Tour was unfortunately not recorded correctly and we apologise again that we were unable to fulfil this. However, thank you for taking up our offer of a refund and a one hour guided tour instead. Pleased that you enjoyed what we could offer you on the day though.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (367)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

38 - 42 of 367 reviews

Reviewed 15 February 2017

We stopped for three reasons - we haven't been there for quite a few years so wanted to see any changes; wanted to have a pit stop for lunch; and especially wanted to visit a Kaka we had tended at Cape Sanctuary before his move to Mt Bruce.
Wandering around listening to the birds and seeing them in their natural habitat is great. We enjoyed walking around - our only low point was the fact that the kiwi house was full of schoolkids (don't they know that we should be the only ones allowed to visit??) - they were okay and it's great to see them being interested in our native wildlife. We managed to see Nikau (our friendly Kaka) in his aviary. He came down to see us to nibble fingers and pull our hair - just as friendly as when he used to sit on our shoulders and head while we were attending to looking after his quarters in Hawkes Bay. He's a great bird - his mate Hautete is standoffish and I think she believes he's a bit strange. Had lunch on the balcony overlooking the Takahe and managed to fight off the thieving kaka that frequents the area. All in all a lovely visit and we got some good photos and videos of our friend Nikau. Highly recommend no matter your age - definitely worthwhile

Thank Grant N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen T, General Manager at Pukaha Mount Bruce National Wildlife Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 16 February 2017

Thanks for writing a review and also for visiting Nikau. Both he and Hautete seem to be getting on just fine which is great. Thanks for your recommendation and also for taking such great care of Nikau before he came to live at Pukaha.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2017

A wonderful place that all the family can enjoy
A must to see a small trip by vehicle to this great place

Thank 1kiwichic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen T, General Manager at Pukaha Mount Bruce National Wildlife Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 16 February 2017

Thank you for reviewing Pukaha - lovely to hear that you had a wonderful time with us. Hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2017 via mobile

They were feed a two week old kiwi chick and explains about their conservation efforts and releasing birds into the wild ready to defend themselves and increase the survival rate.

A good afternoon well spent.

Thank AlanBurrill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen T, General Manager at Pukaha Mount Bruce National Wildlife Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 16 February 2017

thank you for taking the time to review Pukaha and it is great to hear that you felt you had a great afternoon out.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2017

Took the family here over the x-mas break. Had torrential rain but there was enough to do inside including great cafe, talk on tuatara and kiwi, interactive stuff for the kids. The staff lady in charge of the kiwi was a bit too military for us (shouting at people to be quiet?! while we cued to watch the kiwi) and outside it could of been helpful to let you know what cages were empty rather than us walking around in the pooring rain to find mostly empty cages but all up it was still worth it.

Thank STUMAN24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen T, General Manager at Pukaha Mount Bruce National Wildlife Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 16 February 2017

Thank you for your review - we certainly have had a poor summer for weather but luckily our birds don't seem to mind the wet as much as we do. Sorry about the shouting - sometimes it's very hard to get through that in order for the kiwi to remain calm at the feeding, minimal noise is important. We'll certainly give the feedback to the team though on the tone of their delivery!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Pukaha Mount Bruce National Wildlife Centre also viewed

 

Been to Pukaha Mount Bruce National Wildlife Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing